We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but pricey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5550 Grand Avenue, Gurnee, IL 60031   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2X HHonors Points
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Gurnee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Punta Gorda, Florida
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Nice but pricey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed here to be close to our new grandbaby.It was very convenient. Staff very friendly. Rooms a little compared to other Hamptons. We pretty much stay at Hamptons all the time.. and we travel alot!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    91
    36
    9
    3
See reviews for
98
44
16
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The Hampton was nice and clean as always. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Mike went out of his way to help me change a reservation that i had mistakenly booked for the wrong date. I will 100 percent stay here again and recommend anyone else traveling to Gurnee to do the same! Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Was greeted by a very knowledgeable and competent young lady, room was comfortable, the HVAC noise was not annoying as the fan ran continously and served as a sleep assist.
Very good complimentary breakfast. Perfect for our one night stay while travelling from Door County to Buffalo New York

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

It was suupppperrr close to six flags (we walked it took about 10 minutes!) and they had some great coupons for local restaurants. The beds were comfy, the mic and fridge were nice, and the hot breakfast was great to fill up on before going to the park!
So good! (oh and the free hot cocoa and cookies were great for the fall weather)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PONTIAC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The only thing I wish you would change is the fluxuation in the rates. My rate for Friday night was $79 but they wanted $124 for the same room. That is too much. I went across the street got the same acomadations for $79 now I would rather recieved my rewards points and stayed with Hampton. We will be going to Gurnee alot in 2013 please keep prices reasonable and I will stay Hampton.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I really liked the fact that Hampton Inn offered group rate for our Hoosier Elite team....thank you so much! The breakfast was great too! Checkout was easy so we could get to the tournament. That's pretty much it :-)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I stay in a lot of Hamptons...and this one was very nice. Friendly staff, nice room, good meeting area. I also liked the location...easy to get to and restaurants in walking distance. I can't comment on the fitness area or pool as I didn't get a chance to use either one. The five stars is five stars for a Hampton (just to be clear) but it was much nicer than many higher priced hotels in both the Hilton and Marriott chain that I have stayed in. I will be booking here again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee

Address: 5550 Grand Avenue, Gurnee, IL 60031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Gurnee
#2 Family Hotel in Gurnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee Hotel Gurnee
Hampton Inn Gurnee Il
Gurnee Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.