We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of fun and easy for mom!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort

Save Saved
You added KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1700 Nations Drive, Gurnee, IL 60031   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Gurnee
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lots of fun and easy for mom!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My 4 year old daughter and I stayed at KeyLime Cove the weekend after Labor Day and it was a great time. The water park was perfect for her and I think she'll love coming back for years to come. I was alone with her and was worried about being able to keep track of her in the water park but the design made it very easy, with each area being distinct and contained. The lifeguards were also very attentive and respectful. For full disclosure, it was crowded even on this weekend - which likely wasn't a high volume weekend. We found getting to the water park early was key as it didn't fill up until later in the morning. We had a room on the first floor but around the corner from the main center of activity. It was quiet and comfortable and more than adequate for the limited amount of time we spent in the room. Having everything you need under one roof also made it really easy to just relax and enjoy our time. It ended up being a bit pricey but was worth it for the ability to stay stress free. I agree with other reviewers who suggested bringing your own snacks and your own water, if you prefer bottled. It was expensive to stay hydrated. If I had to suggest somethings to the management of what kept this review a 4 versus a 5, I would say: 1) They should be clear when training staff on the wristbands. I asked on check in to have my wristband tied to my credit card and I assumed it was. When I got to the pool with my daughter and finally convinced her to eat, we ordered our food and then realized my wrist band was in fact not set up. The good news is, the counter help in Sharky's let us have a snack and come back to pay him (which I did and greatly appreciated) and the front desk staff resolved the issue immediately. 2) Cleanliness was only average. There was old toothpaste on the counter in our room (a smear) and then sometimes the waterpark area got a bit messy. Nothing out of control, but I did notice. 3) More healthy food options are really necessary, especially around the pool area and snack bars. It was really difficult to find fruits and vegetables. Overall, though, the staff was great, the accommodations nice and the entertainment unmatched. Good stuff!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    216
    85
    49
    47
See reviews for
668
23
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here a few nights in July and loved it! The room was nice and spacious and clean. The water park was awesome for my 2 year old with the nice kiddie pool and slides. I will definitely be staying there again. It was also right next to Gurnee Mills mall so it was a great location

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Hannah L,


Thank you for sharing your fun-tastic feedback! We are pleased to hear that you loved your stay with us in paradise. It seems like your overnight room was a perfect fit for your family. Your Lil’ Limer appears to have enjoyed splishin’ and splashin’ around in our indoor waterpark, Lost Paradise. We appreciate that found our location to be very convenient and centrally located to local attractions such as Gurnee Mills Mall. Thank you again for sharing your comments with us. We hope to see you again soon!


Have a splash-tastic day!
Your friends at KeyLime Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Staff is kind. Rooms are clean. Water park is safe. Fun all around. I had four boys 14, 11, 9, 8, and a girl, 5. The drinks were cold and delicious. The kids loved the arcade. We will come back another time to visit Key Lime Cove.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Laura R,

Thank you for sharing your splash-tastic comments on our resort! We appreciate that you found our staff to be very kind and friendly. It appears that you felt the resort was very clean. As for our indoor waterpark, our lifeguards take the responsibility of protecting the safety of our guests very seriously. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed some tropical drinks from our restaurants. Our arcade, RipTide Reef, appears to have been a big hit! Thank you again for sharing your comments. Can’t wait to have you and your family back within our walls of paradise again soon!

Have a splash-tastic day!
Your friends at KeyLime Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed Labor Day weekend and the stay was awesome my family had a great time. The rooms were very clean , and the waterpark was very safe and clean as well. The food was awesome and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. I would recommend this hotel for anyone, great time! Definitely will return !!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Shelly H,


Thank you for sharing your fun-tastic recommendation! We are so pleased that you chose our resort for your family getaway. It seems like you found everything to be very clean. As for our waterpark, our lifeguards take the responsibility of protecting the safety of our guests very seriously. Our restaurants appear to have been a big hit! We appreciate that you found our staff to be very friendly and accommodating. Thank you again for sharing your comments. Can’t wait to have you with us in paradise again soon!


See you in the fun-shine!
Your friends at KeyLime Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed the labor day weekend and they was very organized. Everything is always clean. The waterpark was great and safe. I think they dont need to charge for using the lockers but in general is a awesome place to go and spend time with the love ones!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Shirley S,


Thank you for sharing your splash-tastic comments! We appreciate that you found our holiday weekend to be very well organized. It seems like you felt our resort was very clean. Everyone seems to have enjoyed our indoor waterpark, Lost Paradise. If you do not wish to utilize a locker, please feel free store your belongings in our bell closet before and after checking in/out of your overnight room. Thank you again for sharing your review with us. We hope to have you and your family within our walls of paradise again soon!


Have a splash-tastic day!
Your friends at KeyLime Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove Village, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The food is mediocre and overprices, it is loud and obnoxious, it is expensive no matter what deal you get- but it is well worth it for the amount of enjoyment my kids get here. They are 5 and 7 and we first stayed here when they were 2 and 4. The waterpark is big enough for them but small enough so that they have time to do everything multiple times. The little kids area has things appropriate for babies and for bigger kids (mine still love the "purple slide" even though they can go on almost everything else). The wave pool and lazy river are nice. There have always been a lot of people there but we have never waited for more than 10 minutes for the bigger slides. The staff is helpful and nice. We bought the ride and slide package once for 6 Flags but the kids wanted to stay at the waterpark all day so we used our 6 Flags tickets on another day.

Room Tip: Rooms close to the waterpark entrance are a lot louder.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Julee B,


Thank you for sharing your feedback on our resort. We are thrilled to hear that your Lil’ Limers enjoy staying with us so much in paradise. It seems like they have fun splishin’ and splashin’ around in our indoor waterpark, Lost Paradise. We appreciate that you find our staff to be very friendly and efficient, in regards to lines in the waterpark. As for our pricing, we do have an email program called Club KeyLime that sends emails about once a month with specials and information from KeyLime Cove. Thank you again for sharing your comments with us. We hope to have you and your family with us again soon!


Have a splash-tastic day!
Your friends at KeyLime Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My son and I enjoyed the room, the water park, the arcade...just everything. Thank you, Key Lime for the fun vacation! The facilities were clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The shuttle to Great America was awesome and the driver was very friendly and shared useful tips!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Kate R,


Thank you for the splash-tastic review! We are honored that you chose our resort for your family getaway. It seems like you and your Lil’ Limer had fun in our indoor waterpark, Lost Paradise, and in our arcade, RipTide Reef. It appears that you found our crew members to be very helpful and friendly. We appreciate that you took advantage of our shuttle service that escorts guests to and from Six Flags Great America and Gurnee Mills Mall. Thank you again for sharing feedback. Looking forward to your next getaway with us in paradise!


See you in the fun-shine!
Your friends at KeyLime Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort

Address: 1700 Nations Drive, Gurnee, IL 60031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gurnee
#1 Family Hotel in Gurnee
#2 Business Hotel in Gurnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KeyLime Cove offers something for everyone at its all thrills, no chills indoor oasis. The Key West inspired resort is a perfect getaway that’s within an hour drive from Chicago or Milwaukee. Relax in a resort-style suite or guest room, or rejuvenate at Paradise Mist Spa. Featuring a 65,000 sq ft Indoor Waterpark other resort amenities include an arcade, dining and entertainment, shopping and so much more! For a family vacation that's a million miles from ordinary, reserve some "KeyLime Time!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keylime Cove Resort And Water Park Hotel Gurnee
Keylime Cove Gurnee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.