We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sushi ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hayashi Japanese Restaurant

Hayashi Japanese Restaurant
6641 Grand Ave. Ste C, Gurnee, IL 60031-5262
(847) 856-0270
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 108 Restaurants in Gurnee
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
Restaurant details
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best sushi ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have enjoyed sushi all over the country, but this is the best. My favorites are the red flower roll (spicy), the dragon roll, spicy salmon, -really anything that you order will be fantastic.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    7
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best sashimi cuts in Chicago”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

We are regulars at Hayashi (visit every Sunday).
This place has the best Sashimi cuts, especially the salmon sashimi.
Fish is fresh and service is awesome.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukegan, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“For the Sushi lover and for the Non Sushi lover alike.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

My husband and our friend go all out for the Sushi/Sashimi, the chef selections and the specials. I love the crispy roll and the avocado roll, smoked salmon by the piece, salmon salad in lemon sauce, and Gomae. We all love their soup. They have the best Miso soup in a 50 mile radius. And the best Gomae ever! always tender baby spinach and wonderful peanut sauce. My son loves their Gyoza and mochi filled with mango ice cream. Their green tea is the only place he drinks any tea without tons of sugar. When in the mood, I love the teriyaki steak and tempura as well. Must not forget the hot sake and plum wine.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Value for Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I've been to Hayashi several times and I haven't had a bad experience yet. The food is very good and they are very quick. The atmosphere is nice and relaxing. I love the dressing they use for the salads!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“One of our favorites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

This is my 9 year old daughter's FAVORITE restaurant and we eat here often. Their California rolls have REAL crab in them, not fake, and they are delicious and an excellent value. The yummy miso soup has lots of tofu in it and their bento boxes are also fantastic and a great value. The tempura is perfect and the sauce is one of the best around. All the servers here are so sweet, especially to my daughter - they just love her. For a great price we both have a wonderful meal, leaving stuffed and happy. Whenever I say "Hayashi?" it brings chirps of delight from my kid, and me too :) Thank you Hayashi!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hayashi Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Gurnee, Lake County
Gurnee, Lake County
 
Gurnee, Lake County
 

Been to Hayashi Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hayashi Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.