We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please open a restaurant by me!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Momcorn

Momcorn
5101 Washington #2, Gurnee, IL
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 108 Restaurants in Gurnee
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Delivery
Manteno, Illinois
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Please open a restaurant by me!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you love enormous mushy burritos loaded with everything but the kitchen sink, this place isn't for you!!!

We were on a trip to six flags and stumbled upon this little gem. I hate fast food, but we were looking for something fast to grab. My husband and my other daughter chose the subway next door.
My other daughter chose to eat at this appealing taco- place with me.

We ordered steak tacos with sliced avacados and cheese. Not loaded down with all of the usual stuff. The flavour of the meat was delicious. The taco was simple and fantastic!
The food was delicious, extremely fresh, and no need to doctor it up with wasteful added mush.
Little bottles of non-alcoholic sangria was a nice touch too.
We went a month ago and can still remember everything about the little gem of a place.
Please open another franchise down south.
Might not go over well with the mother load burrito eaters down south, sorry.
Julie from Manteno Illinois

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    12
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Clever name, Good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Nice little spot for a quick and tasty meal. This restaurant has only been open for about a year I believe. Has many gluten free options since they use corn tortillas. If you do not like corn tortillas with your mexican food then you might not like most of the things on their menu. Luckily I prefer corn tortillas. We will be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Unique food, definitely a place to go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Momcorn has delicious food that is mainly corn based. The sopes, tamales, and corn chowder are my favorites. It is a bit confusing the first time you go there since the menu is posted on the wall, but you are served by a server. Once you've been there once though, you learn the routine and will want to go back. It appears to be family owned and operated with all of the food made from scratch. It is very tasty and a great place to try.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee
1 review
“LOVE Momcorn's!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Thank you for openning your establishment... I love your fresh, healthy and tasty food...It's much better than eating at home...
The owner/s are very friendly, you can tell they actually care about their customers...
I will be your loyal customer forever!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Went in with a groupon ti try it out, and I'm glad we went with that and didn't pay full price. Food was ok, chicken tamales had one little piece of chicken in them, tortilla soup was ok and a small salad. Don't plan on returning.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Momcorn also viewed

Gurnee, Lake County
 

Been to Momcorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Momcorn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.