We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5550 Grand Avenue, Gurnee, IL 60031   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2X HHonors Points
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Gurnee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Salem, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We had an excellent two-night stay. The staff was very helpful and friendly, especially as we'd gotten in earlier than expected. (We forgot about the time change.) There was always coffee in the lobby available, and my children enjoyed some fruit. The hotel was very clean and the staff was more than friendly and accommodating. They did a great job of handling quick breakfast turnover as well. The location also can't be beat, and there were numerous options for eating within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    91
    36
    9
    3
See reviews for
98
44
16
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We love Hampton Inns. The staff here was kind and courteous but the hotel needs some detail help. Our bathroom door would not close, the beds are the small and very hard. The internet went out the first night and was not fixed. Their breakfast staff did a good job and the place was decently clean. They did give us a small restaurant gift card for our troubles when I told them about our door.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeeland, Michigan
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We didn't walk to Six Flags, but we could have and saved $20 each day for parking there.

The hotel staff was great and very helpful. The breakfast was quite good, well maintained and lots of options. The room was very clean, although the bathroom was small and the sink area incredibly tight.

Nice new flat screen TV in the room was very nice, along with a good selection of HD channels.

Room Tip: Buy tickets to Six Flags here. Big discount!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Hotel is located close enough to six flags to walk to the park, about a mile. Location great. Hotel room clean except for bugs found in two rooms from 7/4 to 7/6. Those two rooms ajoining were on the first floor. During our two day stay we found and killed 8 bugs. Three different types, none appeared to be bed bugs. We told management about it the day of our departure and they called pest control. They offerred nothing else even though Hampton has a 100% satisfaction guarantee. I guess I should have asked. One of the rooms was paid by 50K of Hilton points. A cash and point refund should have happened.
If you stay at this hotel I would recommend not staying on the first floor.

Room Tip: Don't stay on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Drab, General Manager at Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
I want to apologize for the unfortunate experience that you had at our hotel. The health and safety of our guests is of the utmost importance and we strive to provide our guests with 100% satisfaction. I’m glad that you notified our staff so that we could address the pest situation.We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and will work to make sure the problem is addressed. Please contact me directly at 847-662-1100 so I can speak with you about this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Nice hotel. Close to several restaurants. Very clean.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binder
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights during Labor Day weekend. The hotel is clean, quiet and the staff is very helpful.

The rooms were really clean when we checked in and were kept clean during our entire stay.

The outdoor pool is a nice addition, and the free continental breakfast is great with lots of things to choose from.

Had a really nice time while visiting the area, and would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

Stayed there for a week. The rooms are small and packed with furniture. The updated rooms are quite good, but the new furniture smells quite a bit. You clearly hear the noises from your neighbours and the sound from the corridor.
The Service is different; some people got a bottle of water and candy, some not.
The wireless network is poor. We tried to use it in the conference room and it doesn't work well. The personell has no clue how to fix it. Anyway it is very slow and you have to deal with a changing wap key.
The self service breakfast is ok but not more.

Room Tip: There are updated rooms, ask for that
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee

Address: 5550 Grand Avenue, Gurnee, IL 60031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Gurnee
#2 Family Hotel in Gurnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee Hotel Gurnee
Hampton Inn Gurnee Il
Gurnee Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.