We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Get Away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort

Save Saved
You added KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1700 Nations Drive, Gurnee, IL 60031   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Six Flags Ride and Slide
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Gurnee
GreenLeadersSilver level
Arlington Heights, Illinois
1 review
“Family Get Away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

My 7 year old daughter and I wanted to get away for the night so we decided upon keylime cove. The establishment is beautiful and the staff was exceptional especially your front desk receptionist Lisa. She made my stay very enjoyable and relaxing.

Thank You Keylime Cove!! We will most defintley be coming back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    478
    213
    83
    49
    47
See reviews for
656
23
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

I was really pleased with the extra activities they had for the kids. Everyone was so nice and polite the room was imaculate. There is nothing negative I have to say about our visit except didnt want to leave .

Room Tip: i stayed in the room with the double queen sized beds it was more than enough sleeping space
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan City, Indiana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

My family recently stayed here for our second time for 2 nights. I would have to say overall we enjoyed our stay. I don't get why there are so many bad reviews. It actually isn't that bad considering we have stayed at much more fancier hotels in the past. The theme is really nice. Lots of colors and decorations everywhere you look. The rooms are fairly decent. Didn't have any bed bug problems or dirty room issues. The game room was also pretty neat. We did like how you use a credit card type system by loading points onto a card instead of lugging around tokens to every game. Most of the good prizes would require several hundred dollars in tickets though. The water park was the best part. It isn't the biggest and best indoor water part, but it is pretty good. I did notice some of the things in the water park were not working properly, such as some of the hoses on the tower where you spray people. You can tell some of the things in the park are already showing some age even though it is not old. Hopefully they can keep up with things before things start going downhill. There are 5 big slides you can choose from. And I think 3 smaller ones. None of the pools go over 5 feet also. So if you like diving into a deep pool. Then you wont find one here. Some of the life guards could also be a little nicer too. I got yelled at for dumping water on people when it is supposed to be dumped on people. That's the whole purpose of the water tower.

Overall Keylime Cove is a pretty nice place to stay if you just want to get out and try something different. It's not that bad as some people say. Of course prices are going to be high, and of course not everything will be perfect. It was good for our stay though. I would come again! And we hope to come again soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I took my family on a vacation to Six Flags and decided to stay at KeyLime Cove Resort. It was the best choice I have ever made in terms of a fun, family-oriented, hotel. Upon our arrival, we were greeted by two gentlmen at the front door who helped us get our bags out of our vehicle and gave us directions to the front desk and where I could park our vehicle. Once at the front desk, we were warmly greeted and quickly setup with our room. Our hotel room was very clean, very nice, and well decorated. We then went on a little family hotel tour and were amazed at all of the great things KeyLime Cove offered. This includes a full sized indoor waterpark, with slides, wave pool, water river, etc. We also found several restaurants, shops, and even an arcade. The waterpark was a lot of fun and we spent one whole day enjoying it. When it was time to eat we could walk out the door and we had several choices of restaurants to choose from from pizza, to hot dogs and hamburgers, ice cream, seafood, pasta, etc. My kids also enjoyed the huge arcade that features video games, basketball, table hockey, pinball, etc. The location was fantastic as it was right across the street from Six Flags Great America, shops, restaurants, and just about anything you would want. The hotel offers a shuttle that takes you to Six Flags and picks you up. Parking at the park costs $20 a day so this was an extremely wonderful deal.
I truly liked/loved everything about KeyLime Cove from the room, to the waterpark, the shops and restaurants, but most of all the wonderful people who work there. They answered our questions, and we had a lot of them as my daughter has a peanut allergy and we have to check out any food she eats. The managers at all of the restaurants were very helpful and knowedgable about their menu.
Thething I liked least was we had to leave. My kids loved it and it is a great place for a family to stay and enjoy!

Room Tip: Rooms are very clean. You will be givena bracelet that opens up your hotel door and gets you into th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We went to Gurnee to spend Saturday and Sunday at Six Flags, and booked a room for the night at Key Lime Cove. We thought the price was very reasonable considering that we got all day access to the resort and water park on both Saturday and Sunday, even before and after check-out. We also liked the free shuttle bus to Six Flags, since that saved us $40 in parking. The rooms were nice and clean and attractively decorated. Considering all of the activity there, it was pretty quiet in the room area. The kids loved the water park, there was enough for them to do at their ages (11 and 17). We ate dinner at the Crazy Toucan restaurant inside the resort and liked it quite well, and we enjoyed the fact that you could pay for everything with a swipe of your wristband (no cash req'd). We all enjoyed the arcade and seemed to get quite a lot of play for the $20 card we bought. There were also some nice shops and snack bars throughout the resort. All of the employees were very nice. I am sure that we will try to make it back again sometime.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We decided to visit Six Flags Great America and had received a recommendation for KeyLime Cove from a relative. All in all, a workable choice. The shuttle to Six Flags is very convenient, runs on time and frequently (max. wait 10 minutes). The water park is great for 4-9 year olds, older than that? Forget it. Rooms (we stayed in Pres. Suite) were what you would expect for the money, although could have been cleaner. Housekeeping staff quickly rectified the problems. Food was definately the low point....yuk!!!! Terrible breakfast, lowest quality I have had in years.

In sum, fine place to springboard into Six Flags, no other reason to stay there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011 via mobile

The rooms were very Clean, no smells of moisture. The restaurants were delicious and well worth the cost. The service was super. The arcade was loads of fun!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort

Address: 1700 Nations Drive, Gurnee, IL 60031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gurnee
#1 Green Hotel in Gurnee
#1 Business Hotel in Gurnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KeyLime Cove offers something for everyone at its all thrills, no chills indoor oasis. The Key West inspired resort is a perfect getaway that’s within an hour drive from Chicago or Milwaukee. Relax in a resort-style suite or guest room, or rejuvenate at Paradise Mist Spa. Featuring a 65,000 sq ft Indoor Waterpark other resort amenities include an arcade, dining and entertainment, shopping and so much more! For a family vacation that's a million miles from ordinary, reserve some "KeyLime Time!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Tingo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Venere and Otel so you can book your KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keylime Cove Resort And Water Park Hotel Gurnee
Keylime Cove Gurnee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.