We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect For all Ages” 4 of 5 stars
Review of KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort to your Saves list
KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1700 Nations Drive, Gurnee, IL 60031   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Thanksgiving at the Cove
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Gurnee
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Perfect For all Ages”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

My favorite aspect of Key Lime Cove waterpark is that there is so much for the younger kids to do! Of course there's the huge slides for the older kids, but we often find water parks with toddler slides as almost an after thought. This one beats them all! We have a 4 year old and we've been coming to Key Lime Cove since she was 18 months old. There is a perfect little cove area for toddlers, then another island area for younger children (adults can go on the slides too). Our daughter goes to both of these areas. There are still several slides she has to grow into before she will hit the big slides! She also loves the wave pool and Lazy River. Also the arcade has plenty for the younger kids too. My daughter loved the ski ball, motorcycle video game (I had to help her) and the rides. We highly recommend it for all ages. Also the park is very clean, has courteous staff, and the rooms are very nice too. You will feel like you're in the tropics!

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    230
    86
    54
    49
See reviews for
691
26
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed one night with 2 young children (age 3 and just under 1 year) on a Sunday. Resort was very clean, and warm in the water park. Rooms were good. We recommend the 1 bedroom Mangrove sweet as it allowed us to have extra room to put the 1 year old to bed while we stayed up. The water park is great for young kids. They have a fenced off little kid pool that was perfect for our two. It even had a couple of slides they could do. The jungle gym area would be great for kids who are a little older 4-6 range. Probably not the greatest for older teens as the 5 water slides were great, but would probably get old quickly for them. I went down all of them.

The place was basically dead on Monday which was great as we stayed all day until about 7pm the day we checked out.

Room Tip: We love the extra close off part of the 1 bedroom mangrove suite to cut the room off for when our 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I drove to Gurnee on Tuesday. We were very excited as I have read great reviews on the hotel. What I did expect was a great water park, and I was not disappointed in that respect, but the bar in the water park was closed and you had to leave the water park to get something to drink. We wanted to check out the ice cream shop, but that was closed as well. Being a CPR certified nursing student as well as a scuba diver that is over 6 feet tall, I don't appreciate being told by a 17 year old that I need a raft to be in the wave pool that is only 4 feet deep.

We wanted to get to a bite to eat, and we expected the food to be good; we were sadly disappointed. I ordered the nachos with beef, it was clearly prepared beef from a package and was not anywhere near its freshness date. My wife ordered Baja tacos, with microwaved beef nuggets in a weird teriyaki sauce. Needless to say the food was awful and being that there was only one server in the entire restaurant working the bar as well was a little shocking.

I feel that my hotel stay should have only cost a total of $99.00, the resort already charges extra fees to most likely include your pool pass in it and they make up the money elsewhere.

This place has so much potential sadly I didn't see any of it.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Brett C,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on our resort. We are pleased to hear you and your wife enjoyed our indoor waterpark, Lost Paradise. We apologize if you were at all disappointed that some of our outlets were closed during your stay. During lower occupancy times, we do close some of the food and beverage outlets to accommodate the decrease in the number of guests. If you are ever dissatisfied with your meal in one of our restaurants, please feel free to speak with a manager right away. They will try to rectify the situation immediately. We understand that you booked your stay through a third party. Please feel free to check our rates first as we often offer specials on our website, through our email program and text promotions that aren’t available through third party websites. Thank you again for sharing your comments. We can only hope that you would consider staying with us again in the future.

Kindest regards,
Your friends at KeyLime Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a two-night stay at Key Lime Cove and had a great time. The rooms were clean, the food was decent and my kids (2 and 9) had a great time at the water park. The lifeguards were diligent. I really liked the separate toddler area. My two-year-old had a blast going down the little slides. We ate at the restaurants in the hotel and the food was good. We really didn't have to leave the hotel for anything. Saturday the water park was very full but we pretty much had the park to ourselves on Sunday and Monday morning. We received an email a few days before our stay, offering a discounted rate if we upgraded to a suite. It was well worth it. I will definitely bring my family back for another stay.

Room Tip: We received an email a few days before our stay, offering a discounted rate if we upgraded to a suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear plunk8,

Thank you for the splash-tastic review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your two-night family getaway with us in paradise. It seems like your Lil’ Limers loved our indoor waterpark, Lost Paradise. Your toddler appears to be a big fan of our Lil’ Limer’s Play Pond with shallow water and smaller slides. We appreciate that you found the food in our restaurants to be very good. Your overnight room seems to have been a perfect fit for your family. Thank you again for sharing your comments. We hope to have you within our walls of paradise again soon!

See you in the fun-shine!
Your friends at KeyLime Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here last weekend with my family and it was nothing short of amazing. Check-In was a breeze. Most places you are standing in line for 30 or 40 minutes to check in but it only took us about 15 minutes which was fine considering the size of the resort and how many rooms they had. The waterpark was the best park. Most places like this you smell the chlorine a mile away. this place you couldn't smell any hint of chlorine. That was the best part!!! The ozone that they use here is remarkable as we were able to get a behind the scenes tour. This truly is the cleanest waterpark I have ever been too!!! The rooms were equally clean and very comfortable. The reviews didn't disappoint us. This place is really a gem!!!

Room Tip: Get a room on the Key Largo Side of the hotel as it faces the parking lot and it has easier access t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Richard S,

Wow, what a splash-tastic review! Thank you for sharing your comments on our resort. We are thrilled to hear that you choose our resort for your family getaway. It seems like your check-in experience was a breeze. Our indoor waterpark, Lost Paradise, appears to have been a bit hit! We appreciate that you took our Behind the Scenes Waterpark Tour that demonstrates how we use ozone technology to keep our water clean and fresh. It seems like you found your overnight room to be very clean and comfortable. Thank you again for sharing your feedback. Looking forward to seeing you and your family again soon!

Have a key-riffic day!
Your friends at KeyLime Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We took my son here for his birthday and he loved it.We bought it on groupon for $130 and thank God because it is not worth $300 a night.Take advantage of the free activity room for the kids . The kids had fun and I guess that's what matter .

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear MsJames84,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us! We are thrilled to hear that your Lil’ Limer loved staying with us for his birthday. Hopefully he got a chance to make a crown and sit on the birthday throne in our arts and crafts activity center, Leapin’ Lizards. It seems like he had fun splishin’ and splashin’ around in our indoor waterpark, Lost Paradise. Don’t forget to sign up for our email program, Club KeyLime, for the most up-to-date information and specials to our reosrt. Thank you again for sharing your feedback. We hope to see you within our walls of paradise again soon!

Have a splash-tastic day!
Your friends at KeyLime Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We decided to use this resort for family gateway only because it;s new and it's within one hour driving distance from home. Oh, hell no! This place is extremely overcrowded during week end . You have no chance to relax and have fun in water park with extremely bad smell of chlorine, and it;s so overcrowded that it's difficult to go inside waves pool and there is no chance to hit a lazy river because they don;t have enough tubes. looks like owners are trying to cut spending, trying to save at everything possible .
our room wasn't clean at all. they claim they have flat screen TV;s, yeah, but the resolution is the poorest! Also one thing almost kills me! THOSE CHEAP ....... THEY DON'T HAVE A MICROWAVE AT ANY ROOM. Can you imagine resort room at United States without microwave? Sure, no! But here you are_ key lime cove. You have to travel 300 feet to vending machines area from your room just to heat your child breakfast. unacceptable. will never come back.
parking is extremely inconvenient with plenty of deep potholes.
Prices are high, so it's much better for those who lives in Chicagoland to travel extra 2 hours and go to Wisconsin Dells!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear ASGN77,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you family did not enjoy staying with us at KeyLime Cove. It seems like you did find our location to be very convenient. At 65,000 sq. ft., our waterpark is the largest indoor waterpark in the Chicagoland area. We also do not sell day passes to the public for our indoor waterpark to prevent overcrowding. As for the chlorine smell, we actually use the minimum amount of chlorine required by the state of Illinois due to our advanced ozone technology. Ozone is 200 times stronger than chlorine yet has no effect on skin or hair. It destroys 99.9% of bacteria, viruses, spores, mold and fungus on contact. Our water is some of the purest water anyone could swim in, anywhere on Earth. In regards to your overnight room, please feel free to contact the front desk immediately if you ever feel that your room needs additional cleaning. There are microwaves within all of our suites in addition to microwaves located by the vending machines on every floor. Thank you again for sharing your review on our resort. We can only hope that you would consider staying with us again in the future.

Kindest regards,
KeyLime Cove Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort

Address: 1700 Nations Drive, Gurnee, IL 60031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Gurnee
#1 Green Hotel in Gurnee
#2 Family Hotel in Gurnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KeyLime Cove offers something for everyone at its all thrills, no chills indoor oasis. The Key West inspired resort is a perfect getaway that’s within an hour drive from Chicago or Milwaukee. Relax in a resort-style suite or guest room, or rejuvenate at Paradise Mist Spa. Featuring a 65,000 sq ft Indoor Waterpark other resort amenities include an arcade, dining and entertainment, shopping and so much more! For a family vacation that's a million miles from ordinary, reserve some "KeyLime Time!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keylime Cove Resort And Water Park Hotel Gurnee
Keylime Cove Gurnee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.