We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel I've ever stayed at!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5420 Grand Avenue, Gurnee, IL 60031   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Gurnee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worst hotel I've ever stayed at!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

From our moldy bathroom ceiling, to the tv that didn't work, to the lying manager who said he would "compensate" us, it was awful. We had to call the manager who promised us a discount but then when it came time to check out, we could not get ahold of him. Still trying almost a week later. Good thing we have pictures of the moldy ceiling. We have contacted the corporate office and are now dealing with them. Small pool, hot tub STILL didn't work from previous reviews months earlier also stating it didn't work. Don't waste your money on this dump!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInn G, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Sir Madam,

We apologize for the inconvenience during your stay with us. However, we did indeed give you a discount on your stay due to the inconvenience and we did replace the tuve tv in your room with a 32 inch flat screen tv.

Hope you do stay with us in the future.

Sincerely,

Jeshal Sheth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    35
    25
    12
    16
See reviews for
62
17
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I was on a trip to the Gurnee, Illinois area for an overnight stay to do some shopping and go to six flags. I decided to use some of my Gold Points to redeem a free stay. To my surprise the stay was not worth my Gold Points. After settling in later that evening and inspecting the room we found a bug on one of the pillows. Mention it to the front desk staff and he was unable to find us another room b/c they were booked. With this unsatisfying answer, the staff then decided to send me next door at the Best Western, which the owners of this location owned as well. We went from a double room to a King room w/ 2 adults and 2 teenagers. Very uncomfortable but what could we do at 10:30pm. Needless to say my Gold Points were not used to my satisfaction.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInn G, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

We thank you for being a Club Carlson member and we apologize for being sold out and not having a room for you to move to within Country Inn and Suites. I am also sorry to hear you found a lady bug on your pillow, I am certain it may have travelled with you into the room. We do try our best to make sure our guest are happy and we would like you to give us an oppurtunity to stay with us in the future.

Please do email us at the hotel directly during your next visit so as we can make sure you do see the value in redeeming your Gold Points with us.

Sincerely,

Jeshal Sheth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I was a little hesitant to stay at the Country Inn, after never having stayed at their chain before.
We traveled as a family, taking a night trip to Great America. I selected this hotel for their reasonable rate and proximity to Great America.
We were able to park in the hotel lot upon arrival, and take the ten minute walk into Great America to save $$ on parking. It was efficient, and really a comfortable walk. This was a great perk.
The hotel was completely full the previous night, so it looked as though the front desk was scrambling at check in time. Although check in was a bit slow (15 minutes) the young girls at the desk did their best to manage. While check in was not perfect, they were professional and attempted to be engaging with guests.
The room itself was clean, average sized, and effective for a family of 3.
Towels, toiletries, and linens were clean- as was the room. We stayed on the third floor, and it was exceptionally quiet. Even the air conditioner was quiet, and was not disruptive during sleep. They also provide a generous breakfast buffet in the morning with waffles, eggs, cereal, yogurt, and oatmeal. It was a nice way to depart.
Overall, I highly suggest this hotel for a short stay. Longer trips may require a hotel with a bit more amenities. However- three or less nights- and this place is great.

Room Tip: High floors are nice and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInn G, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

We thank you for your review and we have made sure we have extra help at the front desk during check in. We hope you visit us in the future and experience a better stay with us.

Sincerely,

Jeshal Sheth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinette
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

According to the hotel amenities list for this location, there is a working whirlpool, a fitness center, and a shuttle. Don't believe everything you read! When we checked in, not only were our rooms not ready at 3:00 but the whirlpool was empty and I was told I could work out at a neighboring hotel or drive to Gold's gym because the fitness center was under construction. Worse yet, the shuttle we were counting on to save us parking at Six Flags does not run on Monday or Tuesday. We had to ask several times for a roll-away that we paid exta for and the staff seemed very overwhelmed and less than helpful. Will definitely tell people to stay at another location when visiting the theme park.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInn G, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

We apologize for the inconvenience during your stay. Howver, to shed light on some of the concerns, we do have a shuttle service 7 days a week and to and from a 7 mile radius. On Mondays and Tuesdays we run the shuttle on call basis as the need is far less than weekends. With regards to the whirpool, we have been without a whirlpool since March 2012 and we can not get the sam up and running until November 2012 due to the scope of work. The fitness center was a sincere mistake on the website and in compensation we have been offering our guest free shutlle service and passes to Gold's Gym, many area hotels offer the same. Our fitness equipment has arrived and the room is ready for installation, although the same will be completed by mid August.

We do apologize for the rollaway and I am certain you must have been refunded the amount for the rollaway during check out. If not please do let me know and I can assist you with the same.

We hope you visit us in the future and I can assure you that you will not be dissappointed.

Sincerely,

Jeshal Sheth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Great hotel and room was very clean. The individual (Nicky) who checked us in was very friendly and welcoming. My family and I had an issue with a malfunctioning toll booth when returning to the hotel after eating dinner and Nicky assisted me with looking up information on what to do when a toll booth malfunctions. She was very pleasant and willing to assist.

Room Tip: We only stayed one night and didn't use the restaurant or room service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInn G, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

We thank you for taking time in and posting your review. We will make certain Nikki is rewarded for her services. We hope to serve you in the future and better with time.

Sincerely,

Jeshal Sheth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Not flashy, but effective - I was particularly impressed by Nicky, one of the front desk clerks. She was warm, sincere, honest and provided important assistance on several matters. Many thanks to her and the rest of the staff at Country Inn and Suites Gurnee!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

We thank you for your review and we are plkeased to learn Nicky is doing her level best to be hospitable. We will make certain to pass on the great comments to her and also we hope to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Jeshal Sheth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Just wanted to take a minute to offer my compliments to the management and staff of the well maintained, comfortable, and very reasonably priced hotel next to a Six Flags theme park. With both national chain and local family restaurants; department, pharmacy,hardware, and grocery store chains; movie theaters; and a variety of public golf courses surrounding the Gurnee Mills and Vernon Hill malls, this hotel makes life easy for a frequent visitor to northern Illinois with easy access to both Chicago and Milwaukee. Its staff is friendly, professional, and easy to work with both in person and via phone, In particular, a new member of the staff (Nicky) is always courteous in her offers of help and very intelligent in her proposed solutions to problems while simply being a beautiful and optimistic young lady.

Room Tip: Rooms either facing Six Flags or the apartment houses behind the hotel are all quiet and offer more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

We thank you for your review and comment and we will make certain to pass the same to Nicky, we are hoping to serve you better during your next visit.

Sincerely,

Jeshal Sheth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee

Address: 5420 Grand Avenue, Gurnee, IL 60031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Gurnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be near the top attractions and businesses of Lake County when you book your stay at the Country Inn & Suites Gurnee. Our hotel's location opposite Six Flags Great America means fun for everyone, and we're also just one block from I-94 so you can easily travel between Milwaukee and Chicago. Our hotel is within a few miles of Gurnee Mills Mall, Waukegan Sports Park and Field House, Waukegan Regional Airport, Great Lakes Naval Base, Lake Michigan and corporations in the area such as WMS, Medline, NyproMold, Sterigenics, Domino Amjet and Watson Pharma. During your stay at our pet friendly Gurnee hotel, you'll enjoy comfortable accommodations and convenient services, including free Wi-Fi access, the complimentary Be Our Guest breakfast and business services. Book your stay online at the Country Inn & Suites, and discover what sets us apart from other hotels in Gurnee, Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Carlson, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee Hotel Gurnee
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Gurnee
Country Inn Gurnee
Gurnee Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.