We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and caring staff throughout my entire stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5550 Grand Avenue, Gurnee, IL 60031   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2X HHonors Points
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Gurnee
Port Townsend, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful and caring staff throughout my entire stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Centrally located. Housekeeping -- Great clean room as expected. Maintenance -- Everything was in working order. Food/Beverage -- Wonderful, fresh and fully stocked breakfast and treats. VERY fresh complimentary coffee and teas at all hours. Guest Services -- personable, helpful and attentive to my inquiries/requests. I travel for work 100% of the time....this is one of the best home away from home. THANK YOU.

P.S. the added optional night light was a nice thoughtful touch.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    83
    36
    8
    3
See reviews for
85
42
15
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmetto, Georgia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Very clean and comfortable rooms for a decent price and most of all, this Hampton at Gurnee turned out to be the perfect location if you're planning to attend your recruit's graduation ceremony at Great Lakes Naval Base. It's an easy 6 mile trip and the great thing about staying in the Gurnee area is that there is a great selection of restaurants, a very nice shopping mall and other things your recruit will be dying to see/do after 8 weeks in boot camp. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and 3 days. The hotel has been renovated very nicely but what made my stay outstanding was that each and every member of the staff that I came in contact with was very helpful, professional and extremely resourceful. Each time I asked a question, they went out of their way to get the answer or find something that would help me. A couple of times information was obtained that I didn't even ask for but was helpful since I was visiting the area for the first time. I would stay at this hotel again. FYI, the hot cookies at 7 pm each evening were an added bonus LOL.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The hotel is convenient to the highway. I was a little worried when I pulled up because it is obviously not a newer Hampton Inn. But the interior was nicely renovated. All of the finishes in the room that I stayed in were high end Hampton. Even the bathroom valves and fixtures had been recently updated.

The front desk service was great and the hotel staff was attentive.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanchardville, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My family and I stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed every night. The room was great and the hospitality of the employees was exceptional. The complimentary breakfast was an excellent way to start each of our days. I will defintely stay here again the next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bloomington, il
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Last minute booking- 3 hours prior to arrival. Only two rooms left. Clerk was very friendly & check in quick. Room clean. A few extras such as free bottled water, breakfast bar & note that duvet cover in addition to expected sheets was freashly laundered. Breakfast in the AM was also good with staff working hard & bringing food around to tables.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stay at this hotel several times a year when I am on busiess trips tot he area. It is in a good location near restaurants, has a good fitness center, and a nice free breakfast. I have always found the staff to be helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee

Address: 5550 Grand Avenue, Gurnee, IL 60031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Gurnee
#3 Family Hotel in Gurnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee Hotel Gurnee
Hampton Inn Gurnee Il
Gurnee Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.