We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for short getaway north of Chicago” 4 of 5 stars
Review of KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort to your Saves list
KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1700 Nations Drive, Gurnee, IL 60031   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Gurnee
GreenLeadersSilver level
Plainfield, IL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great for short getaway north of Chicago”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for two nights, which was perfect. The hotel has improved greatly with its check-in process. It was much quicker than previous times we had visited. The water park is small compared to those in the Dells, but the benefit of that is that older kids can go off on their own and you can easily find them. Lifeguards were very diligent in doing their job. Food was just okay. Rooms are really large and have a small refrigerator, which was great. There is an additional $15 per person, per day beyond two people in a room in order to use the water park. This gets expensive and may inhibit us from returning, as the rooms are not cheap. Only problem was we did not get our coupon books when we checked in and did not realize it until we were leaving. I shared this with the manager when we were leaving and she said she would give us a credit. That has never happened. Other than that it was a good stay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slumi, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Dear Plainfieldmom,
Thank you for choosing KeyLime Cove for your family getaway! We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with future guests.
Our Front Desk crew has worked hard to improve the check-in process and we are thrilled that you noticed the difference during this stay. We are always thrilled when guests enjoy the excitement of the 65,000 square foot waterpark while still feeling connected with each other.
Join Club KeyLime for our absolute best deals!
Thank you for giving KeyLime Cove the opportunity to accommodate you and your family and hope to see you in the FUN-SHINE again soon!
Have a splash-tastic day!
Your friends at KeyLime Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    233
    90
    54
    49
See reviews for
699
26
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

It was not the best. We got their a little after 1 and we stood in line and we got to the front desk. They told us to come back at 4. On the website it says check in at 1 so we came. We finally got are room around 3 in the afternoon! We were all the way at the end on the 3rd floor, a bit of walking to the elevator.They should have a elevator towards the end of the hallway. The rooms were not the best. The water park is geared more toward littler kids. It looked ALOT nicer on there webpage. Food was not the best, took a long time to get it. All in all I would not come back again.

Room Tip: Don't let them give you a room towards the end of the hall. It was a long walk. If your going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slumi, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear Carole D,
We are sorry that we did not give you a splash-tastic first impression of our beach within reach. We truly hope that you and your family visit us again.
Our check-in time is 4pm, however we invite guests to enjoy the waterpark as early as 1pm. We apologize for any inconvenience but are happy to hear that our Front Desk crew got you checked into your room by 3pm. We hope that you enjoyed the waterpark and the rest of the resort destinations until then.
Thank you for giving KeyLime Cove the opportunity to accommodate you and your family and we do hope that you will consider us again in the future.
Kindest regards,
Your friends at KeyLime Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012 via mobile

Rooms Nice but were not serviced, had to keep asking for clean towels and coffee. Water park was great but also needed to be serviced more often. Tables were dirty and garbages were overflowing. Would stay again because my family loved the variety of things to do.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slumi, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear Rich-family 219,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are happy that you and your family had a great experience and plan to stay with us again.
We truly appreciate guest comments as they give us an opportunity to improve. Your feedback will be passed on to our Management Team to review and rectify these issues as quickly as possible.
Thank you for giving KeyLime Cove the opportunity to accommodate you and your family and hope to see you in the FUN-SHINE again soon!
Have a splash-tastic day!
Your friends at KeyLime Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

This was our second trip to Key Lime Cove. I think it's the best water park we've visited thus far, and we will definitely go back. The lifeguards are VERY responsible and are constantly looking at potentially blind spots. When one little girl was separated from her parents, I watched as they used their well-practiced routine to locate the parents. Impressive. Rooms were wonderful, spatious and very clean. Staff was very helpful and very attentive. Lots of activities for kids of all ages. Our boys are 5 and 3 and they had plenty of things to keep them busy--in the water park and in the hotel. We loved having a fridge in the room. The wristband room key is a great idea. I would highly recommend bringing a life jacket or using one of theirs--just for peace of mind. Our kids are already begging to go back, which we will.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slumi, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear Jan L,
Thanks for that tube-ular review! And for returning to visit us at KeyLime Cove. We love hearing that guests come back to see us.
It truly means a lot to all of us at KeyLime Cove when you notice our waterpark safety, cleanliness and customer service. We are so happy that we impressed you and we continue to strive to wow all of our guests.
Thank you for giving KeyLime Cove the opportunity to accommodate you and your family and hope to see you in the FUN-SHINE again soon!
Have a splash-tastic day!
Your friends at KeyLime Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I was a bit worried about the crowds, seeing we went during spring break 4/3-4/4/12. But, it turned out much nicer and less crowded than I thought it would be. We arrived around 1:00 pm, and waited in line for check in about 10 minutes. We registered and received our wristbands, and were told they would call us as soon as the rooms were ready. The room was ready by 3pm. We were able to purchase a locker ($6 for the whole day) and found a table right away to put our towels and shoes. The lines for the slides were not long at all during the whole day, there wasnt more than 10 people ahead of us for the "bowl slide" and the other slides had even less people and were very quick. There were times that we did have to wait a few minutes to find a clear tube for the lazy river, but the wait wasnt bad at all.
Water temperture was warm, a bit cooler in the kids play erea.
The arcade was pretty empty thruout the day, so the kids enjoyed a break from the water and went to the arcade. For a late lunch, 4pm, we went to the food court. There was only 1 person working on taking orders and getting the food together, so although there was only one person ahead of us, we waited 10 minutes to order, and then 15 minutes to get our food. The food was just ok. I wouldnt go back for it tho, the sub and pizza were less than average. For dinner, we went to the front desk and they gave us a couple of order out menus, We ordered pizza from Giordanos. That pizza was awesome.
We finished up our swimming around 9pm, and went for ice cream. There were 3 people working behind the counter, but again, we waited a good 20 minutes. I ordered coffee for myself, but after the girls chatted a bit, they figured out they were out of coffee. We found a seat, and an employee, Ed, came over and offered to run upstairs to get me a cup of coffee. A couple minutes later he brought me a cup of coffe with cream and sugar! I was very happy, thanks Ed!
The room was clean and everthing worked, Tv, small fridge, coffe pot. All good.
One more note, is that me and my husband both purchased an adult beverage insde the pool area, and we had no problems. But as we headed up to the rooms at the end of the night, and he tried to purchase a beer from the food court, after waiting in line for 15 minutes, he was asked for ID. We are both in our mid 40's, and didnt think we had to carry our wallets and purses with us and that is why they give you those wristbands, so u dont have to carry that stuff with you.
All in all, it was a very nice trip. Plenty of lifeguard on staff, and they were all attentive. Staff throughout the location was pretty friendly. We would definately go back, but when the room rates are lower.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slumi, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Dear ChiGirl777,
Thank you very much for choosing to visit KeyLime Cove for your Spring Break getaway and for taking the time to share your awesome feedback.
It sounds like our Front Desk was able to get you into the waterpark and your room earlier than our 4pm check-in. Fun-tastic! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in the waterpark and playing games in RipTide Reef Arcade.
We apologize for any inconveniences when ordering your food and beverages. Your comments will be passed on to our Food and Beverage Team.
Thank you for giving KeyLime Cove the opportunity to accommodate you and your family and hope to see you in the FUN-SHINE again soon!
Have a splash-tastic day!
Your friends at KeyLime Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012 via mobile

Pros: Really nice decor in the lobby area. Water park has a small wave pool, 5 slides, and a lazy river. Wrist band acts as your room key and can be use for room purchases. Large clean rooms with nice decor. A giant arcade with lots of options. Friendly staff.
Cons: staff is overwhelmed at front desk, slides, food areas, and especially the Spa (waited 30 minutes after my appointment time with no apology from Wendy). For the money you are dropping at the spa you would think it would be better organized. Watch your billing as they made several mistakes on mine and the person before me in line. I had to show them my confirmation email to prove my rate as the wanted to charge me more.
Overall: Would recommend if price is right (it varies per customer) but expect waits and be alert on their billing and policies (resort fee, charge before check out, charge extra for incidentals as a hold, etc).

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slumi, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Dear Jsilva12,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us after your stay. Your comments, both pros and cons, will be passed on to our Management Team. We do encourage you to voice your concerns to our staff during your stay because they have been trained to address and rectify your concerns in a timely fashion.
Thank you for giving KeyLime Cove the opportunity to accommodate you and your family and hope to see you in the FUN-SHINE again soon!
Have a splash-tastic day!
Your friends at KeyLime Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Lake Beach, Illinois, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

This is a great hotel with plenty of stuff for the kids to do and you have to love the water park. The place is a little pricey but very much worth it. I cant wait to go back again sometime soon!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slumi, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Dear Emily K,
Thanks for visiting us at KeyLime Cove. We can’t wait until your next visit either! Remember to visit keylimecove.com and join Club KeyLime for our best deals.
Thank you for giving KeyLime Cove the opportunity to accommodate you and your family and hope to see you in the FUN-SHINE again soon!
Have a splash-tastic day!
Your friends at KeyLime Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort

Address: 1700 Nations Drive, Gurnee, IL 60031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Gurnee
#1 Green Hotel in Gurnee
#2 Family Hotel in Gurnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KeyLime Cove offers something for everyone at its all thrills, no chills indoor oasis. The Key West inspired resort is a perfect getaway that’s within an hour drive from Chicago or Milwaukee. Relax in a resort-style suite or guest room, or rejuvenate at Paradise Mist Spa. Featuring a 65,000 sq ft Indoor Waterpark other resort amenities include an arcade, dining and entertainment, shopping and so much more! For a family vacation that's a million miles from ordinary, reserve some "KeyLime Time!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keylime Cove Resort And Water Park Hotel Gurnee
Keylime Cove Gurnee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.