We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort to your Saves list
KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1700 Nations Drive, Gurnee, IL 60031   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Gurnee
GreenLeadersSilver level
Muskego
1 review
“Great family time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at Keylime cove! From the minute we checked in, staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were spacious and very clean. Waterpark was fun and had plenty of lifeguards and very well maintained. Again, staff was curteous. There was a nice selection of food options and activities to do. We hope to check out the spa next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Michelle G,
Thank you for sharing you FUN-tastic comments! We are so happy to hear that you had such a wonderful time staying with us in paradise. It seems like you found the staff members you encountered to be very friendly and helpful. Our entire staff strives to make every guest feel welcomed from the moment they arrive to the second they leave. We appreciate that you found your overnight to be very clean and spacious. It appears that you and your family enjoyed our waterpark, Lost Paradise, and the many food options on property. Thank you again for sharing your feedback. Looking forward to your next stay with us in paradise!
Have a splash-tastic day!
Your friends at KeyLime Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    233
    89
    54
    49
See reviews for
698
26
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We visited this resort for our son's 2nd birthday. He loves water so we thought it would be perfect. There were things he couldn't do because of his age but there were so many other things he could do it didn't matter. Our room was super clean and pretty spacious for just a regular old room. The water park is huge and is kept very warm so the water felt great. It was packed and we still felt like we had plenty of room to be comfortable and have fun. All of the food we ate was great but definitely on the pricier side. Everyone who helped us was very friendly and seemed genuinely happy to be working there. We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Raelyn922,
Thank you for sharing your splash-tastic feedback! We are so happy that you chose to celebrate your son’s second birthday with us in paradise. It seems like he enjoyed the many activities we have for toddlers. We are pleased to hear that you found your overnight room to be very clean and spacious. As for the temperature in our waterpark, we keep it a warm 84 degrees all year round. It appears that you found our staff to be friendly. We strive to make each and every guest feel welcomed from the moment they arrive to the second they leave. Thank you again for sharing your comments. Looking forward to your next stay with us!
Have a fun-TUBE-ulous day!
Your friends at KeyLime Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Villa, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I would like to acknowledge some 'amazing' staff at this facility! Words on Wheels (a new nonprofit) had our 1st fundraising breakfast Oct. 8th! The service experience from beginning to end was outstanding... Elizabeth Porter (Director of Catering), Ashley Gordon (Sales and Catering Assistant), Jake Kitzerow (Banquet Manager), Roger, Chris, & every one of the service providers were so helpful, going above & beyond in little and big ways! We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Beth R,

Wow, what a FUN-tastic review! Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We are so honored that you chose to host your 1st Words on Wheels Fundraiser event in our banquet space! Beginning to end, it seems like you really appreciated the service you received from our staff. We are looking forward to your next event with us in paradise!

Have a splash-tastic day!
Your friends at KeyLime Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed the weekend at Key Lime Cove and it was an excellent experience! You are first greeted at the door with free food samples and lively music. Very friendly staff and the water park is very cool! The breakfast buffet has a fantastic variety of food. The other restaurants have great service and food too. Will stay again and definitely recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Jan C,

Thank you for sharing your SPLASH-tastic comments! We are so pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. It seems like you were very satisfied with the taste of the food in our restaurants. We are happy to hear that you found our staff that you encountered to be very friendly. Thank you for your recommendation of our resort. We are looking forward to your next stay with us in paradise!

Have a fun-TUBE-ulous day!
Your friends at KeyLime Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Best vacation I have had in awhile.!!! the staff was pretty cool and the rooms were very nice. The kids really enjoyed theirselves and the game room was a very nice size. price was good and I upgraded to the mangrove suite. very nice

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear kinggeorge882,

Thank you for sharing your splash-tastic comments on our resort! We are thrilled to hear that you and your family had the best vacation you’ve had in a while staying with us in paradise. It seems like you really enjoyed your overnight room, our One-Bedroom Mangrove Suite. We hope to see you again soon!

Have a FUN-tastic day!
Your friends at KeyLime Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Our family decided to stay at Key Lime while visiting Great Lakes. The place is amazing! It is like a cruise ship on land except meals and such are not included. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were exactly as shown on the website. The kids LOVED the water park! My only complaints were 1. The food on site was a bit pricey but that is to be expected with a resort type atmosphere. 2. You cannot opt out of the water park. Most adults probably don't care but we had a few that couldn't be in the water and their room price included it anyway, so I felt that took away from the value rating. Overall if you are looking for a fun, family friendly place and don't want to go out for meals, this is the right place to go. We definitely have it on our list of favorites!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear familyvaca4,

Thank you for sharing your fun-tastic comments on our resort! We are so honored that you have added our resort to your list of favorite family getaways. It appears that you thoroughly enjoyed the tropical décor and found our staff to be very friendly. It seems like the Lil’ Limers had a blast splashin’ around in the waterpark. Thank you again for sharing your feedback. Hope to see you again soon!

Have a splash-tastic day!
Your friends at KeyLime Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Everything here was excellent, from the front desk check-in people, to the waitstaff at restaurants to the counter manager at the arcade. My only tiny complaint (because I did not do too much research on the layout) was that they do not advertise the places where you can get meals with details. Had I known there was a breakfast buffet (which was delicious and reasonably priced) I would not have bought donuts, coffee, yogurt from the lobby stand on our first morning. Also, for those of you with kids looking for late night snacks... who isn't hungry after playing all day on the waterslides... the chicken tenders were great, the pizza not so much. It was ok for the kids, but really not a tasty meal for adults, so skip the large family deal. Lastly if you have kids who like to play the video games in the arcade, opt for the unlimited 2 hr video game deal for $10 or the all day unlimited for $20 - it is worth it. Overall we had a great trip, kids had lots of fun and it was a nice, clean, friendly-staffed hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Amber M,

Thank you for sharing your SPLASH-tastic comments on our resort! We are very pleased to hear that you found our staff to be very friendly and helpful. We sincerely apologize if you were unaware of our breakfast buffet your first morning staying with us in paradise. Our breakfast buffet is listed in our resort brochure (or Passport) under “Family Dining” that you receive at check-in. It seems like our arcade, RipTide Reef, was a big hit with your family. Thank you again for sharing you feedback. We hope to see you and your Lil’ Limers within our walls of paradise again soon!

Have a fun-TUBE-ulous day!
Your friends at KeyLime Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort

Address: 1700 Nations Drive, Gurnee, IL 60031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Gurnee
#1 Green Hotel in Gurnee
#2 Family Hotel in Gurnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KeyLime Cove offers something for everyone at its all thrills, no chills indoor oasis. The Key West inspired resort is a perfect getaway that’s within an hour drive from Chicago or Milwaukee. Relax in a resort-style suite or guest room, or rejuvenate at Paradise Mist Spa. Featuring a 65,000 sq ft Indoor Waterpark other resort amenities include an arcade, dining and entertainment, shopping and so much more! For a family vacation that's a million miles from ordinary, reserve some "KeyLime Time!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keylime Cove Resort And Water Park Hotel Gurnee
Keylime Cove Gurnee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.