We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Days of Fun...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort

Save Saved
You added KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1700 Nations Drive, Gurnee, IL 60031   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Six Flags Ride and Slide
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Gurnee
Wilmette, Illinois, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“2 Days of Fun...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

We had a 4 day wkend from school & with no travel plans I decided to take my son & two friends for just a great day in the water! We arrived by 2pm into the water park by 2:20... and stayed until 9:pm....changed and spent 2 hours in the arcade...it was great fun! And the late night(for 8 & 11 yrs olds)made so much easier by for a small fee we could keep our room until 5:pm....was great, we were all worn out & ready to leave! Great food choices, really fun for the kids(I'd take another adult with Me Next time!) and well worth the $$$$ spent!! Plus EVERYONE at KeyLime Cove just worked for You & Your kids to have a GREAT Time! We're already planning a 12th Bday Party in June!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    451
    203
    77
    46
    43
See reviews for
629
21
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wheaton, Illinois
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

We decided to head out this past weekend for just a one-night stay for our 4, 12, and 14 yr-old kids. We had previously visited this hotel about 2 years ago and to be honest, I don't remember it being as positive last time; it wasn't terrible back then, just had a few issues that marred the experience. This time however, customer service reigned! Every store clerk, waitress, lifeguard-you name it and they each delivered fabulous upscale service. Also, since our last visit was some time ago, I almost expected to see, you know, wear and tear, dirty carpets, etc after all, this not a new hotel or anything and a waterpark hotel CAN get pretty abused! But, our room looked like a brand-new hotel room. Perfectly-painted walls and new carpet and I have to say, I just loved the bright tropical theme and decor. The main floor of the hotel-with the stores and tropical theme is just great; you really feel like you've been transported to a tropical location! If you have younger kids, I think that portion of the waterpark is perfect for those 1-4 years old; very shallow water area and 2 very mild slides and one pretty fast one perfect for the 3-6(?) yr-olds. You could easily "catch" the little ones as they came down, but the water was only 2 feet deep so a great fast slide for the "older" little ones who aren't ready for the big league slides. There's also a decent sized wave pool and lazy river which makes the oldernkids happy and there's a free-form area pool which my 14 yr-old took advantage of the basketball water hoops the whole time. There's body slides and tubes for the wave pool and other rides. It took us just over an hour to get to this hotel-and while it is no "Wilderness/Wis.Dells" in size or waterpark amenities, it was a fabulous quick get-away-surprise-for-the-kids-have-a-break stay. I thought the food was good, fairly-priced and also, the stores/gift shops not priced terribly (I mean I have seen much worse "hotel-gouging" when it comes to buying a trinket or a bag of pretzels). They did have some cute activities planned during our stay ( decorate your own cookie, make reindeer food, tea party-all included in the stay) but our stay was so short we just focused on the watermark! We will not hesitate to go again. My only complaint? They no longer have the Keurig "K-Cup" coffee makers in the rooms. (they do have regular coffee makers) This hotel two years ago is where I tried this coffee/coffee maker and became a K-Cup believer-and addict. I was so looking forward to having this coffee in the room. Please bring these back Key Lime Cove!

Room Tip: Rooms have 2 queen beds and sleeper sofa-enough room for 5 people; you cannot keep the fan on in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Had a great experience at Key Lime Cove a few weeks ago! Definitely would go back.... Staff was upbeat, very personable!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

From the very first phone call to inquire about possibly booking, to arrival and all the way through to check out this resort exceeded all of our expectations! My background is in hotel management (now retired) so I tend to be a little critical. All I can say is that if I had a business I would want this entire staff working for me! Where do they find so many great employees and how great the management must be. First of all in hiring the right people - not just taking any applicant that walks through the door then to properly train and finally to empower all employees to make decisions that leave every guest saying WOW! I have traveled all over the U.S. and Key Lime Cove is definately my #1 choice for all future vacations, family reunions etc. It has something for everyone of every age. I am on a very limited budget so I have to watch every penny and choosing Key Lime Cove was by far the best choice and my only choice for future vacations. You can't get tired or bored there is something new to do all the time. There are things that we missed because two days weren't enough! We already have a list of things to do on our next trip there - We'll be back. Special Thanks to Barry, Sarah, Nate, Sophia, Barbara, oh gees the list goes on...like I said the entire staff at Key Lime Cove - keep up the great job! One final note, in my years of hotel management in doing employee reviews no one ever received a perfect score because there is always room for growth or improvement. However, I give KLC A PERFECT SCORE as I can't find one negative thing to say : )

Room Tip: The Captain Daves Presidental Suite best value
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Just before Thanksgiving our family spent two days at KeyLime Cove. We can't say enough good things. Everyone staff member we met greeted us, everyone was friendly and attentive. A real welcoming feel. Facility was clean, rooms were comfy, lifeguards very watchful of everyone's safety, dinner in the Crazy Toucan was a good value with nice food presentation. A variety of restaurants with a good value for the price range. There were 11 of us and we had a wide age range of family members (young to great grandmother) and there was something for everyone to do. Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Very impressed by the staff. I would love to meet the management of this find waterpark....they run a top-notch show. Fortune 100 could learn a lot off of the management of Keylime Cove. All staff members were very mannerly, professional, and courteous. The place was very clean. I took three girls (ages 10, 6, and 6) and we all had a blast. Waterpark had a great selection of slides, the "Bowl", water playground, lazy river, wave pool, hot tub, kiddie play pool, and a basketball pool. The life guards are the best I've ever seen (this is coming from a public pool manager). Food and drink prices were reasonable. The only shortcoming I could manage to conjure up (after a lot of effort) was there wasn't a place to swim...you either were getting off a slide or had to have a tube to be in the water. Rate it 5 stars.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

This place never gets old!! We go at least twice a year, just to get away for the weekend and it always excites us to be there. The water park is amazing and SAFE. The life guards are attentive, friendly and helpful. The facilites are clean and the restaurants have a variety of food to select from at reasonable prices. The amazing, comfortable and tropical rooms will make you feel like you are in the Bajamas!!! If you want to get away this is the place to go and have a good memorable time with the family!!

Room Tip: Connecting rooms are more spacious and you have more privacy when traveling with others
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort

Address: 1700 Nations Drive, Gurnee, IL 60031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gurnee
#1 Business Hotel in Gurnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KeyLime Cove offers something for everyone at its all thrills, no chills indoor oasis. The Key West inspired resort is a perfect getaway that’s within an hour drive from Chicago or Milwaukee. Relax in a resort-style suite or guest room, or rejuvenate at Paradise Mist Spa. Featuring a 65,000 sq ft Indoor Waterpark other resort amenities include an arcade, dining and entertainment, shopping and so much more! For a family vacation that's a million miles from ordinary, reserve some "KeyLime Time!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Tingo, Orbitz, Venere and Otel so you can book your KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keylime Cove Resort And Water Park Hotel Gurnee
Keylime Cove Gurnee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.