We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5550 Grand Avenue, Gurnee, IL 60031   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Amusement Park Passes
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Gurnee
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Okay stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Just what you would expect from a Hampton Inn. Room was as clean as I would have expected, not spotless but not "dirty". Bed was so-so comfortable, breakfast your typical free semi buffet. Staff was cordial. Nothing really negative to say about this property. Overall, would stay again if in the area. Went to the Gurnee mills mall with friends. Not too many dining options surprisingly outside of the mall, though.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    73
    29
    8
    2
See reviews for
79
30
13
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryville, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This hotel is clean, the staff great and nice breakfast. The location is very convenient especially if you are going to Six Flags. For us, it is on the way to visit our son in WI. We would recommend for families or seniors like us. Staff even recommended great restaurant within walking distance. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Friendly and attentive staff made sure everything was to my liking. They provided all the necessary local information to make my stay effective and straightforward. A comfortable and well run hotel that I have no hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stayed here as part of a very brief business trip. The size of this king suite, furnishings, internet, etc. was very adequate and functional for my purposes. Overall I was very pleased that is until I had to move the pillows to plug in the wall mounted light. Behind and under the headboard was filthy, obviously a spot no housekeeping vacuum has visited in months. Considering this is right next to where the guest lays and breathes, I was grossed out. Sorry Hampton Inn, what would have been a highly rated visit, especially with 8 pm fresh cookies, was severely tainted by dust, dirt, and filth under the headboard.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

A very good experience in all aspects starting with the check in process all the way through check out and breakfast. Bed was comfortable, room was very, very clean and well done. Room was quiet and no hallway or outside noise. Would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Gurnee, Illinois.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan City, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

very nice breakfast offered. large group staying and some items were empty. I suggested to the hotel desk that another person might be needed to handle the large group. Food is good, variety is great. If you want cookies at 8 p.m. Do Not look for them at 7:59 p.m. It was strange that I was reminded that they would not be put out until 8 p.m. one minute later.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed here for 4th of July weekend and had an amazing stay. The staff was friendly, the hotel was clean and quiet, and the beds are super comfy! We checked in pretty late and had no problem getting keys for our room. We purchased the hotel package that included six flags tickets- and may I say, that was genius! Six Flags is just across the street from the hotel. We actually drove to the park, but walking is totally doable. (TIP: If you do park at six flags they'll let you leave and return with a parking receipt- the park is huge and food is pretty expensive so we came back to the hotel to rest and eat). I would definitely recommend staying here! Great deal! Oh, and free breakfast (I’m not a morning person so I missed out :( )!

Room Tip: King size bed = Happiness If your heading to Six Flags, book the hotel package that includes ticket...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee

Address: 5550 Grand Avenue, Gurnee, IL 60031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Gurnee
#2 Family Hotel in Gurnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee Hotel Gurnee
Hampton Inn Gurnee Il
Gurnee Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;