We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay. Maybe too noisy for light sleepers.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5420 Grand Avenue, Gurnee, IL 60031   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Gurnee
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good stay. Maybe too noisy for light sleepers.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Stayed one night. Hotel was very busy with Six Flags patrons. Lot of kids and families running around. Our room was right next to the stairs. Thin walls, ceilings and doors made for a restless night. The king room was huge. Only difference between it and the suite is that they removed the sofa, fridge and microwave. Big empty area in the room where a sofa is supposed to be. Kind of weird. Our room was right next to the stairs so there was a lot of kid traffic. Get yourself a top floor room if the thud of footsteps above your room bothers you. Probably not as big an issue in the "off season" at the amusement park across the street.
Room was clean and the king bed was comfortable.
We went out for breakfast with friends the one morning we were there so I couldn't tell you how the breakfast was. Looked to be the standard free chow line when we walked by.
Free and fast WiFi. Friendly staff. VERY small pool. Overall a good stay for the discounted internet special price. Would come back again at that price, in the off season.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISGurnee, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

I truly appreciate your review and I apologize for the noise in the hallways. I will make sure the next time you request a quite room you will recieve one. I hope you give us an oppurtunity to serve you better in the future.

Sincerely,

Jeshal Sheth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    35
    25
    12
    17
See reviews for
63
17
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Charles, Illinois
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Thank you Carlson for providing a better hotel, which is also closer to the Great America Park, than the nearby Hampton Inn, which is where we stayed the past two years before the "cranky General Manager" arrived. Yes, the indoor pool is smaller and there may be "cheaper things" like leaky faucets, but the kind helpful staff like Alma and April more than make up for the "little things". I would definitely stay here at the Country Inn & Suites again on our next annual visit to Great America / Gurnee, IL. The hotel has a great breakfast (again thank you Alma for your "good Morning" each and every morning, along with your great assistance!) that has both a plentiful hot and cold selection. The hotel also has a hot tub (small - 3 ppl max) and a washer / dryer for all your towels and suits you go through at the park across the street. Also, the Country Inn & Suites is right next door to a great restaurant - Rossati's Pizza / Chicago Red Hot Dogs that proved to have a very plentiful selection, personal service, and a great value!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISGurnee, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

I truly appreciate your review and I hope we can serve you better during the next visit.

Sincerely,

Jeshal Sheth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison , WI
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed at the Country Inn in Gurnee July 29 - Aug 1, 2011. The hotel was sold out every night we were there. We were in town for the Lake County Fair.
The hotel was very busy. The breakfast room had a line of people waiting for food every morning. It was hard to enjoy your breakfast with all of that commotion going on. The hot water in the shower went from hot to figid cold every time my husband, or I showered.
Every night when we returned to your room our key card would not work, and we would then have to return to the front desk to get a new one. It was just not a relaxing stay, and we probably would not stay at this location again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISGurnee, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

I apologize for the inconvenience you has with the keys and the breakfast room being over crowded. I hope if given another chance to serve you, we can make sure you have two room keys which you do not accidently place next to any electronic devices and or your mobile phone, we will also make sure that we have more seating capacity in the breakfast room so as you do not find it over crowded.

Sincerely,

Jeshal Sheth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayson, Georgia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed at this hotel after visiting Chicago on our way to another stop in central Wisconsin. We couldn't find a coupon for this property and ended up paying full AAA pricing, but it was worth it.

Our room was large and clean and the breakfast bar was extensive.

We were just passing through but it looked like the hotel was very close to Six Flags Great America amusement park.

Room Tip: No coupon we could find was available for this hotel. AAA helped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISGurnee, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Dear Sir,

I truly appreciate you taking time to write this review and you enjoying your stay and the breakfast. If you do plan to visit this area in the future I would encourage you to stay with us here again as we will have new flat screen televisions, new breakfast program with plates and silverware and better discounted promotions based on your length of stay.

Sincerely,

Jeshal Sheth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

The free cookies are nice and the hotel is the closest to the entrance of six flags great america, but don't expect to be thrilled by the pool. Breakfast is standard fare for this style hotel. The primary draw for this place is it's proximity to the amusement park giving families a basecamp for a day or two at six flags.

I'm reasonably sure we'll stay here again, but if this property provided a simple complimentary dinner (hot dogs, grill cheese, kid's stuff, etc) around 4-5pm on the day of check-in, this would be a STELLAR and unbeatable deal for families wanting to visit six flags on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISGurnee, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

I truly appreciate you taking time to write us a review and I hope we can do something in the future to increase the size of the pool. Until then we will certainly make sure to exceed your expectations in other manners.

Sincerely,

Jeshal Sheth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a weekend to visit six flags and the gurnee mall. The check-in process was easy and we got a room on the first floor all the way at the end. This made sure that any excess noise from the pool area/lobby was dampened significantly. The room was above average. It was clean and came with a microwave/fridge. The bathroom was clean and plenty of counter room. The restaraunts in the area are all chains but that isnt the end of the world. The walk from the hotel to six flags is maybe 10-15 mins and quite easy. Also considering parking is 20 bucks, i recommend the the walking. The continental breakfast is milk/ juice, cereal/oatmeal, 2 waffle makers, and the usual fake eggs/ frozen meat/ starch product. Good enough for one morning but I recommend "cracker barrel" the 2nd day. Otherwise this hotel is ina good area and family orientated, also good for couples n travelers. I would recommend it as the place to stay in the gurnee area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISGurnee, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

I truly appreciate you taking time to write us a review. I hope we can keep exceeding your expectations in terms of service, quality and hospitality.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Jeshal Sheth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

We stayed there for a week and even when we are picky and usually find flaws in hotels with convenient rates, that was not the case with Country Inn By Carlson in Gurnee. Staff was superfriendly and useful, breakfast was very good, room was appealing and clean, with microwave, coffee maker and fridge all included!
They even let us have our bulldog...we are going back, found the hotel to stay because it's also perfectly located.

Room Tip: check prices online and call hotel too
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISGurnee, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

I truly appreciate you taking time to write us a review. I hope we can keep exceeding your expectations in terms of service, quality and hospitality.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Jeshal Sheth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee

Address: 5420 Grand Avenue, Gurnee, IL 60031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Gurnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be near the top attractions and businesses of Lake County when you book your stay at the Country Inn & Suites Gurnee. Our hotel's location opposite Six Flags Great America means fun for everyone, and we're also just one block from I-94 so you can easily travel between Milwaukee and Chicago. Our hotel is within a few miles of Gurnee Mills Mall, Waukegan Sports Park and Field House, Waukegan Regional Airport, Great Lakes Naval Base, Lake Michigan and corporations in the area such as WMS, Medline, NyproMold, Sterigenics, Domino Amjet and Watson Pharma. During your stay at our pet friendly Gurnee hotel, you'll enjoy comfortable accommodations and convenient services, including free Wi-Fi access, the complimentary Be Our Guest breakfast and business services. Book your stay online at the Country Inn & Suites, and discover what sets us apart from other hotels in Gurnee, Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Carlson, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee Hotel Gurnee
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Gurnee
Country Inn Gurnee
Gurnee Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.