We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Steak Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stevens'

Stevens'
Route 21 Milwaukee Avenue, Riverside Plaza, Gurnee, IL 60031
847-599-8533
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 125 Restaurants in Gurnee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $38
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A family owned and operated steakhouse with a warm, comfortable setting close to home, Stevens aims to please. From our wide selection of finely aged steaks and chops to the freshest seafood, extensive wine and martini lists and a staff ready to serve you, Stevens is the perfect place for you to relax and enjoy. Whether you seek a quiet evening for two or a night on the town with your friends and family we will be honored and ready to accommodate your every need. We are very proud of the food and drinks we serve at Stevens but it is our staff and the amazing service they provide that sets us apart from the competition. Each and every time you walk through our doors you will be greeted and treated with the utmost respect and attention. Our regular guests can attest to the fact that we go out of our way not only to know your name but a little something about you as well. The service staff at Stevens has over 100 years of experience in the business and their knowledge and expertise shines through daily and nightly. Whenever you have the chance, come on out to Stevens and experience first hand what has been deemed the " finest restaurant in Gurnee."
Gurnee
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Steak Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stevens is a wonderful steak restaurant, located in a strip center, in Gurnee, Illinois. A bit on the pricey side, the food is very good. The bar menu is a little different than the diningroom menu, both being a good choice to go to when you want something a little different, out of the ordinary and to treat yourself out.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    25
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lechlade, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Treat yourself”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stevens is a good steak restaurant located in a strip mall. It is quite expensive but the food is good.
It is probably somewhere to go for a special occasion rather than regular dining.
Only criticism is that the atmosphere is a bit stiff!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Hit or miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

As I read through other reviews, I can see why some think it's great, others horrible. I've lived in the area for 11 years, never went to this restaurant (which has been open for 6-7 years) until last night on a whim. It's pricey and seems it wants to be a great neighborhood steakhouse on par with Chicago restaurants. I liked the ambiance, it's well decorated in rich, warm tones, wood cabinets holding wine, temperature was great for cold wintry night outside. There were more people than I expected for a wintry weeknight, and they seemed to be regulars, which we took as a good sign. Service was attentive by our server. I ordered mahi mahi, which was moist, cooked perfectly, but not much flavor. Husband ordered NY strip steak, which he ordered well done. It was medium rare at best. Because the flavor was good and it was tender, he tolerated it, but even the menu says that if you want a well done steak, they'll butterfly it, and that they're not responsible for steaks over medium. Is that their way of saying they don't know how to cook a steak above medium? They didn't butterfly his steak, which seemed a blatant disregard for what my husband ordered, even though he was satisfied with the steak because at least it wasn't bleeding. Soup and salad are extra, not included in main course. We had a house Malbec and Carios cabernet, which we thought were very good and paired well with the food. Tiramisu was creamy and delicious. $100 later (with tip) for dinner for 2, I was left feeling like that may have been better spent at Harry Caray's, Ruth Chris or Flemings, but for the drive. May still come again and give it a second try.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food, great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We ate at Stevens' on Friday Jan. 18th to celebrate a Navy basic training graduation. We didn't want a chain and didn't want to drive into Chicago so we took a chance on a recommendation from the hotel. Wow. What a great find.

Food was excellent. Our steaks were fabulous--tender, flavorful and cooked to our specificatons. Our newly minted sailor son had some special requests--two glasses of whole milk and extra butter on his vegetables. The kitchen was happy to oblige.

The service was superb. Friendly, prompt, able to handle special requests.

For dessert, we ordered the chocolate mousse cake with three forks. It came out on an oversized plate with "Congrats" written in raspberry sauce. It made out son smile and his parents really happy that we picked Stevens' for the celebration.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester MN
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Horrible food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We are here on Friday the 18th of jan. we were a party of five. Our table was sitting directly in front of the bar doors! First annoyance of the evening, everytime a server walked by I was either bumped or a had a food tray over my head, why even sit anyone this close to the doors.

The appetizers were average buffalo calamari, the asparagus wrapped prosciutto was goods and the bread was incredible :)

We all ordered steak except one of the girls who ordered ribs which was terrible and we has to send 2 of the fillets back 3 times and when we did receive one of them
That was ordered medium was served well done.

Needless to say if you want bread definitely go here if you want steak go to outback. You know what your going to get there

The desert was good as well the tiramisu was very good.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stevens' also viewed

Gurnee, Lake County
 

Been to Stevens'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stevens', register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.