We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay. Nice rooms, good breakfast, walking distance to Six Flags” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5688 Northridge Dr, Gurnee, IL 60031   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Gurnee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
La Crosse, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay. Nice rooms, good breakfast, walking distance to Six Flags”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. It was a great, affordable, place to stay. It is within walking distance to Six Flags (about a mile on side roads), so you can avoid the $20 parking. The room was clean, the breakfast was good, and employees were great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    96
    48
    14
    9
See reviews for
145
34
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

I booked a six night stay at this hotel based on both price and the acceptance of pets, in case we had to travel with our dog (we didn't). My family arrived on Sunday afternoon and had a pleasant check-in; after an elevator ride to the third floor we noticed a strong cleaner smell in the hallway. It was like... Trying to cover up something. Hmm. Our room was dated, and the beds were full size. It's 2013. Full size beds?? What?
The real eye opener was the bathroom. The toilet and shower are separated from the sink/vanity as per the usual... But.. There was hair. THAT kind of hair. On the floor, in the shower, ON the shower water dial handle. We had dinner plans and before eating, we crossed the street to another hotel and asked about availability. They were booked for the night but were open the rest of our stay, so we reserved with them to check in the next day.
After a night of sleeping fitfully both due to the bed size and because of the shivers of what was in the bathroom, we attended breakfast the next morning. Of the 20 or so guests eating, we were among the one-third or so wearing shoes. How is this okay in a place where food is served?
We packed up and headed to check out. Despite the fact that I was checking out FIVE days early, the front desk lady didn't ask a single question. Not how was your stay, not why are you leaving, not how are you today. Nothing. Just handed me my receipt and went back to whatever was around the corner out of sight. I went outside, then returned to verify that I was in fact only being charged for the one night and not the entire stay. She said yep, just what's on the receipt. Not helpful. Not a care about us leaving after only one day.
Best part of the experience was the nice gal who checked us in. Other than that, we gladly paid more money to stay elsewhere and will NOT recommend this hotel to anyone. At least not to anyone we like.
PS I left a review of this nature on the La Quinta website after being emailed a survey, and despite my similar comments, have received ZERO reply.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We had a wonderful check in person who was very friendly, competent and accommodating and the beds were the most comfortable of any beds in a hotel that we have slept in. This hotel was very close to shopping in Gurnee Mills as well as to Kenosha.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldo, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Pros: checked in early, two front desk people on morning shift were extremely helpful and friendly, nice room, great location for walking to great America (20 min.), breakfast great ( even 3 waffle makers), checkout time is noon

Cons: cold pool... Didnt ask to turn up because would be leaving soon, would suggest that they have shuttle service to great America offered

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadillac, Michigan
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

It's close to Six Flags, reasonably priced and convenient to I-94. Rooms are a nice size and comfortable for a family of four.

Just a couple of issues that keep me from giving this location a higher rating:
1) We found trash from a prior guest in the bathroom. We let the front desk know on our way out for the day. When we returned in the evening, it was still there.

2) When my wife went to ask for an extra towel she was first informed that hotel policy is to only put three towels in the room. We are a family of four and we just want a towel. We don't mind asking for it. We just don't want a snarky policy lecture.

In this vicinity there are quite a few choices. I might be more inclined to choose one of the others next time.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Had a great stay at this hotel!! nice price, great location, very clean, nice staff, checked out 4 or 5 other nearby hotels,none even compared to la quinta. Will stay at another la quinta if traveling. We were very happy. pool not very deep,but was very nice. other hotel pools were smaller and only 3' deep. Hotub was very nice! thank you for a great stay la quinta hotels!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed here two nights. The service was very friendly from check-in to check-out. They had toiletries available (ex: shaving cream) when I forgot mine. Breakfast featured waffle makers, muffins, fruit, a variety of cereals and juice. My family enjoyed the pool. The location is also good, nestled on a row of several restaurants and very near Six Flags. The room had a large fridge and was comfortable and clean. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose one upstairs on the ends, away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee

Address: 5688 Northridge Dr, Gurnee, IL 60031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Gurnee
#4 Business Hotel in Gurnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LaQuinta, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Chicago/Gurnee Hotel Gurnee
La Quinta Hotel Chicago
La Quinta Gurnee
Gurnee La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.