We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort to your Saves list
KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1700 Nations Drive, Gurnee, IL 60031   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Gurnee
GreenLeadersSilver level
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

I wasn't sure about this place when I made reservations, but I was pleasantly surprised. The staff was very friendly and professional, loved the waterpark, conveniently located near Six Flags and restaurants. This is also the first time I actually saw housekeeping remove comforters at checkout for cleaning. If you are looking for a place to stay for 2-3 day with kids, this is the place.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Lisa H,

Thank you for sharing your splash-tastic comments! We are so happy to hear that our resort pleasantly surprised you and your family. It seems like you found our staff to be very friendly and professional. We appreciate that you felt our resort was in such a prime location. Our housekeeping team also appears to have been a bit hit! Thank you again for sharing your recommendation of our resort. We hope to have you and your family within our walls of paradise again soon!

Have a fun-tastic day!
Your friends at KeyLime Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    233
    90
    54
    49
See reviews for
699
26
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

As this was our second trip in as many years, we have begun to see the differences after the first. Staff was very nice at check-in, but hospitality staff is beginning to get very lazy. Room was musty, and carpet was not clean, and washroom was very dusty as well. Water park was very nice, but needs to be expanded. This was a family vacation, but I would not recommend this park for anyone with kids over 13, as there is not much for them to do. Pool staff was very attentive, and we LOVED the on-going training for the lifeguards. My Husband and I loved the Lazy River, and our Girls loved the Body Slides. It was a good time had by all, but for the prices they charge, there definitely needs to be more attention to detail.

Room Tip: get a room with a balcony or request to be on a floor with no children if this will be a couples ret...
See more room tips
Green Features: My husband and I loved the fact that there was a lot of conservation practices going on. I just wish that there had been more mention of it before we traveled as we would have packed accordingly. I also wish that they had more sustainable and reclaimed things inside the hotel.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Jeannette R,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are pleased to hear that you found our front desk staff to be very friendly. It seems like everyone had fun in our indoor waterpark, Lost Paradise. As for our lifeguards, they take the responsibility of protecting the safety of our guests very seriously. If you are ever unsatisfied with the condition of your overnight room, please inform the front desk immediately so that they can send a member of housekeeping to address your concerns right away. We strive to resolve any issues that may arise as soon as possible. Thank you again for sharing your comments. We can only hope that you and your family would consider staying with us again soon.

Have a splash-tastic day!
Your friends at KeyLime Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We were extreamly impressed with this hotel. Loved the fact that the room key and ablity to make purchases was all on the wristband they give the adults at check-in. the hotel had several different dinning options. My 6 year old had a blast at the indoor waterpark. My 15 year old had a good time at the water park too but did not want to spend as much time as the little one. They do not have a fittness room onsite but will give you a free pass to the large fittness center across the street.....which was way better than an hotel fitness room we have been too. Overall we had a great experience and would definately go back!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Kristen W,

Thank you for sharing your splash-tastic comments! We are happy to hear that you were so impressed with our resort. It seems like your Lil’ Limer had a blast in our indoor waterpark, Lost Paradise. Everyone appears to have enjoyed all of our outlets from our arts and crafts activity center, Leapin’ Lizards, to our arcade, RipTide Reef. We are pleased to hear that you liked dining in our restaurants during your stay as well. Thank you again for sharing your review with us. We can’t wait to have you back with us in paradise again soon!

See you in the fun-shine!
Your friends at KeyLime Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Overall a good experience. Very clean resort but I expected the water park to be bigger. There was only one pool to wade in and it was used for playing water basketball. The wave pool/lazy river had so much traffic and everyone had to hunt for "clear tubes" because "blue tubes" weren't allowed for the lazy river, only the water slides. The rooms were clean and a good size.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear frequentTraveler172,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We are pleased to hear that your overall experience was pleasant. It seems like you found your overnight room to be very clean and spacious. Our indoor waterpark, Lost Paradise, is 65,000 square feet complete with a wave pool, lazy river, adults only whirlpool, 5 larger slides, an interactive play structure and a toddler/baby play area. We also supply free passes to guests for the fitness center across the street that has a large pool for lap swimming. As for the inner tubes, we separate them by color for safety purposes and to prevent overcrowding within the attractions. Thank you again for sharing your feedback. We can only hope that you would consider staying with us again in the future.

Have a fun-tastic day!
Your friends at KeyLime Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammond, Indiana
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival my room smelled musty, I laid on the bed and urine was on the bed! Room was not cleaned when they gave us the room. Next my son slipped abd hit his head in the hallway because the custodians didn't leave a wet floor sign where they just cleaned. Third, there lifeguard by the kiddy pool on a certain day very rudely scolded at my daughter of 6 because she accused her sliding on her belly when it was the life jacket THEY PROVIDED that caused her roll over. My daughter didn't want to go back in. The worst and yes it gets worse... they let 4 people on our last day, go in the kiddy pools and wave pools in street clothes! Jeanshorts, pants, t shirts, and alot of profanity around kids. Not so tough now are they...but they will scare and yell at a 6yr old!? We were 2 nights, on or last night, 5 doors down, out smelled of marijuana coming out of there room, and they were the same people that were dressed "GHETTO" in the pool with regular street clothes! I called Mr. Sasso to speak about it, I left a voicemail...he never bothered to call me back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Hello latinmason,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on our resort. We are very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the cleanliness of your overnight room upon arrival. We are completely taken aback by your statement that the bed smelled of urine as the bed sheets are replaced between guests. However, if you are ever dissatisfied with the condition of your room please contact the front desk right away so that we can address your concerns immediately. As for our waterpark, our lifeguards take the responsibility of protecting the safety of our guests very seriously. We apologize if you found them to be rude or impolite as that is not their intention. Street clothes are not allowed in or on the waterpark attractions. Guests are required to wear double lined swimsuits when in the water. Our Director of Rooms, Richard Sasso, does not have record of a voicemail or email regarding your concerns. He would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you directly. If you wouldn’t mind, please send your contact information to dwarren@keylimecove.com. Thank you again for sharing your comments with us. We hope to hear from you soon.

Kindest regards,
KeyLime Cove Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We go to Key Lime Cove a lot. Its a short drive from Chicago and its a fun getaway. Staff if very friendly and the park is just age appropriate for the little kids. I recommend this place for 1 or 2 nights...

Room Tip: Most rooms are very convenient but I like a room on the cafe level versus watermark level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Cairo777,

Thank you for sharing your fun-tube-ulous review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoy staying with us so much in paradise. We appreciate that you find our property to be an easy drive from Chicago. Our location can be very convenient for residents of Northern Illinois and Southern Wisconsin. It seems like you find our staff to be very friendly. Your Lil’ Limers appear to enjoy our indoor waterpark, Lost Paradise. Thank you again for sharing your recommendation of our resort. We can’t wait to have you and your family within our walls of paradise again soon!

Have a splash-tastic day!
Your friends at KeyLime Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

This is by far the nicest waterpark hotel our family has visited. The rooms were a nice size, clean and comfortable. Food in restaurants was reasonably prices and delicious. Staff was extremely pleasant. Water park was warm and clean. We can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear NicGregory,

Wow, what a splash-tastic review! Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We are pleased to hear that you found our resort to be the nicest your family has ever visited! Your overnight room seems to have been the perfect fit for your family. Our restaurants appear to have been a big hit! We appreciate that you felt our staff was very friendly. It seems like you found our waterpark to be a comfortable temperature and very clean. Looking forward to your next stay with us in paradise!

See you in the fun-shine!
Your friends at KeyLime Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort

Address: 1700 Nations Drive, Gurnee, IL 60031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gurnee
#1 Business Hotel in Gurnee
#2 Family Hotel in Gurnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KeyLime Cove offers something for everyone at its all thrills, no chills indoor oasis. The Key West inspired resort is a perfect getaway that’s within an hour drive from Chicago or Milwaukee. Relax in a resort-style suite or guest room, or rejuvenate at Paradise Mist Spa. Featuring a 65,000 sq ft Indoor Waterpark other resort amenities include an arcade, dining and entertainment, shopping and so much more! For a family vacation that's a million miles from ordinary, reserve some "KeyLime Time!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keylime Cove Resort And Water Park Hotel Gurnee
Keylime Cove Gurnee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.