We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was an amazing vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort

Save Saved
You added KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1700 Nations Drive, Gurnee, IL 60031   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Six Flags Ride and Slide
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Gurnee
GreenLeadersSilver level
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
“It was an amazing vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I took my family on a vacation to Six Flags and decided to stay at KeyLime Cove Resort. It was the best choice I have ever made in terms of a fun, family-oriented, hotel. Upon our arrival, we were greeted by two gentlmen at the front door who helped us get our bags out of our vehicle and gave us directions to the front desk and where I could park our vehicle. Once at the front desk, we were warmly greeted and quickly setup with our room. Our hotel room was very clean, very nice, and well decorated. We then went on a little family hotel tour and were amazed at all of the great things KeyLime Cove offered. This includes a full sized indoor waterpark, with slides, wave pool, water river, etc. We also found several restaurants, shops, and even an arcade. The waterpark was a lot of fun and we spent one whole day enjoying it. When it was time to eat we could walk out the door and we had several choices of restaurants to choose from from pizza, to hot dogs and hamburgers, ice cream, seafood, pasta, etc. My kids also enjoyed the huge arcade that features video games, basketball, table hockey, pinball, etc. The location was fantastic as it was right across the street from Six Flags Great America, shops, restaurants, and just about anything you would want. The hotel offers a shuttle that takes you to Six Flags and picks you up. Parking at the park costs $20 a day so this was an extremely wonderful deal.
I truly liked/loved everything about KeyLime Cove from the room, to the waterpark, the shops and restaurants, but most of all the wonderful people who work there. They answered our questions, and we had a lot of them as my daughter has a peanut allergy and we have to check out any food she eats. The managers at all of the restaurants were very helpful and knowedgable about their menu.
Thething I liked least was we had to leave. My kids loved it and it is a great place for a family to stay and enjoy!

Room Tip: Rooms are very clean. You will be givena bracelet that opens up your hotel door and gets you into th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    482
    214
    83
    49
    47
See reviews for
661
23
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We went to Gurnee to spend Saturday and Sunday at Six Flags, and booked a room for the night at Key Lime Cove. We thought the price was very reasonable considering that we got all day access to the resort and water park on both Saturday and Sunday, even before and after check-out. We also liked the free shuttle bus to Six Flags, since that saved us $40 in parking. The rooms were nice and clean and attractively decorated. Considering all of the activity there, it was pretty quiet in the room area. The kids loved the water park, there was enough for them to do at their ages (11 and 17). We ate dinner at the Crazy Toucan restaurant inside the resort and liked it quite well, and we enjoyed the fact that you could pay for everything with a swipe of your wristband (no cash req'd). We all enjoyed the arcade and seemed to get quite a lot of play for the $20 card we bought. There were also some nice shops and snack bars throughout the resort. All of the employees were very nice. I am sure that we will try to make it back again sometime.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We decided to visit Six Flags Great America and had received a recommendation for KeyLime Cove from a relative. All in all, a workable choice. The shuttle to Six Flags is very convenient, runs on time and frequently (max. wait 10 minutes). The water park is great for 4-9 year olds, older than that? Forget it. Rooms (we stayed in Pres. Suite) were what you would expect for the money, although could have been cleaner. Housekeeping staff quickly rectified the problems. Food was definately the low point....yuk!!!! Terrible breakfast, lowest quality I have had in years.

In sum, fine place to springboard into Six Flags, no other reason to stay there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011 via mobile

The rooms were very Clean, no smells of moisture. The restaurants were delicious and well worth the cost. The service was super. The arcade was loads of fun!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at KLC. The lines for registration were long but were dealt quickly. Stephanie, the girl who registered us was great and helpful. She was giving us a room on the 1st floor and we requested a change and she did it with a smile. Any questions we asked were responded with polite replies. Our room was absolutely clean and so was the bathroom.
The 1st night my mattress was like a boat and it gave me severe pain in my neck and shoulders. We requested them to change the mattress and they did that. I am back home but still have lot of swelling in my neck and shoulders.
The water park was very nice.Hotel room towels are allowed in water park but water park towels are not allowed outside the water park. The water was clean and the lifeguards were really attentive except one on green slide who was clearly people watching, was rude to kids and uninterested in his job. He had his back on the line throughout. There was one lifeguard who had a tattoo that started with B and ended with Z and he was exceptionally good at his job. He helped people, was very attentive, corrected kids when needed...he took his job seriously !
We ordered pizza at Anna Chovy's and jojo did a great job making it. We ordered veggie pizza with easy cheese and heavy on the sauce and we also wanted our veggies under the cheese and he happily did it . They all served with a smile. The table was dirty and Corina cleaned it right away and asked us if we needed anything else. That was very nice.
The morning brkfst buffet for a vegetarian was ok. The staff serving there was uninterested like other previous reviewers had mentioned. When I walked in and asked the lady what was in the menu and if there were vegetarian options, she just said she does not think so. I asked her to send someone who can help me !!! The server herself was looking very sleepy and I had to ask her for water, tea and coffee 2 times before I got it. The coffee was very bad and she said that majority of the people don't like it. I had read in previous reviews that their coffee was bad !

We tried their Fudge and pastry , they were delicious. The lady whom we were paying said , " Gratuity is not billed through credit card, just so u know." (!!!!!) I am not paying Gratuity for buying cake in a store !
DW Anderson had awesome icecream and it was very reasonable.
After reading many bad reviews we were scared to go. The reviews were wrong ! The crowd was mixed and everyone seemed happy and were at best behavior. The crowd was not ghetto , i think that is very mean thing to say. So what if people had tatoos ? They were well behaved.
The games area is fun and kids behaved, we din't see any fights or pushing ...Everyone here came to have fun and it seemed like each one was having fun.
The place is casual and mostly people are in swimming suit overalls because of the waterpark and it is justified.
There are resort fees, state tax,local tax , so keep all that in mind :D Every floor had a microwave and rooms have fridge ,which was very good. We were very surprised that room cleaning service did not include changing used glasses .This was the 1st for us.The old glasses were lying around instead of being replaced with clean ones.
The 2nd day in the evening , we were getting bored so we went to the near by Gurnee outlet mall . There are so many eateries right outside the KLC.
Overall our trip was good and thankyou to all the people who wrote fair and good reviews otherwise we would have not gone.

Room Tip: our was on 3rd floor near microwave vending machine and ice maker.It was very quiet throughout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights for a family vacation and we were most impressed with the cleanliness of the room and indoor water park. The property must be fairly new (5 years maybe) because everything still looks new and is very clean and unspoiled. They have made great cosmetic efforts to make the lobby and restaurant areas look like a Disney theme park. The theme is Key West and tropical and very pretty. The main reason to go is for the indoor water park or if you are planning to go to 6 Flags Great America - they have a free shuttle. The best part is the water park. They have a great lazy river, a mild but large wave pool. A terrific Kid's water play area with 2 body slides that the adults enjoyed as well and lots of little kid slides and a great bucket water fall. The main attraction for older kids is 2 body slides and 2 tube slides and the "vortex" which is the most exciting - you use a tube (either double or single) and get shot out like a pinball and go around a funnel shape or toilet bowl style and get dumped down a slide. They have tons of very serious life guards and a hot tub for adults only. They also provide towels and lockers for $6 per day with in and out privileges so you don't have to take your camera back to your room which can be a long walk - for us it was a full 5 min. walk. The room was 2 queen beds and a fold out couch and was very clean and pretty with yellow walls and beach style decor. The beds were very firm which I like but the pillows were too firm for me. There was a large flat screen TV but I wish they had pay per view movies which they did not. There is a huge movie theatre complex a 5 min. drive away. We ate at all the restaurants during our stay. Our least favorite was The Crazy Toucan - gross food and so-so service. Our favorite was D.W. Anderson's - great food and great service. They only have one place open for breakfast which is not very well organized and is not a restaurant but you order and take your food to tables in the lobby or up to your room. But they do have Starbucks coffee and muffins and breakfast sandwiches, bagels etc. so it is adequate. The rooms also have fridges for left overs or whatever. The arcade is also very clean and almost all the games work and are very kid friendly. There is more to say but this is long enough. All in all, a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

My stay at KeyLime Cove was the best......They have great slides and nice games in the game room.......The hotel is so nice in the inside and my daughters loved it, they didnt want to go home......They also have great people working at the front desk. If you are looking to have fun with your kids please try KeyLime Cove because WE LOVED IT and WE"LL BE BACK !!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort

Address: 1700 Nations Drive, Gurnee, IL 60031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gurnee
#1 Family Hotel in Gurnee
#1 Business Hotel in Gurnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KeyLime Cove offers something for everyone at its all thrills, no chills indoor oasis. The Key West inspired resort is a perfect getaway that’s within an hour drive from Chicago or Milwaukee. Relax in a resort-style suite or guest room, or rejuvenate at Paradise Mist Spa. Featuring a 65,000 sq ft Indoor Waterpark other resort amenities include an arcade, dining and entertainment, shopping and so much more! For a family vacation that's a million miles from ordinary, reserve some "KeyLime Time!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Tingo, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keylime Cove Resort And Water Park Hotel Gurnee
Keylime Cove Gurnee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.