We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You couldn't ask for more!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5420 Grand Avenue, Gurnee, IL 60031   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Gurnee
Waukegan, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You couldn't ask for more!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

You can feel the warmth when you walk in. The apple water was really good! Breakfast was good compared to other hotels that charge more. Our television had one channel and the next morning, we were upgraded. Thank you for the way you take care of your customers.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    44
    28
    16
    18
See reviews for
92
20
2
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
trc19931
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Simply cozy. We stayed over the weekend for a mini-honeymoon. Our tv only got one channel. When we called the front desk, the manager gave us an upgrade! Outstanding! Everyone behind the desk was very friendly, professional and always smiling. I shall return.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Booked online. Package included shopping gift card. Checked in and was told this was an old promo and card not given out anymore. Staff accommodated by giving aaa rate. Still this should be taken off website. Shuttle service advertised on website. Shuttle service hours 7 am to 3pm. Should be longer hours. Flat screens advertised but none. Big box outdated tv. Pool has sign capacity of 33. Too small. More like 10 and thats kids. Fitness room had 1 tread and 1 bike. Breakfast is best part of the stay. Daily cookies were good. Would consider staying again after upgrades

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

What the hotel lacked was made up by the front desk customer service. We stayed for a family reunion and had about 20 folks at the hotel. These folks were so accomodating, everything from letting us take over the breakfast area one evening to giving us extra towels, serving utensils, cups and silverware to taking our large amount of garbage out. The hotel does not however use their air/heat properly. During breakfast it's perfect but the balance of the day, the halls, sitting area were unbearably hot. The rooms are a bit dated but the air conditioner was just so loud and it was hard to keep the room cool. Nice outdoor sitting area, great cookies, and such wonderful front desk folks!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend visit to Great America - so convenient being directly across from the entrance.
We were in a room on the second floor. The beds were comfortable, bathroom towels and linens great, decor updated. Two minor inconveniences - the air conditioner was really loud and we had to go to the front desk to request a list of available TV channels.
The pool was small, but really comfortable bath temperature. Unfortunately new codes in the county resulted in all hot tubs being removed.
Breakfast room decent size and food was varied and plentiful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in July with my grandson for the purpose of attending the Bristol Renaissance Faire in Wisconsin.

Good:
1) spotless; the floors in the lobby practically gleamed and the room's white bathroom actually did
2) beautiful condition/very well-maintained; nothing broken, chipped, marked, ect
3) pretty decor; homey look
4) nice wide hallways; maneuvering with a child and luggage was a breeze
5) lovely cleaning staff; friendly and helpful

Bad:
1) no safe; not in the room and not available at the front desk; had to keep excess funds/valuables in the trunk of my car
2) breakfast was tasteless (Holiday Inn and Wingate have the same setup and menu but theirs has taste so it is not because of the style)
3) pool is very small, eight individuals and it is full; eight playing children and it is overflowing
4) when we checked in, the front desk staff tried to put us in a king bed room despite having reserved a two queen bed room and, after I protested, tried to tell me my reservation was for a king bed room. It wasn't until after I pulled out my reservation and proved to them it was for a two queen that they were willing to give it to me.
5) I then asked if my room was adjoining to the other room that had been reserved at the same time on the same credit card and was shown on the copy of my reservation, albeit under my friend's name. They said no it was not adjoining, could not tell me what room they would be in as my name was not on that room but assured me it was close by on the same floor. When my friend checked in she received the same assurances. They lied. My friend's room was in the other wing at the other end of the floor on the floor below.

Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
70 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel is very convenient for Six Flags, 10 minutes walking to the gates. Even though is looks new on the outside, the rooms are worn. The place needs an updating. Cleanliness fine. Breakfast was ok, staff was ok.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Address: 5420 Grand Avenue, Gurnee, IL 60031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Gurnee
#5 Business Hotel in Gurnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be near the top attractions and businesses of Lake County when you book your stay at the Country Inn & Suites Gurnee. Our hotel's location opposite Six Flags Great America means fun for everyone, and we're also just one block from I-94 so you can easily travel between Milwaukee and Chicago. Our hotel is within a few miles of Gurnee Mills Mall, Waukegan Sports Park and Field House, Waukegan Regional Airport, Great Lakes Naval Base, Lake Michigan and corporations in the area such as WMS, Medline, NyproMold, Sterigenics, Domino Amjet and Watson Pharma. During your stay at our pet friendly Gurnee hotel, you'll enjoy comfortable accommodations and convenient services, including free Wi-Fi access, the complimentary Be Our Guest breakfast and business services. Book your stay online at the Country Inn & Suites, and discover what sets us apart from other hotels in Gurnee, Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Carlson, EasyToBook, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee Hotel Gurnee
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Gurnee
Country Inn Gurnee
Gurnee Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.