We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Getaway! Highly Recommend...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao to your Saves list
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Santa Barbara Plantation | Porta Blancu, Nieuwpoort, Curacao (Formerly Hyatt Regency Curacao Golf Resort, Spa and Marina)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nieuwpoort
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Getaway! Highly Recommend...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Stayed at Santa Barbara w/ my boyfriend for 5 days and do not have one bad thing to say.

The staff was extremely friendly, and helpful with reccomendations and tips for exploring the island. The grounds, including the pool and beach, are beautiful and well kept. Room & bathroom was definitely on the newer side, and kept very clean every day (note my standards are pretty high when it comes to hotel rooms). We did not eat much lunch/dinner on the property, but breakfast was awesome.

Although a bit far from the center of the island, the resort was not overcroweded and atmosphere was super relaxing and easy going. It was definitely a nice vibe to come back to after exploring Curacao's beaches each day. It is also worth mentioning that we were one of the few Americans staying at the hotel (and on the island in general) - a plus in our opinion.

Lastly, DEFINITELY reccommend renting a car if you are looking to leave the resort at all.

All that said, would 100% go back if in Curacao again. :)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBR_Curacao_GM, General Manager at Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Ali G,

Thank you for visiting us from NYC and for recommending us! I am so glad that you enjoyed the resort and the island. There is so much to experience here!

As I mentioned before, returning to Curaçao for your next trip will be easier than ever with direct service from JFK starting on Dec 2 on JetBlue. I hope that you can come see us again soon!

Safe Travels,
Philippe Eversdijk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    370
    93
    45
    21
See reviews for
324
643
32
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

I stayed at the resort with my girlfriend for five days. The service was impeccable upon arrival and the resort was in pristine condition. The beaches/pools are great and the grounds are beautiful. The breakfast buffett was spot on every day. The resort is a bit of a drive from the city center, but it is a perfect oasis to relax/get away. I would 100% stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBR_Curacao_GM, General Manager at Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Jeff L,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community. We would love for you to stay with us again. Have you heard that starting on Dec 2, JetBlue is starting a direct flight from JFK to Curacao? Now you can escape to paradise for a nice long weekend!

Safe Travels,
Philippe Eversdijk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We were very happy to have stayed for two weeks at Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort for our honeymoon. Everyone was incredibly friendly and we loved the atmosphere. The staff at Splash (such as Rolly, Andre, Eliza), Chris over at the beach-front bar Pinchos, the staff at Medi and Ryan over at the restaurant Shore are all great people and made us feel very welcome! Also, the food was excellent at all of these places!

The staff at Medi was sometimes a bit overwhelmed when things got really busy, but we don't hold that against them. They are hard-working and stayed friendly throughout!

We also made us of the fitness center, which was equipped with all the basic aerobic machinery (multiple elliptical trainers, excercise bikes and treadmills) and with plenty of weights and a few basis weightlifting machines. Plenty for a basic workout to keep the all-inclusive 'damage' to a minimum...

If we have to give suggestions for improvement - and there is little room left - then it is the quality of the bed. It was approaching its expiration date. The same goes for a two of the four pillows on the bed as they smelled slightly off (sort of a sweaty/musky smell).

The only other thing we can think of to suggest is to extend the operating hours of the pool-side bar Splash. The atmosphere is great all day long and we would love to see it extended a bit longer into the evening!

All in all, we were very pleased with our stay there and look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBR_Curacao_GM, General Manager at Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear FRH21,

Congratulations on your recent wedding! I wish both of you many years of happiness! Thank you for sharing your honeymoon with us. It sounds like you were able to relax and recharge after the wedding!!

I definitely will take your feedback to our director of rooms so we can investigate our mattresses and pillows. Please, for your next stay, call us about the pillows as soon as your notice and we'll be happy to replace.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Philippe Eversdijk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

The Santa Barbara was a 5-star experience, not just by the condition of the hotel but also by the quality of service provided. My daughter and I had a wonderful time there. I would recommend to anyone, regardless of whether you're traveling with children or not. It was quiet throughout and very relaxing. If there is a drawback, it is the location. We did not rent a car and ended up paying a lot in cab fares. Ask the concierge for assistance with dinner reservations. There are a couple of restaurants that offer pick-up service from the hotel in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1446, which was oceanfront. It was great, but a long walk from the lobby. Try to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBR_Curacao_GM, General Manager at Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear beachbum41,

I am so glad to hear that you and your daughter had a good time. Thank you so much for recommending us to both families and couples! I really appreciate it.

I hope that we can welcome you back again very soon!
Philippe Eversdijk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Our family of 4 had a great holiday. The property is lovely, yes it is away from other towns but that makes it a lovely place to return at the end of the trips out. The staff were very accommodating particularly the Splash pool bar staff, with special mention to Eliza, Rolly and Chris who were full of information and fun. Plus they made a lovely cocktail especially Rolly! Bob the Manager was great too and always chatted and made us feel welcome and wanted our opinions. The activity hut lads were great especially when they went round the pool and got the kids to join in with activities as my kids are shy but older.Teens are always difficult on holiday. The shore restaurant was lovely, with fantastic views and good quality food.

It was useful having the shop and bella italia café as it gave an extra option for amazing icescreams and pizzas. Medi restaurant was nice with a good selection at breakfast but was a bit too full on the nights shore was closed. We did find out Splash was open on these but was only serving lunch menu and did not have the right vibe, I think Bob is working on this and creating a beach bar at night which will be great as apart from the foyer there was not a bar where you could just relax.

Just up the beach is Boca 19 which is a separate bar and restaurant with a real pub vibe and beautiful sunsets this gives another option to eat out and drink at a cheaper price. The management Lizzy and Willeim are lovely they always reserved us a table too. So it is possible to eat elsewhere so you don't get fed up.

The rooms were clean and spacious and furnished to a good standard.

The beach is lovely even though manmade and there is a good bar service both there and by the pool. They bought round iced water in the morning and some days a little taster cocktail or frozen drink which mad it feel like a good 5 star hotel. Iced water is also available from a water dispenser too.

We didn't have all inclusive and I think to get value for money you would have to eat shed loads unless you were on a good package. Personally we found the prices not bad. It would be nice if the shuttles to town were free up cheaper as a trip out for 4 was expensive in the shuttle.

The pilates classes were lovely to do in the pavilion with a sea breeze and not too early in the morning which is great.

Overall a great stay and we would definitely like to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBR_Curacao_GM, General Manager at Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Mcs,

I am so glad that you enjoyed your vacation! I see that you are top contributor with reviews in 44 cities! Wow!

Thank you for telling the TripAdvisor community about your stay. I would definitely recommend renting a car for a family of 4 for the day to visit downtown and other island treasures.

I hope that we can welcome you back again cery soon!
Philippe Eversdijk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Stayed here when it was the Hyatt and had a great time. Don't know and don't care what happened with the ownership and Hyatt, but we had a great time here. Room, service, food and the general atmosphere was very welcoming and relaxing. Can't wait to return...hopefully service hasn't changed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBR_Curacao_GM, General Manager at Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear luxrytrvlr,

Wow! Thank you for such a great review and thank you for staying with us. I am so glad that you enjoyed your vacation. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon!

Philippe Eversdijk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

A lovely resort away from the hustle and bustle of Curacao. We stayed here for 7 nights as part of our honeymoon, flying in from the US. The resort is miles away from town, so perfect if you want to stay in the resort for your stay (which we did, quite happily). If you want to explore, you’ll need a car. We stayed in a bungalow, which was quiet, clean and comfortable with good facilities and private pool overlooking the sea. The golf course looked wonderful, although we didn’t play. Due to the location, the majority of guests are Dutch rather than American, and it is far less touristy than Aruba.

The private beach is lovely, and filled with wildlife, although a fair walk from the bungalows (much closer to the main hotel), with some decent snorkeling by the marina. The restaurants were nice, but we expected a bit more from a high-quality resort – the seafood was excellent but there was too much ‘middle-of-the-road’ food, which was surprising considering the quality of the chef. We ate at the cheap and cheerful pizza place (good, cheap take-away pizza and beer!), as well as the main restaurant and the signature restaurant Shore. The restaurant staff were friendly enough, but generally seemed a bit lackadaisical, and sometimes made it very hard to get their attention. The staff at the Splash Pool Bar were excellent and personable, and the bar staff in Juns Bar were fantastic (good cocktail list!). Bocca 19, the marina restaurant was great, but be aware they are not part of the hotel so you can’t charge to your room. The hotel management were friendly and accessible, and were regularly seen out and about talking to guests, which was pleasing to see.

Although we greatly enjoyed our stay, we found little things let it down, such as the restaurant staff, the varying levels of housekeeping (turn-down could happen any time between 7pm and 10pm, which kept us on our toes), and we were also mortified that in the run-up to the weekend a large number of boats moored at the beach every afternoon, each with their sound system blaring loud music, and drinking, noisy locals swimming close by. It really spoiled the tranquility of the place.

Generally a lovely and well-intentioned resort, but a few niggles could be ironed out.

Room Tip: Bungalow rooms are quiet away from the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBR_Curacao_GM, General Manager at Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear henritan,

Congratulations on your recent nuptials and thank you for such a great review. I really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us.

I love your pictures! The beach shot makes me want to run out to the beach and relax in the lounge chair!

I hope that you can come back and visit us for future anniversary celebrations!

Safe Travels,
Philippe Eversdijk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao

Address: Santa Barbara Plantation | Porta Blancu, Nieuwpoort, Curacao (Formerly Hyatt Regency Curacao Golf Resort, Spa and Marina)
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Nieuwpoort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nieuwpoort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao 4.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort captures natural Caribbean charm and delivers it with an international elegance and sophistication. Just 35 miles from Aruba and served by a modern international airport, escape to paradise and embrace Curacao’s magical sea, sky and sun on 27 acres of rare natural preserve. At the same time, feel that every need is provided for, with exceptional service and refinement. Enjoy superior amenities like the Pete Dye designed golf course, a luxurious spa, resort pools with Caribbean views, an alluring white sand beach with a swimming lagoon, and sophisticated dining. Relax with the rare luxury of privacy on a secluded island within an island sequestered from the hustle and bustle of town center, and explore unlimited diving, snorkeling, boating and geo adventure right outside your door. Whether you are seeking an intimate retreat, or a lively and invigorating amenity-filled vacation, the resort creates a truly magnificent opportunity to experience the best of both worlds, and create your own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Amex, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Odigeo, Otel, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Curacao Golf Resort, Spa And Marina Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.