We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired Location, Few Appeals for Adult Visitors” 1 of 5 stars
Review of KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort to your Saves list
KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1700 Nations Drive, Gurnee, IL 60031   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Gurnee
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Tired Location, Few Appeals for Adult Visitors”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We were visiting Milwaukee for a play and decided to look for an interesting hotel nearby to try. We are a group of fun-loving adults, and have had great fun at other waterpark hotels, but found this one lacking.

Upon arrival, we realized that the images on their website are misleading. The actual pool area is a lot smaller than actually shown. The indoor portion is tiny, and much of it is dedicated to areas which are more meant for small children (age 8 and below). Almost everything that wasn't a child-only area required an inner-tube, giving no real ability to 'swim' if that's what you've actually come there to do. The only exception was the hot tub, which is quite small. On their website, they show an image of a far larger area when describing their 'adult cove', but really, it's a small hot tub. Also, multiple members of our party ended up with scratches on feet/arms due to the very rough nature of the pool.

The other areas were similarly lack-luster. There were many out-of-order signs in the arcade area, but it's reasonably entertaining. The candy shop was... an adventure. The gummy candies were kind of stuck together and quite old, and we saw the same fudge out /all weekend/ without being changed, despite ours being rock hard and nearly inedible when we bought it on Friday. I highly suggest avoiding that shop. The other shops were pretty nice, though.

The rooms were a bit old-fashioned looking, with very old looking bedding. This place really needs an update, badly. Only about 50% of the power plugs in our room worked, which caused issues. We had a lot of trouble trying to get extra towels and toilet paper as the housekeeping staff didn't seem to understand our requests. Wifi is slow and unstable.

When it comes to service, there were only a few highlights. There was a very nice woman who worked in the swimsuit shop who helped us find a suit for my husband. The girls who worked down in the icecream shop were also quiet nice. The arcade staff had pluses and minuses. They all but ignored me as a customer when it was time to purchase things with tickets, but they did find my keys when I dropped them and made sure they were returned to me, which I appreciate. However, we had bad experiences with the front-desk staff, who refused to do anything about the fact that we felt disappointed/mislead about their location. We were scowled at/whistle-blown at for laughing/singing in the lazy river (we were singing a family-friendly Disney song).

All in all, we generally felt like this hotel was not well maintained and held little appeal for adults. Maybe it might be fun for families with small children, but not for teenagers or adults. We expressed our concerns through their contact/review system and the only response we received was that they felt their images weren't misleading. The rest of our concerns were ignored. Not planning on returning. Ever.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    261
    103
    68
    54
See reviews for
770
30
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We had such a great time this weekend at Key Lime Cove! It was sooooooo much fun for my family. One of the best parts was the "Kitchen Sink" ... 16 scoops od ice cream with toppings, the kids were in heaven (smile)!!!!! Thankbyou Warren, Katelyn, and Melissa we love you for the treat! You all were very kind, respectful, and fast!

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

The rooms were awesome the water park was fun with the regular swimming pool was bigger stores were a bit on the high side but they offer like resort passes for a extra fee but they were well worth it

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodridge, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

When you walk in, its so colorful it sucks you in. We had so much fun in the waterpark our daughter wanted to stay all day. Even us adults had a blast. We do wish the restaurants stayed open later but the overall experience was wonderful and suggest you stay for a day/night.

Room Tip: Don't worry about the room, you aren't in it very long. Small room was good.
See more room tips
Green Features: Decor is fantastic! Waterpark has so much to do in it from pools to slides of all sizes.
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were a group of 15 families from the old college days and we all had one of our best experiences! The variety of food, very clean rooms, spa, excellent courteous staff, spacious meeting rooms and of course the water park joy! Nothing to complain about, it was just superb!

Room Tip: Though slightly expensive Toucan Suites is awesome if you are family of 4. 849sq ft its more like a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlyn B, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Anthonee b,
Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. It sounds like your entire group had a great time. We appreciate that you found all of our amenities to be excellent. We pride ourselves on offering a variety of onsite restaurants, as well as activities for our guests to enjoy. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our luxurious, tropical-inspired two bedroom Toucan Suite which features a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave and dining room table along with a living room with a sofa bed and verandah. We would be happy to have your group back again for another Splash-tastic stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinley Park, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

THIS PLACE IS PURE AWESOMENESS! All staff including lifeguards are so respectful and Rick the security guard.... just wow he was very helpful after my sister lost her car keys. He was on the look out the moment we told him. This was an weekend! Definitely coming back

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlyn B, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear JasmineBells,
It sounds like you had a great time here at KeyLime Cove! We are happy to hear that our staff impressed you, especially our Security Supervisor, Rick Munson. Our team is always working hard to provide our guests with a safe and enjoyable experience. We can’t wait to have you back for another stay in paradise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is an amazing place and the staff are so supportive and friendly!!!! The place is HUGE and all encompassing .... you do not have to leave for anything they have it all under one roof!!! Waterpark is so much fun :)

Room Tip: bigger is even better.... but I had a smaller room and it was awesome!!
See more room tips
Green Features: They are really into the environment .... they actually give behind the scene tours of the waterpark which I thought was unique.
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlyn B, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Jacqueline M,
Wow! What a Splash-tacular review! It sounds like you had a blast here at KeyLime Cove. We appreciate that you noticed how hard our staff works to ensure a fantastic experience for you. We pride ourselves on always offering impeccable customer service to all of our guests. It sounds like you were able to enjoy all of our onsite shops and restaurants. We like to offer our guests the total package experience, so that you are able to just relax and enjoy your stay without having to venture outside of paradise. We would be absolutely thrilled to have you back again for another Key-riffic stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort

Address: 1700 Nations Drive, Gurnee, IL 60031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gurnee
#3 Family Hotel in Gurnee
#5 Business Hotel in Gurnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KeyLime Cove offers something for everyone at its all thrills, no chills indoor oasis. The Key West inspired resort is a perfect getaway that’s within an hour drive from Chicago or Milwaukee. Relax in a resort-style suite or guest room, or rejuvenate at Paradise Mist Spa. Featuring a 65,000 sq ft Indoor Waterpark other resort amenities include an arcade, dining and entertainment, shopping and so much more! For a family vacation that's a million miles from ordinary, reserve some "KeyLime Time!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Groupon and Hotels.com so you can book your KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keylime Cove Resort And Water Park Hotel Gurnee
Keylime Cove Gurnee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.