We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible from the minute we walked in!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel and Suites

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel and Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5520 Grand Ave, Gurnee, IL 60031   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Gurnee
Davenport, Iowa
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Horrible from the minute we walked in!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

A group of four of us were staying as a late night check-in. We needed two rooms. Upon paying, we were handed our room cards and told how to get there. We stepped into the elevator, which had a plywood floor, and the trim outside of the elevator was masking-taped up. The pool, which we weren't planning to use, was empty (indoors) and upon arriving to our rooms, the other 2 people used their card to get in their room, and it was already occupied. We proceeded back to the check-in desk where they assigned them another room. The clerk came with us to make sure that one was empty, he went to turn on the lights, and there was no power in that room at all. He then proceeded to give them yet a third room, by this time it is after 2 am and we are all dog tired. The third room was empty. I tried to get back in our room, and the door card no longer worked. He had to take my card (which had previously worked) and reprogram it instead. The rooms were very dated, and there was a recliner in ours that looked like it was from someone's home livingroom (very old and used.) The only plus I had was the shower was hot and had good water pressure, although our friends staying in the other room said the beds were rock hard and had to take cool showers. My reccomendation-there are plenty of other hotels in this area, plan ahead to avoid having to stay at this one!

Room Tip: I am not sure if there is a good room in this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    5
    3
    7
See reviews for
14
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Awesome. Our new getaway place. Decent rates. Nice rooms. Have already recommended to friends. Good escape . please come to Wisconsin. We enjoyed our stay so much!!!!!!!!!¡!!!!!!¡!!!!!!!!!!!!!¡!!!""!!!!,!!!!!!!"""""""""""""

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oglesby, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Hotel and Suites on a Monday night and visited Six Flags Great America on both Monday and Tuesday. It ended up being cheaper for us to pay for the hotel room here and come back to eat in our room than it would have been to purchase food for our family of 5 while at the park. It's definitely not a new hotel, but I was pleasantly surprised. The bathtub was huge, which I really appreciated for some relaxation after our long drive to Gurnee. Also, I wasn't sure how I was going to like the memory foam mattresses on the beds, but I slept the entire night, without waking up even once which is an experience that I never have at home in my own bed. The refrigerator didn't get as cold as I would have liked, and the turntable in the microwave didnt spin as it cooked, the room had a small old-school tv set rather than the flatscreens you usually see in hotel rooms (which wasn't really a big deal because we weren't really planning on watching television). The room was clean and larger than most standard hotel rooms, and there were 2 sinks, one in the bathroom and one outside of it, which helps when you have a big family all trying to get ready in the morning. We did check out the hotel pool one evening after Six Flags closed and although the pool room looks very inviting with paintings on the walls, the water was freezing cold, had a murky tint to the water, and it smelled like a dirty gym sock. I think we'll avoid the pool next time. Check in and out were both quick and the lady at the desk was pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta Junction, Alaska
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This place has character unlike most of the chain motels. The first floor hall is decorated with cartoon characters and lit in black light. Both of the rooms we rented had recliners and air hockey tables - but no pucks or paddles? The bed is a memory foam style so if you don't like that... But if you do, go for it. Horrible pillows and towels. No breakfast on the weekends but discount vouchers for gluttony central, Golden Corral, which is nearby. Also, a very fun pool area. Toilets clogged easily and we had to get our own plunger at the desk. However, clean and acceptable for the price level.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The purpose of my trip to Gurnee was to spend the day at Six Flags Great America and so I chose the Grand Hotel. This hotel offers discounted admission tickets, and only a couple blocks away from the park. The hotel is all non-smoking which I liked but if you are looking for extras this isn't the place for you. No wifi, no continental breakfast, pool was ok, dryer we paid to use for wet clothes was not very good, and very old TVs. Very polite and nice staff. Room was pretty clean. If you want a place to just stay this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Berlin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for our anniversary on Memorial Day weekend. After reading the reviews on other sites, I can say we were apprehensive about staying here because of some of the things that were said. However, everything we read was completely false. The staff were really nice and accommodating especially because there were some issues with our reservation. They were really friendly in helping us sort out the situation. Our room was very clean and neat. The bed was really comfortable. Plus, this hotel is really close to EVERYTHING in Gurnee, so that's a bonus. Only downside was our room was next to a few families who kept going in and out of each other's rooms early in the morning and slamming doors (being young adults, we like to sleep late!) The thing to keep in mind while staying here is ITS NOT A CHAIN. yes, there is some repair work that needs to be done outside and updating of decor inside and the pool, but you have to remember this is a family owned hotel, they dont have corporate dollars to do that. If you are looking for a clean hotel with a great location and really good price, this is the place to stay. If you want something more upscale maybe stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: They have fun theme rooms for kids. They also have adult theme rooms with a Jacuzzi. These rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

If you want the Ritz, go elsewhere. If you want a decent spot to lay your head after a busy day at the park you can't beat the location and the price here. Also, this hotel has the friendliest front-desk service I have ever experienced. We stay each year during fright fest, after the park closes we have time for a dip in the pool then hit the hay. I have paid for more expensive rooms and didn't get as good a nights sleep. We'll be back in the fall!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel and Suites

Address: 5520 Grand Ave, Gurnee, IL 60031
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Gurnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Hotel and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient, family friendly,newly renovated, clean rooms, memory foam mattress, only 1000 feet away from six flag Chicago ,no need to spend $25 for parking at six flag.Free wireless internet,Indoor pool,free hard wired internet,free grand breakfast,free parking,cabal t.V.,Hairdryer and iron and ironing board,nearly 14 dining option in walking distance,great location,gurnee mill mall is 1 mile,great lake naval station 6.7.Mile, oversize specious room,off 94 interstate on route 132. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Grand Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Gurnee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.