We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5688 Northridge Dr, Gurnee, IL 60031   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Gurnee
IM
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as a final stop over on a family vacation that included stays at the Marriott in Downtown Memphis, JW Marriott in New Orleans, and Sheraton in Downtown Nashville. The front desk clerks were the friendliest we encountered and the pool area was outstanding. The place is dated but the cleanliness and staff made up for it.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    72
    36
    10
    9
See reviews for
126
24
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Smyrna, Tennessee
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

If you don't care about breakfast, this would be a great place to stay. The hotel was clean and comfortable, the staff was pleasant, the price was reasonable, and the rooms were clean and of a nice size. There was no microwave or refrigerator in our room, but otherwise all amenities that one would expect were there. The only quirk in the room was that although there was a wall thermostat, it did not control the HVAC unit at all. The controls were the standard ones mounted on the unit. The unit worked fine, so I don't know if it was a replacement unit that didn't get reconnected to the thermostat or what. It was no problem, just a quirk. The hotel has a nice indoor pool, so that is a plus.
Everything was fine until we went to breakfast. The breakfast was poor in terms of the variety and quality of food. There was an employee who came and checked the area about every 10 minutes, but there just wasn't much there that we would want to eat, and we're not picky. The apples and oranges were over ripe, there were muffins, which I (diabetic) can not eat. There were 'make-your-own' waffles, which was probably the best thing available, but I can't eat those either. I did try the oatmeal, but it was awful, tasted like cardboard. There is an IHOP withing walking distance, so if you don't mind buying breakfast, there are options.
I would have rated this hotel "Very Good" (4) if they had a reasonable breakfast. If we are traveling through the area again, I would consider staying here again, and just plan to buy my breakfast elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

This was our second time at this La Quinta - the first for my daughter's graduation from Navy boot camp and this last one for my nephew's graduation (we stayed elsewhere for my son's grad and regretted it). Room was clean, beds were very comfy and the front desk staff were excellent (special shout out to Anthony, who rocked). So many good breakfast restaurants in the area, but we did eat the free hotel breakfast on our last morning and it was just fine.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here on our way through Chicago. It was easy to get to, inexpensive, and no hassle check in at the desk. The room was clean, bed was ok, breakfast was typical. We wouldn't stay for a long trip, since the bathroom setup was bad. Shower was old, and no mirror or garbage can in the bathroom?

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Had an emergency stop on Xmas evening due to bad weather and were able to get a room here immediately (awesome!) Price was very good ($69 for a room with 2 beds), but we found the room to be shabby and not well-maintained at all. Sink had a hole near the drain, bathroom floor tiles chipped, etc.... minor issues that I could overlook... however, the biggest drawback was that the room and the hallway were not very clean. Carpets didnt look to have been vacuumed recently. Plus I checked for bedbugs as i now always do (NONE!) and found no cleaning appears to occur behind or under the bed (yuck).

One other issue - we were told we'd be put in a room "away from the noise" but the people right above us sounded like they were galloping through the room until 2am.

Will not stay at this particular La Quinta again. (Other LaQuinta hotels have been much nicer, especially the one in Madison, WI.)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
398 reviews 398 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

If you are looking for a hotel in this area for some reason you cannot go wrong with this placed. I stayed here last month when I was in town for a business conference. The hotel has is up to par and you can expect the high standards of service that the La Quinta chain is known for. The rooms were very modern, and clean. There was free breakfast at the hotel and the the hotel staff were super friendly. There was also ample parking in the parking lot and is close to the mall and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Housekeeping needs to be more attentive. On our 2nd of 3 day stay not only did they not vacuum the room, didn't wipe down vanity, barely touched the bathroom and did not replace coffee, cups and sugar and creamer packets. Not to mention, never cleaned out the ashtrays from the time we got there to the time we left. Maybe she figured I would get bored and would be looking for something to do. Lol!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee

Address: 5688 Northridge Dr, Gurnee, IL 60031
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gurnee
#3 Business Hotel in Gurnee
#4 Family Hotel in Gurnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LaQuinta, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Priceline so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Chicago/Gurnee Hotel Gurnee
La Quinta Hotel Chicago
La Quinta Gurnee
Gurnee La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.