We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too loud to sleep but fun waterpark” 3 of 5 stars
Review of KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort

Save Saved
You added KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1700 Nations Drive, Gurnee, IL 60031   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Six Flags Ride and Slide
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Gurnee
GreenLeadersGold level
Gurnee, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Too loud to sleep but fun waterpark”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I stayed in October for my Bday with my mom, sister and oldest son. I wanted a night away from my younger kids to get some sleep. That did not happen some rude people were running up and down hall and playing by elevators, slamming doors and yelling down the hall from midnight to 2am, I called and complained 3x and never saw anybody come tell them to stop! We enjoyed the arcade and water park ofcourse and the resort is pretty and tropical but too expensive. I only went because I had a coupon from my 6flag pass booklet. Request a room no where near the elevators! We also visited the spa for mani/pedis, that was fun and ladies were nice.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear shellerRenee,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. It seems like you enjoyed our tropical décor and activities available within the resort, especially the arcade and waterpark. We are pleased to hear that you had fun in our spa, Paradise Mist, and found our technicians to be very nice. We are very sorry to hear that you were unable to sleep soundly in your overnight room. It is very important to us that our guests enjoy a full night’s sleep without interruptions. All of our policies are taken very seriously, especially our quiet hours. We can assure you that our security and management staff respond immediately to every noise complaint. Thank you again for sharing your comments on our resort. We can only hope that you and your family would consider staying with us again in the future.

Kindest regards,
Your friends at KeyLime Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    455
    205
    79
    47
    46
See reviews for
634
22
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Normal, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Very good time in the water park, especially when you look outside and see the snow!!! You can't say nothing but good things about the staff, very helpful and polite( went above and beyond in our case). Food was great and cost was what you would pay at any resturaunt chain.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Kip M,

Wow, what a splash-tastic review! Thank you for sharing your comments on our resort. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in paradise. It seems like you found the staff that you encountered to be very friendly and helpful. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed dining in our restaurants. It can be much more convenient to dine with us on property rather than drive offsite in winter weather conditions. Thank you again for sharing your feedback. We hope to have you and your family with us in paradise again soon!

Have a FUN-tastic day!
Your friends at KeyLime Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoffman Estates, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We took our son here for his bday and we were very impressed! Very clean and we really felt like we had a mini vacation to the tropical islands! The room and whole facility was super clean. They decorated the outside of our room with balloons and streamers very quickly before we gt there for my sons bday! He was thrilled. Beds were comfortable and room was super clean. The waterpark was tons of fun and very warm in there. The staff was awesome! Everyone there is so helpful and kind. They really go the extra mile to make you feel welcome. The atmosphere is so happy and island like! What a great place for kids! The food and drinks were very, very good! I have not one bad thing to say about Key Lime Cove! Cant wait to go back! My son said he cant wait to go back and its a memory we will never forget.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear rgala20,

Thank you for sharing your splash-tastic comments! We are pleased to hear that you chose our resort to celebrate your son’s birthday. Our number one goal is to exceed the expectations of all of our guests and it appears that we succeeded in doing so with your family. It seems like your son enjoyed our birthday banner and balloons enhancement. It can be a very nice added surprise for the birthday child. We appreciate that you found your overnight room to be very clean and comfortable. Thank you again for sharing your feedback with us. We look forward to your return trip home to paradise!

Have a fun-TUBE-ulous day!
Your friends at KeyLime Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, Illinois
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I loved the water park,, but I'd like to see more water attractions for adults. Or at least divide the kids water games with the adult water games. EXTREMELY slippery, fell and twisted my ankle a few times there. The resteraunt had good food, it was a little confusing at first because there was no explanation on how the food was served. The room was awesome! Very spacious and very cozy. For 2 people, it cost us over $300 to be there for just 1 night. I feel it was a little over priced, at least for just 2 people. I could understand like 4 people, but we just looking for a relaxing night out. The gift shop was also expensive. The spa wasn't even open when we got there, I wanted to check it out. Like I said, if it was less expensive we would definately be going again soon.

Room Tip: BOOK IN ADVANCED! And be prepared to spend lots of $$$
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear redheadedmess,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on our resort. We are pleased to hear that you loved our indoor waterpark, Lost Paradise. There is one attraction, within our waterpark, that’s for adults only and that is our adult’s only hot tub. We are surprised to hear that you slipped in our waterpark as we recently installed brand new non-slip flooring that helps prevent incidents of slips and falls. It seems like you rather enjoyed your overnight room. Based on your room rate, it appears that you stayed in our King Jacuzzi suite. It features one king sized bed and a jacuzzi tub in the room. If you are looking for a discount on a future stay you can always sign up for our email program, Club KeyLime. As for our spa, they are typically open 6-7 days a week. The hours of operation for all of our outlets, including the spa, are given to each guest at check-in. We highly suggest scheduling an appointment for a spa service in advance, as they tend to book up on weekends. Thank you again for sharing your comments on your recent stay with us. We hope to see you within our walls of paradise again soon!

Have a splash-tastic day!
Your friends at KeyLime Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Allis, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Had an awesome time. Hotel was clean and well maintained. Nice rooms. Food was surprisingly good. Crazy Toucan Maragrita Grille was awesome. Service was impeccable. Waterpark was a little on the small side, but probably seemed more so with a busy weekend. Temps in waterpark in spots were on the cool side, you were always having to find the warmer water or air. I think part that was due to the much cooler temps outside.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Michelle H,

Thank you for sharing your FUN-tastic review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in paradise. It seems like you found everything to be very clean and well maintained. We appreciate that you enjoyed dining in our restaurant, The Crazy Toucan Margarita Grill. Thank you again for sharing your feedback. Hope to see you and your family again soon!

Have a splash-tastic day!
Your friends at KeyLime Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammond, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Great service and friendly staff! Very clean! Many dining choices! Will recommend to others! Has great location in Chicagoland area. Short distance from Milwaukee and Indianapolis is only 3 hours away, Michigan is a 2 hour drive. Great short or long trip getaway! There's a lot to do around this location. Six Flags Great America a couple blocks away in the summertime. Huge Gurnee Mills mall, over 200 stores. Could spend the whole day there. Many restaurants to chose from nearby. Also, Rivers Casino and Chicago Outlet mall is only about 30-40 mins away. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Thomsmith23,

Wow, what a splash-tastic review! Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are pleased to hear that you felt our staff was very friendly and helpful during your stay. It seems like you found everything to be very clean. With 7 food outlets on property, it can be very convenient to dine with us onsite rather than driving offsite in the cold winter weather. Hopefully, you took advantage of our free shuttle service that takes guests to and from Gurnee Mills Mall. Thank you for your recommendation of our resort. We are looking forward to your next stay with us in paradise!

Have a fun-TUBE-ulous day!
Your friends at KeyLime Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Everything is so perfectly and excellently done, its a WOW experience, the convienance of not carrying you wallet everywhere just paying through your wristband a great idea, we go there atleast 2 to 3 times every winter, everything is so perfectly done wouldn't want anything to change, it is a perfect WOW experience.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Shekharabhatti,

Thank you for sharing your fun-TUBE-ulous comments! We are pleased to hear that you believe our resort delivers a “wow experience” to our guests. It seems like you thoroughly enjoy our wristband technology. Our wristbands not only act as your room key and gain you entrance into the waterpark but they can be used to make purchases around the resort. Thank you again for your wonderful recommendation of our resort. Looking forward to having you and your family within our walls of paradise again soon!

Have a splash-tastic day!
Your friends at KeyLime Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort

Address: 1700 Nations Drive, Gurnee, IL 60031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gurnee
#1 Business Hotel in Gurnee
#1 Green Hotel in Gurnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KeyLime Cove offers something for everyone at its all thrills, no chills indoor oasis. The Key West inspired resort is a perfect getaway that’s within an hour drive from Chicago or Milwaukee. Relax in a resort-style suite or guest room, or rejuvenate at Paradise Mist Spa. Featuring a 65,000 sq ft Indoor Waterpark other resort amenities include an arcade, dining and entertainment, shopping and so much more! For a family vacation that's a million miles from ordinary, reserve some "KeyLime Time!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keylime Cove Resort And Water Park Hotel Gurnee
Keylime Cove Gurnee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.