We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience, prefect family vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort

Save Saved
You added KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1700 Nations Drive, Gurnee, IL 60031   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Six Flags Ride and Slide
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Gurnee
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oswego, Illinois
1 review
“Excellent experience, prefect family vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Everything is so perfectly and excellently done, its a WOW experience, the convienance of not carrying you wallet everywhere just paying through your wristband a great idea, we go there atleast 2 to 3 times every winter, everything is so perfectly done wouldn't want anything to change, it is a perfect WOW experience.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Shekharabhatti,

Thank you for sharing your fun-TUBE-ulous comments! We are pleased to hear that you believe our resort delivers a “wow experience” to our guests. It seems like you thoroughly enjoy our wristband technology. Our wristbands not only act as your room key and gain you entrance into the waterpark but they can be used to make purchases around the resort. Thank you again for your wonderful recommendation of our resort. Looking forward to having you and your family within our walls of paradise again soon!

Have a splash-tastic day!
Your friends at KeyLime Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    485
    214
    85
    49
    47
See reviews for
664
23
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I went with a group of teen aged girls (30+) and didn't really like it. The room was clean but the pull out sofa bed was a joke. There was no sheet to cover the mattress. All I had was a flat sheet and a blanket. The security knocked on our door to tell us we were too loud. There were 5 girls and myself in the room laughing. We weren't having a party. They gave our group a hard time. It is a waterpark with kids around. You cannot be completely silent. We were in our room laughing and talking.
The floor right outside the waterpark was so slippery. As my friends and I sat waiting for our daughters, we saw at least 20 people slip and fall on the wet floor. Yes there are signs saying the floor is slippery, however a plastic runner of some kind should be placed on the ground. Upon leaving, it had snowed the night before and the walkway wasn't shoveled. It was very icey and snowy and I figured that it would have been nice to have the walkway cleared.We decided to walk to our car in the street. It was a disappoing trip and I wouldn't recommend going.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Molly1429,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on our resort. We are sorry to hear that your group didn’t enjoy your stay with us. We do store extra pillows and blankets in the dresser drawers in all of the overnight rooms but if you are ever in need of more, please feel free to call our front desk and they will send someone from housekeeping up right away. As for our security team, they strictly enforce the quiet hours on all floors. If the front desk receives a call from a guest that the neighboring room to them is rather noisy, the security team will respond right away. The safety of our guests is very important to us. If you ever see a particular area in need of attention, such as a puddle on the floor or a snow-covered passageway, please inform a crewmember right way. They will contact someone to tend to the issue immediately. We strive to exceed the expectations of all of our guests and it seems that we failed to do so with your party. Thank you again for sharing your comments. We can only hope that you and your group would consider staying with us again in the future.

Kindest regards,
Your friends at KeyLime Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Keylime Cove has a wonderful indoor waterpark. Especially considering how inexpensive it was, I was really impressed with the size and all the slides. Even on a Saturday, lines for the slides were almost nonexistent.

The rooms are also nice and big in the hotel. My only complaint is that the walls are very thin and it's a pretty loud hotel with all the kids running around.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Cassie T,

Thank you for sharing your splash-tastic comments on our resort! We are happy to hear that you were very impressed with our indoor waterpark, Lost Paradise. It also seems like you found your overnight room to be the perfect size for your family. Please feel free to contact the front desk if you ever feel the hallways or neighboring rooms are a little noisy. The agent will send someone up right away to address the issue. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We hope to have you and your family within our walls of paradise again soon!

Have a fun-TUBE-ulous day!
Your friends at KeyLime Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

The keylime cove is Excellent

This hotel is very nice and my kids loved so much and it is very clean and for the rooms it is wonderful and the service excellent he was a first class hotel and restaurant very nice and breakfast was wonderful I wish I can visit the hotel a second time This is the third time I this hotel and will visit him many times because it is really beautiful and wonderful

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear ronialbazi,

Thank you for sharing your fun-tastic review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoy staying with us in paradise. It seems like you find everything to be very clean and our staff to be friendly. We appreciate that you found our buffet breakfast to be wonderful. Thank you again for your recommendation of our resort. Looking forward to seeing you and your family again soon!

Have a splash-tastic day!
Your friends at KeyLime Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

My son had a basketball tournament in the area, so his club recommended KeyLime Cove for a club pizza night and overnight stay. Kids had a wonderful time in the waterpark. Parents had several comfortable locations to chat and have drinks or sit within the waterpark to keep a watch on kids. Resort was clean. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Room rates were very reasonable. Great place for a big group.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear urlaubannarbor,

Thank you for sharing your splash-tastic comments! We are thrilled to hear that the children in your group had fun splishin’ and splashin’ around our indoor waterpark, Lost Paradise. It seems like you and the other parents enjoyed relaxing in our beach chairs with key-licious drinks. We appreciate that you found everything to be very clean and the overnight rooms to be comfortable. Thank you again for sharing your feedback. Hope to see you again soon!

Have a fun-tastic day!
Your friends at KeyLime Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I stayed at Key Lime Cove with my husband and two daughters (ages 4 and 6) at the end of January. With the awful winter weather, we truly needed this getaway!

I'm a girl on budget so here are two things we did to make the trip less expensive:

- Stayed Friday night. I was able to take a half-day off work Friday and we live 90 minutes from the hotel so we were able to be at the hotel early (By around 2:45) AND the room was $50 cheaper than a Saturday night stay. For anyone who has this option and has little ones, I'd recommend an early arrival Friday. There were no lines for slides, the pools were very calm and perfect for our young daughters. Our kids were done swimming by 6:00 which is the time more people were really starting to arrive.

- Ate off-site. We had a gift card to a nearby restaurant from Christmas that we used for a late lunch/early dinner Friday before we arrived. Then, we packed snacks for after the pool and had dessert on-site at the ice-cream parlor which the kids loved. We also packed cereal for the morning and sandwich stuff - every room has a mini-fridge so it's perfect for eating in your room. I'm sure sometime in the future we'll eat at the hotel, but this trip was spur-of-the-moment and we had to make the most out of a limited budget.

Our girls had a blast in the waterpark, at the kids area and in the arcade. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Even though our room was farther down on the Key Largo side, being right near an exit meant we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear jillystar5,

Thank you for sharing your fun-tube-ulous review! We are pleased to hear that you chose to stay our resort to escape the harsh winter weather. It seems like you found our property to be a relatively easy drive from Chicago. Our location is about halfway in between Chicago and Milwaukee. As for the occupancy level, we do tend to be a bit slower during the week than on the weekends. With 7 different food outlets on property, it can be very convenient to dine with us in house rather than drive offsite in the winter. Guests are welcome to bring their own food to be consumed in their overnight rooms. There are refrigerators in every room and microwaves in every suite and on every floor by the vending machines. If you haven’t already, make sure to sign up for Club KeyLime to receive emails about once a month with specials to KeyLime Cove for your next stay. Thank you again for your recommendation of our resort. Looking forward to your next family getaway with us!

Have a splash-tastic day!
Your friends at KeyLime Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We take our children and Grand children to Key Lime Cove and think this place is Fantastic! We enjoy everything it has to offer, water, amusements, food and the comfortable rooms. Always clean and well maintained. Entire staff at the hotel, restaurants and Lifeguards have always been friendly and courteous. Much closer than the WI Dells and not as expensive!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Bob M,

Thank you for sharing your fun-tube-ulous feedback! We are thrilled to hear that you, your children and your grandchildren enjoy staying with us in paradise. It seems like you are a big fan of all of our amenities including our indoor waterpark, arts and crafts activity center, arcade and food outlets. We are pleased to hear that found our overnight rooms to be very comfortable. It appears that you’ve always found our staff to be very friendly during your visits. Thank you again for sharing your comments. Looking forward to seeing you and your family again soon!

Have a splash-tastic day!
Your friends at KeyLime Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort

Address: 1700 Nations Drive, Gurnee, IL 60031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gurnee
#1 Family Hotel in Gurnee
#1 Business Hotel in Gurnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KeyLime Cove offers something for everyone at its all thrills, no chills indoor oasis. The Key West inspired resort is a perfect getaway that’s within an hour drive from Chicago or Milwaukee. Relax in a resort-style suite or guest room, or rejuvenate at Paradise Mist Spa. Featuring a 65,000 sq ft Indoor Waterpark other resort amenities include an arcade, dining and entertainment, shopping and so much more! For a family vacation that's a million miles from ordinary, reserve some "KeyLime Time!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keylime Cove Resort And Water Park Hotel Gurnee
Keylime Cove Gurnee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.