We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to just stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel and Suites

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel and Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5520 Grand Ave, Gurnee, IL 60031   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 hotels in Gurnee
Duluth, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good place to just stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The purpose of my trip to Gurnee was to spend the day at Six Flags Great America and so I chose the Grand Hotel. This hotel offers discounted admission tickets, and only a couple blocks away from the park. The hotel is all non-smoking which I liked but if you are looking for extras this isn't the place for you. No wifi, no continental breakfast, pool was ok, dryer we paid to use for wet clothes was not very good, and very old TVs. Very polite and nice staff. Room was pretty clean. If you want a place to just stay this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    4
    3
    7
See reviews for
11
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Berlin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for our anniversary on Memorial Day weekend. After reading the reviews on other sites, I can say we were apprehensive about staying here because of some of the things that were said. However, everything we read was completely false. The staff were really nice and accommodating especially because there were some issues with our reservation. They were really friendly in helping us sort out the situation. Our room was very clean and neat. The bed was really comfortable. Plus, this hotel is really close to EVERYTHING in Gurnee, so that's a bonus. Only downside was our room was next to a few families who kept going in and out of each other's rooms early in the morning and slamming doors (being young adults, we like to sleep late!) The thing to keep in mind while staying here is ITS NOT A CHAIN. yes, there is some repair work that needs to be done outside and updating of decor inside and the pool, but you have to remember this is a family owned hotel, they dont have corporate dollars to do that. If you are looking for a clean hotel with a great location and really good price, this is the place to stay. If you want something more upscale maybe stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: They have fun theme rooms for kids. They also have adult theme rooms with a Jacuzzi. These rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

If you want the Ritz, go elsewhere. If you want a decent spot to lay your head after a busy day at the park you can't beat the location and the price here. Also, this hotel has the friendliest front-desk service I have ever experienced. We stay each year during fright fest, after the park closes we have time for a dip in the pool then hit the hay. I have paid for more expensive rooms and didn't get as good a nights sleep. We'll be back in the fall!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manasquan
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This place was recommended to us by a co-worker in the area so we called and asked the rates. Was told about $55 for the evening. We got to the hotel and the first impression was "what the heck is that smell?" in the front lobby! Very nasty odor as you walk in. At the front desk, I asked my normal questions - the rates suddenly went from the 50's to $77 per night. The pet fee was $25 payable by credit card only (what - so they can charge your card for any damages NOT done by a pet in the room?). And they also requested a $40 deposit if paying for the room by cash. We questioned the desk clerk about the price but she was extremely rude and only repeated the charges. We left saying our money would be better spent anywhere else. I noted there are a few good reviews about this place but our first impression was not a good one. don't know where these "good reviews" came from.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel! The La Quinta Inns & Suites nearby is 100 times better than this dump.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Everything was great. The beds were very comfortable, and the staff was very friendly.The location is great, as it's rigjt across the street from six flags.

The only complaint (very minor) would be the reclyner in the room was broken, and there was no ESPN in the room.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adams, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We were looking for a cheap place to stay when we went to Six Flags. We got a deal and paid $138 for 2 nights. I was very skeptical, but when my son reminded me we just needed a place to sleep I reserved it. When we checked in the receptionist told us a different price but when we corrected her we got no argument. We stayed on the first floor which is mostly theme rooms. Our room at the end of the hall, next to the stairs, was not a theme. The glow-in-the-dark hallway paint threw us for a minute but it was fun once you got used to it. The room's view was a wall, but we didn't have to worry about people looking in. We basically slept and showered there. There was a small pool but we didn't have time. The front desk offers discounted 6 Flags tickets ($36 as opposed to $61) free passes to Gold's Gym just a couple of blocks away and discounted tickets for Golden Coral meals.I am a stickler for cleanliness and the room was very clean. All of the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. This is not a luxury hotel. If you want that you'll pay a lot more. I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel for someone on a budget who wants a clean hotel without the expensive frills.

Room Tip: Our room had a queen and bunk beds. Perfect for our son and daughter and my husband and I could sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I had stayed here along with a few friends while on our trip to Six Flags. The hotel was very dirty and we actually had to ask for clean linens to put over things. The front desk staff was rude and ignored a lot of comments we had mentioned to them. Spend the extra $25-$35 and stay at the Holiday Inn. I would not recommend this hotel at all or the services they offer (a swimming pool).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel and Suites

Address: 5520 Grand Ave, Gurnee, IL 60031
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 hotels in Gurnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Hotel and Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient, family friendly,newly renovated, clean rooms, memory foam mattress, only 1000 feet away from six flag Chicago ,no need to spend $25 for parking at six flag.Free wireless internet,Indoor pool,free hard wired internet,free grand breakfast,free parking,cabal t.V.,Hairdryer and iron and ironing board,nearly 14 dining option in walking distance,great location,gurnee mill mall is 1 mile,great lake naval station 6.7.Mile, oversize specious room,off 94 interstate on route 132. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Grand Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Gurnee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.