We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One day stop over wasn't enough” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao

Save Saved
You added Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Santa Barbara Plantation | Porta Blancu, Nieuwpoort, Curacao (Formerly Hyatt Regency Curacao Golf Resort, Spa and Marina)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nieuwpoort
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“One day stop over wasn't enough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This resort is top notch in my book. Everything from the decor to the friendly staff and the amazing view. Check-in was a breeze and you were met with a lemonade or a Blue Curacao drink. What other resort will greet you with a drink? The rooms were very nice and spacious and had the most comfortable beds. The bathroom was modern and open with a great tub and shower. Our balcony faced the beach and was just very quiet and relaxing. The pool and beach was very nice with great views and crystal clear water. The only draw back to the pool and beach were the uncomfortable chairs. They were hard and you really couldn't lay on them to long. But, that is really the only bad thing I had to say about this resort. The restaurants were very well priced and you were not spending an arm and a leg for food. Just like a normal restaurant you went to anywhere else. Overall this is a great spot to vacation to and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a none obstructed ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBR_Curacao_GM, General Manager at Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Alan D,

One day definitely isn't enough!! We'd love to have to you back and hope that you can stay longer the next time! I really appreciate you sharing your experience and am glad that you stayed with us.

Safe Travels,
Philippe Eversdijk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    284
    74
    28
    15
See reviews for
258
508
26
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This resort is fabulous. It does indeed have everything you would need and you would not have to leave; however, if you're American, you can do that for cheaper at an all-inclusive in Mexico. Of course you want to leave and check out the beautiful beaches and the capital; therefore, you HAVE to rent a car. The resort is far from any of the really nice beaches, and I would recommend you rent from the airport because I think we paid more, but you can get one from the Budget counter at the hotel. The staff was very accommodating, and the walls are a bit thin and there was a baby crying in the room next to ours, so they let us switch right away (and the second room had a better view). You could also walk around the corner to a watersports rental to go snorkeling, diving, etc. Lots of food choices, few crowds, beautiful views, beautiful lobby with a little bar - very relaxing!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the far side, next to the inlet, so you can get to the beach quickly (and it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBR_Curacao_GM, General Manager at Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear KatyStephanie,

Thank you for calling our resort fabulous!! I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay.

To me the experience on Curaçao is different than Mexico or other islands. I encourage all guests to leave the resort and explore the island. The island isn't so commercialized that you feel completely removed from the culture. There are wonderful gems scattered all over the island's unspoiled natural landscape.

I hope that you can visit us again soon from Houston!
Philippe Eversdijk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My family stayed at the Santa Barbara resort in July 2014. The hotel facilities and grounds are beautiful, and the hotel staff was great. Our airline lost our luggage, which is apparently a common occurrence in Curacao. The front desk personnel provided all of the necessities that our family needed. One staff member stood out as truly exceptional. Rudolph, one of the bellmen was beyond helpful. He went out of his way to locate and deliver our luggage to the property.

All of the amenities at the resort are first class: pool, golf course, beach and restaurants.

The only possible negative to the property is the location. You need to be aware that the hotel is very remote. This is not a problem if you are utilizing their facilities. However, if you want to explore Curacao it can be very costly. Our family rented a vehicle to explore the island.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBR_Curacao_GM, General Manager at Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear demetgolf,

I am so glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us! I see that you are a Top Trip Advisor Contributor with reviews in 47 cities. Wow! That's amazing!

I am disappointed to hear about your luggage, but am happy to hear that Rudolph was able to help. You are right, our resort is approximately 30 minutes from Willemstad. You can rent a car right on property for approximately $60/day to explore the island. Please, ask the team about the great local, experience that are close to the resort when you visit the next time. That's my favorite part about Curaçao - it has unique things to do that you can't find anywhere else.

I hope that we can welcome you back again very soon!
Philippe Eversdijk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This place is definitely one of my favorite hotels. It's a beautiful property that feels like it's own little world. Everything you need is on the premises so you don't have to leave if you don't want to. The beach is beautiful, the pool is gorgeous, they have one of the best gyms I have ever seen in a hotel, which is huge. Travelers who like to workout on the road know how hard it is to find a decent hotel gym but this place has it. The spa uses a lot of locally sourced products (especially aloe) and tries to be as organic as possible. The food and drinks are good, and you can get breakfast delivered to your room at no extra charge. One of my favorite meals on the Island came from MEDI, the on premises restaurant that specializes in seafood. There's also a lounge area where musicians come to entertain. The staff was friendly and the service was attentive. I don't have any complaints about this place. It's a versatile hotel that can work for families, business (especially because of the golf areas), honeymoons, general romance, etc. Do yourself a favor and book it.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms may also give you a glimpse of the pool depending on where you are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBR_Curacao_GM, General Manager at Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Starr R,

Thank you so much for a great review! I really appreciate you staying with us and sharing your experience. I, too, like to workout when traveling. So, I agree - a nice gym is always a great plus.

I hope that you can visit us again very soon!

Philippe Eversdijk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

My husband and I recently returned from this resort in Curacao. It was recommended to us by a very close friend in the business (thank you!). The resort is magnificent. The property is very well maintained, the staff is extremely attentive, the food is wonderful, and there is an incredible view of the magical blue water from everywhere. It is the type of place you go to for relaxation. We did venture into town twice and we were happy to just stay at the resort. I would return to this tropical paradise again. Oh, and by the way, it never seems to rain there, and yet there was a beautiful breeze at all times.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBR_Curacao_GM, General Manager at Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Judy B,

Thank you for visiting us from Florida and for the great review! I am always amazed by the blue water every time I see it. I don't think I'll ever get used to it!

Curaçao is a perfect vacation destination with only about 22" of annual rainfall per year. When it does rain, it usually clears up very quickly so you can continue having fun on your vacation!

I hope that we see you again soon!
Philippe Eversdijk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This is a caribbean luxury hotel with atached golfcourse located on the eastern side of Curacao which is amazingly gorgeous .The hotel is big ,with open spaceous architecture with an amazing view wherever your room is .You wake up to the seaview, the golfcourse or the local landscape and the singing of local birds! The rooms are big with all modern amenities .
The golfcourse is a challenging one due to the very strong breeze and the layout, but with very well maintained greens ,a good clubhouse with good equipment available so a good round of golf is guaranteed !
The hotel is quite far from most restaurants, shops , atractions and the city. But then again the driving time to everywhere is 10 minutes anyway!!The friendly , but sometimes slow staff can arrange for transport but the restaurants , pool ,spa ,natural beach and little shops can keep you entertained on location as well. Not a place if you are on a budget .But definitely worth it!

Room Tip: Southside rooms give you a view of the golfcourse and the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBR_Curacao_GM, General Manager at Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear angelfoodie,

As always, we love welcoming our island family to the resort. Thank you for spending some time with us to relax and recharge! The breeze off the sea on holes one and two on the golf course are definitely a challenge. I hope that you come back again to play soon!

Safe Travels,
Philippe Eversdijk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We just had our wedding with 60 close friends and family. Ages 3 to 83 and all had a great time. Barefoot beach ceremony, terrace cocktail hour and oven side reception. Rather large for a destination wedding, but affordable. Gianni and the planning staff will work with you long distance to ensure details are met.
The hotel has much to do, top scuba diving in world, deep sea fishing, world class golfing and relaxing beach. We went during the less populated "rainy season", we saw no rain.... the food on the resort is Americanized with a hint of local flare. El gaucho is choose and very good.
It is about 20 min from town but there is a free shuttle. The only gripe is the price of alcohol and food is high but good. Service was way better than most places in town.
Great place to relax and enjoy.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBR_Curacao_GM, General Manager at Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear louiscar123,

Congratulations on your wedding! I wish you and your spouse many years of happiness. I love to see beach weddings as I am walking around the resort. With all the flowers and beautiful details that Gianni and Anjali arrange, I don't think there's any better place to have a wedding!

I hope that we can welcome you back for many more anniversaries to come!
Philippe Eversdijk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao

Address: Santa Barbara Plantation | Porta Blancu, Nieuwpoort, Curacao (Formerly Hyatt Regency Curacao Golf Resort, Spa and Marina)
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Nieuwpoort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nieuwpoort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort captures natural Caribbean charm and delivers it with an international elegance and sophistication. Just 35 miles from Aruba and served by a modern international airport, escape to paradise and embrace Curacao’s magical sea, sky and sun on 27 acres of rare natural preserve. At the same time, feel that every need is provided for, with exceptional service and refinement. Enjoy superior amenities like the Pete Dye designed golf course, a luxurious spa, resort pools with Caribbean views, an alluring white sand beach with a swimming lagoon, and sophisticated dining. Relax with the rare luxury of privacy on a secluded island within an island sequestered from the hustle and bustle of town center, and explore unlimited diving, snorkeling, boating and geo adventure right outside your door. Whether you are seeking an intimate retreat, or a lively and invigorating amenity-filled vacation, the resort creates a truly magnificent opportunity to experience the best of both worlds, and create your own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Escapio, Venere and Otel so you can book your Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Curacao Golf Resort, Spa And Marina Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.