We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun but over priced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rainforest Cafe

Rainforest Cafe
6170 Grand Ave, Ste 857, Gurnee, IL 60031-4554
847-855-7800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 123 Restaurants in Gurnee
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Gurnee, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fun but over priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Our son loves walking through rainforest cafe when we are at the msll so for his Bday we ate here and he liked watching the fish but was kind of scared of the Thunder. The food was ok but not amazing for what it cost. We will save rainforest cafe for only special occasions.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    51
    26
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fun place for kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I took our granddaughter to the restaurant and now is her favorite !
She likes to watch the lightning and the animals, and of course the menu has plenty of items for kids!
I like the salads.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“A Personal Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

When we go to a place like this we aren't shocked by the price. We loved the food & the atmosphere. Our server was awesome! All & all this is one of my favorite novelty restaurants to go to!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, OK food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

At the Rainforest Cafe you are paying for the delightful surroundings. The kids love it even if they are scared by the Gorillas and Tigers. They get over it after the second set of rain storms ,thunder and lightning. The wait staff is great. They are friendly and informative.

At the prices charged the food should be top notch all around the table. From the thirteen of us there it was hit and miss. Some said good, some said so-so and others said yuch. Too bad. We'll really have to reconsider a return visit. Oh yea, it took forever for the food to be served. Not the servers fault -- it had to be the kitchem managers fault.

All agreed, however, the Volcano Cake was quite good and a real experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Bungle in the jungle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The Rainforest Café has a jungle theme, with lots of animated jungle animals, and huge tanks of live fish all around the entire restaurant. Very fun. The food was just ok. Not much to choose from that is gluten free, but they do have a couple of deserts to choose from that are gluten free including cheese cake, which was ok but not great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainforest Cafe also viewed

 
Gurnee, Lake County
 

Been to Rainforest Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainforest Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.