We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Rooms, Microscopic Pool, but Good Staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5420 Grand Avenue, Gurnee, IL 60031   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Gurnee
Minooka, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Small Rooms, Microscopic Pool, but Good Staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

My family and I recently stayed at this hotel during a 2 day trip to Six Flags Great America. The first room that they attempted to give us was so small that I was forced to ask for an upgrade. The upgraded suite was much nicer and larger but still very small. It was adequate at best. However, since the price was so cheap as compared with other hotels in the area, I really cannot complain.

One major complaint is that the hot tub was "out of service" and we were not told that upon checkin. Another major concern is that the pool was so small it was almost laughable. I've literally seen larger hot tubs. In addition, the chlorine in the pool was so strong and overpowering that our family could not swim in it for more than 5 minutes without burning, red eyes. My daughters eyes were literally red the entire next day.

The hot breakfast in the morning was average at best, but they ran out of food very quickly, and did not replenish it. Some of the later arriving guests were left with nothing but cold cereal remaining. To me, that is unacceptable.

Overall, our stay was just OK, but we will definitely never stay here again. The low price is attractive, but the accomodations simply are not.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the largest room possible so that you do not feel like you are sleeping in a closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online, Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to post this review as it will help us fine tune operations in the future. We sincerely apologize for what you experienced during your stay. We are known for our breakfast and we are sorry to hear we did not hit that on your trip. We do understand the frustration with not being able to use the hot tub and the high chlorine level in the pool. We would like to discuss this with you. Please feel free to contact us at CCare@carlsonrezidor.com. We look forward to hearing from you! ~Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    35
    24
    12
    16
See reviews for
61
17
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove Village, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The staff was one of the best things about this hotel. They were really friendly when checking us in early and gave us a late check out without any issues. Breakfast was awesome. It truly was a hot breakfast with more food options than you can eat compared to other hotels. Location was great. We had gone to Gurnee to spend the weekend at Six Flags Great America. Shuttle service was running every hour which made it easy to come back and forth. Only downside was that there were a lot of kids around but that makes sense due to Six Flags. This hotel was worth it for the location, staff, and breakfast.

Room Tip: Pick a room closer to hallways as the hotel is so busy its hard to jump on the elevator. Easier to j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeshal S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

We hope you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to serve you better during your next visit with us.

Sincerely,

Jeshal Sheth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontiac, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Spacious clean room and comfortable bed. Close to alot of amenities, Six Flags and Gurnee Mills (shopping mall). Experienced a bit of confusion with my pillow i forgot in the room but was found a few days later :)
The TV in the room should be upgraded to a flat screen.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeshal S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

We thank you for review and we hope to serve you better on an ongoing basis.

Sincerely,

Jeshal Sheth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

My son and I arrived early at 10:30 a.m., the desk told us that they had no rooms ready yet. Asked them to hold our bag till we get back tonight, and they has no problem. Arrived back at 7:15 p.m. and was given our keys and room # after verifying my ID. The room was ground floor and big, I can't imagine the size of a suite. Watched a movie a bedtime, to time for swimming because we were to tired.

The next morning we checked out at 9:30 a.m. and again asked the desk to watch our bag until we came back from the park for the bus home. Again not an issue.

There was in no way any kind of issue with this hotel, Top notch and close to a decent destination.

Who brings camping gear into a hotel? Weird.

Good job girls and guy's.

Mark

Room Tip: Lower level, room 102 was AWESOME.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeshal S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

I thank you for your kind words and in detail response to your experience here with us. We hope to keep serving you better and we wish you do choose us in the future.

Sincerely,

Jeshal Sheth
General Manager
Country Inn and Suites Gurnee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed here on a recommendation from a realtir on a house hunting trip. What a disappointment! This place advertises themselves as being close to Six Flags amusement park - I guess they expect everyone to be satisfied with what they get as quality and comfort certainly are not part of their business model.

Upon registration, you have to sign an agreement to pay an additional penalty if you smoke in the room, as it was supposedly a no-smoking hotel. But the room itself REEKED of smoke - not from someone sneaking a smoke in the bathroom but long standing smoking in the room that had never been cleaned or treated. There were even burn marks in the old, worn-out rug.

Furthermore, the TV was an ancient large tube model - had to be at least 10 - 12 years old. The picture was messed up and hard to watch. At least the coffee pot worked. The mattress was so old and worn out that it had a large cavity in the center that my wife and I kept rolling into. Straight out of an old I Love Lucy routine. Neither of us slept well.

"Breakfast" the next morning was cold and unappetizing. The coffee creamers were all spoiled - I went through eight before finding 2 I could use in my coffee. The staff did not speak English and I could not get them to understand that the creamers were spoiled and dangerous to serve.

Bottom line, this place is a dump that is run by people who do not care and are relying on the Six Flags crowd who are desperate for a room and will settle for anything. Stay away!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeshal S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

We apologize for the incovnenience and I am pretty certain we can accomodate you better during your next visit with us.

Sincerely,

Jeshal Sheth
General Manager
Country Inn and Suites Gurnee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

I've traveled a lot this year logging well over 60 hotel night stays and the Country Inn & Suites in Gurnee easily wins for the most uncomfortable beds of the year.  I gave up after a half hour and went down to the car, inflated my camping air mattress, grabbed my sleeping bag and pillow and took them back to my room where I set up camp.

As a general rule I avoid any hotel within five miles of an amusement park, you always pay more for much, much less. I gave this one a chance based on the reviews but will now stick solidly with the 5 mile rule from this point forward. On top of the "feel every spring" beds the linen was stained and of poor quality, bed skirts frayed.

The only positives are the front desk staff when I arrived but the night desk guy didn't raise an eye as I carted in my camping gear, lol. Oh well, live and learn! It's too bad as most Country Inn & Suites are really nice. New beds would really help!

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeshal S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Sir,

We apologize for your experience with our beds. We hope we can accomodate you better during your next visit.

Sincerely,

Jeshal Sheth
General Manager
Country Inn and Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The service was very good. The manager and front desk person really focused on making sure we were happy with our stay. The manager even went out of his way to find us a great restaurant for Chicago style pizza (he found a great one!). Upon our return from dinner, he made sure to check with us to see how our dinner was and if we needed anything at all. The room was good, and the service was excellent. I would definitely stay here again upon my return to the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInn G, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

We thank you for your review and we are glad to hear you and your family had a great time with us at our hotel. Hope we can serve you better in the future.

Sincerely,

Jeshal Sheth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee

Address: 5420 Grand Avenue, Gurnee, IL 60031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Gurnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be near the top attractions and businesses of Lake County when you book your stay at the Country Inn & Suites Gurnee. Our hotel's location opposite Six Flags Great America means fun for everyone, and we're also just one block from I-94 so you can easily travel between Milwaukee and Chicago. Our hotel is within a few miles of Gurnee Mills Mall, Waukegan Sports Park and Field House, Waukegan Regional Airport, Great Lakes Naval Base, Lake Michigan and corporations in the area such as WMS, Medline, NyproMold, Sterigenics, Domino Amjet and Watson Pharma. During your stay at our pet friendly Gurnee hotel, you'll enjoy comfortable accommodations and convenient services, including free Wi-Fi access, the complimentary Be Our Guest breakfast and business services. Book your stay online at the Country Inn & Suites, and discover what sets us apart from other hotels in Gurnee, Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Carlson, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee Hotel Gurnee
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Gurnee
Country Inn Gurnee
Gurnee Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.