We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this place!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort to your Saves list
KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1700 Nations Drive, Gurnee, IL 60031   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Gurnee
GreenLeadersSilver level
Orland Park, Illinois
1 review
“We love this place!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

This place is awesome! The activities director Christine is so great with the kids! There are so many activities to do in addition to the waterpark! We love this place!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    233
    90
    54
    49
See reviews for
699
26
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

I am extremely dissatisfied with our stay at Key Lime, will never return and will never recommend to friends and family. Worst experience ever. The line was around the corner where the restaurant is when we arrive. We waited for over an hour. Manager started passing out the tag to the waterpark to the people in line when we were almost at the front of the line. They should have done that sooner as we did not expect to be checked in until 4pm. When it was finally our turn, the staff acted as if we should be grateful that they are checking people in before 4pm. We got there early to start playing in the waterpark, who cares about checking into the room early? We know when we reserve the room that check in is at 4pm but we can start using the waterpark at 1pm. They never even apologize for the long wait and it turns out, this is a regular occurrence in this place. Next day, there was a long line again. The manager, Dan came to talk to me when I started a fuss over the wait, maybe afraid that I will scare people away. He made empty promises about taking care of me during the stay. I did not even see or talk to him after that conversation. When we finally got to the room, the safe was not re-set, my husband had to waste time waiting for security to come, took almost an hour.This is a poorly managed place. The waterpark itself is not any better, small, crowded and overpriced. The Dells is definitely worth the drive because by the time you waited to check in you are only looking at an extra two hours of drive. Definitely worth it over a bad experience.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slumi, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2011
Dear travelerABC1,

On behalf of the entire resort, I would like to apologize for your family’s experience. Please know that we value each and every one of guests and strive to provide all of our guests with a splash-tacular stay.

The weekend of your stay was a very busy one for us here at the cove. I am sincerely sorry for your frustration with the check-in process. Please be aware that 4pm is our check-in time. However, we do offer guests the opportunity to arrive as early as 1:00 pm to begin enjoying the waterpark. When all of our guests arrive at the same time for both early check-in and waterpark passes it delays the process at the front desk.

We are looking into ways to expedite this process with options such as a line for only waterpark passes or a concierge desk. Please understand though that we did our best to accommodate you, including making sure you were checked in by 4pm.

Please feel free to email slumi@keylimecove.com if you do have any other issues that you want to address. I would be more than happy to discuss a specific concern with you.

Thank you for giving KeyLime Cove the opportunity to accommodate you and your family.

Kindest regards,

Your friends at KeyLime Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011 via mobile

This is the best place in chicago water resort thank you. :)

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

This was actually the third time we stayed here. The first two times were not quite as bad. I would have to say this once pleasant park is going downhill quickly.

The front desk staff was incredibly rude, ignoring guests in front of them while taking phone call after phone call. The line to check in was unbelievable. It took over 45 minutes to check in, and this is not an exaggeration! The line stretched from the front desk all the way to the doors!

The entire place was chaotic, and seemed very overcrowded. Unattended children everywhere, doing whatever they pleased. The lifeguards did not seem to care one bit. And, not only were the children unattended, but they were foul mouthed and misbehaving to extremes. Our time here was very frustrating and stressful, and the staff was no help.

The rooms are showing their age and showing allot of wear and tear. The first time we stayed here, the rooms were nice. Now, they are stained, worn, and look dingy and dirty.

There also seemed to be an ungodly amount of people staying in some of the guest rooms- walking down the hall, I saw a family of TEN that had just checked in, trying to get in their room- when the door opened, I could see that they had the 2 queen room, just like us!

Checkout was just as bad as check in- long lines, unhelpful staff. The staff was just plain rude, and I could not believe the attitudes. They did not seem to care about any guest concerns.

Overall, I do not think we will be staying here again. I honestly kept waiting for a "Lord of the Flies" type scene to break out amongst the unruly kids that seemed to rule the place. It may be closer than the dells or any of the Wisconsin parks, but the travel time saved is just not worth it. I would rather drive to the dells and stay at the Wilderness than deal with the staff and clientele of this place.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slumi, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2011
Dear lelei,

I sincerely apologize for your family’s experience and would like to thank you very much for your feedback as it has gives us the opportunity to improve.

Here at KeyLime Cove we take great pride in the top quality of our customer service, safety and security. Please know that everyone on our staff does everything possible to make sure all of our guests are safe and having a splash-tacular stay.

During the weekend of your stay, our check-in line was very busy which was due to a large number of guests arriving for early check-in and early waterpark access at the same time. Our front desk works as quickly and efficiently as possible but we will continue to work at expediting this process.

Please feel free to email slumi@keylimecove.com if you do have any other issues that you want to address. I would be more than happy to discuss a specific concern with you.

We want to thank you for letting KeyLime Cove accommodate you and your family and hope that you do give us the opportunity to do so again in the future.

Kindest regards,

Your friends at KeyLime Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

My husband and I decided to take our three small children to Key Lime Cove for one night to spend a gift certificate we had gotten for Christmas. The problems started when we walked through the door. I had to wait in line for over an hour just to get checked in to our room. When we finally got to our room, we got changed and headed to the waterpark. It was SO overcrowded that we really didn't even attempt any of the slides for fear that we would waste all of our time in more lines... the children's pool was swamped, and the lazy river was so packed that you couldn't move an inch without someone bumping into your tube. Everything from the room to food to games was terribly overpriced. The room rate was much higher than you would spend for a nicer room at a nicer hotel in Wisconsin Dells. We had to wait a half hour just to pay for our breakfast buffet meal the next morning. The restaurant was empty, but they only had one person running the register. The food was awful! I'm not sure how anyone can screw up breakfast, but Key Lime Cove has managed to do so. The parking was terrible also - we had to park a half-mile away from the entrance where our room was - not a big deal except that you don't really want to walk outdoors in January! Needless to say, we won't be returning...

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slumi, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2011
Dear cjlstock2004,

I sincerely apologize for your family’s experience and would like to thank you very much for your feedback as it has gives us the opportunity to improve.

Please trust that your concerns have been passed on to our management team. Unfortunately during our peak times the lines both at check-in and the waterpark can be slightly longer than normal. However, we continue to work towards making everything even more convenient here at KeyLime Cove.

Our Food and Beverage Department is always working towards the most splash-tacular quality and service of the food in our restaurants and we appreciate your feedback. Thanks to our new manager at DW Anderson’s we expect many positive changes in the near future.

We want to thank you for letting KeyLime Cove accommodate you and your family.

Kindest regards,

Your friends at KeyLime Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

This was our first indoor resort experience so we didn't quite know what to expect, but we were really pleasantly surprised. From the door, you felt like you were on vacation - the staff was all really gracious and helpful - none more than Dan the night manager. He seemed to be everywhere at once and always with a smile asking if everything was ok and if you were enjoying your stay. He's a great asset to the resort - we stayed two nights and even my kids were saying "Mr. Dan is so nice!" by the end of our stay.
We were super impressed with the water staff. They watched the water very carefully and we even got to watch them in training which was fun. We absolutely LOVED that the hot tub area is only for adults and it is strictly enforced - yeah! It was like a little calm oasis and we took advantage of it a lot.
We had an awesome time in the arcade where the staff was very friendly and helpful. It stays open until midnight so we would stay at the pool until it closed and then finish out the night there. The Leapin' Lizards area was a real surprise and the kids had a great time there. My daughter participated in a birthday celebration, decorated cookies, and all my kids participated in the Wii competitions each night. They could go down there and even just play checkers or color if they wanted to which was great!
We came thinking we would want to go outside the resort to buy our meals, but were surprised at the affordable options inside. The hotdog stand/pizza place was a hit with us!
We did have to wait in line about a 1/2 hour to register which I thought was a little tiresome and I pre-paid for a Fiji mani-pedi in the spa which I wouldn't do again because I wasn't all that impressed by it, but those were only little things compared to the overall awesome time we had. We would definitely go back!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

We went to Key Lime Cove for the first time on Dec. 30th for a little getaway and for my birthday. My husband and I took our 4 year old. We wanted to go to a waterpark without having to drive so far to the Dells. It was a little pricey for the room but very comparable to other indoor waterpark hotels I checked out. I was nervous to go after some of the reviews but we had a good time and would go again! Here's a breakdown of our experience:

The Good:
Check in was fast.
Our room was nicely decorated, comfortable, and I'd give it about an 8 out of 10 for being clean.
Waterpark was a lot of fun! It of course is smaller than the dells parks, but it was nice not having to walk around too far to everything. The air was very warm, water temp was good, and they have the best toddler/kiddie area I have ever seen! It was gated and fenced in with a little pool and three small slides. My daughter had a blast here was not glad not to have huge buckets of water dumped on her head like at most parks. You get to stay as long as you want after you check out. This was great for us since we only stayed one night. Checked out at 11 and stayed until 4. We took a small bag with us and changed clothes in the locker room.
The arcade was fun.
Food was good, we had pizza, hamburgers, fries, turkey sandwiches, and chicken strips. Everything was hot, tasted good and was priced at what you would expect for a place like this.

The Bad:
Our worst experience was the terrible service and long wait at the pizza place outside the waterpark. The park closed at nine that night so they got slammed by people going for food afterwards. We waited in line for about 20 min, then ordered a large pizza, hot dog and drinks. Pizza was going to take 35 min, ok that was fine. But my husband stood there for another 15 to 20 min waiting for the hot dog and drinks. The fountain pop machine and cups were right there in front of him. All the cashier had to do was take 1 min to get the two drinks we ordered. The workers were unorganized, unfriendly and basically confused about what to do. There was no manager present. Lots of customers were getting mad. We finally got everything and took it back to our room.
Parking was hard to find.
They have luggage service but we didn't know about it until another guest told us. We wish check in would have told us so we didn't have to struggle with bags and a far walk.
The safe in the room didn't work. There were a few hairs on the bathroom floor.

Other than that, we were happy with it overall and would go back. Now better prepared to avoid those little problems!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort

Address: 1700 Nations Drive, Gurnee, IL 60031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Gurnee
#1 Green Hotel in Gurnee
#2 Family Hotel in Gurnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KeyLime Cove offers something for everyone at its all thrills, no chills indoor oasis. The Key West inspired resort is a perfect getaway that’s within an hour drive from Chicago or Milwaukee. Relax in a resort-style suite or guest room, or rejuvenate at Paradise Mist Spa. Featuring a 65,000 sq ft Indoor Waterpark other resort amenities include an arcade, dining and entertainment, shopping and so much more! For a family vacation that's a million miles from ordinary, reserve some "KeyLime Time!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keylime Cove Resort And Water Park Hotel Gurnee
Keylime Cove Gurnee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.