We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao to your Saves list
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Santa Barbara Plantation | Porta Blancu, Nieuwpoort, Curacao (Formerly Hyatt Regency Curacao Golf Resort, Spa and Marina)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nieuwpoort
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Spent the week of 3/23 at the resort with my husband and daughter. Everything was great including the room with great view,breakfast each morning with pleasant staff (especially Stacy Ann the hostess and Raj the omelette chef), pool and beach areas clean and welcoming and beautifully landscaped-walkways. Dinner at Shor was delicious. We rented a car so we ate most dinners off property (GPS was a necessity!) We had a great week and would definitely return to this resort!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    308
    80
    32
    15
See reviews for
268
559
28
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gent, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

As newleyweds, my husband and I stayed at the resort from the 15th of november 2012 untill the 28th. At that point it was still under the Hyatt group, so we can't say anything about the switch.

Our overall stay was fantastic. We frequently told each other (and still do) that we are so happy that we chose this location for our honeymoon and went for a full fortnight.

The room was perfect, and kept in a pristine shape. If there was one little point of criticism on the room, it would have been that we were asked to reuse our towels (which we didn't mind) but that in the whole of the room, there was only one hook to be found, to dry that towel on. Some more hooks would have been practical. The food was fantastic.

We were very happy to eat at Shor, but for us the completely undervalued tresure in the resort was the sushi that was served in the main hall. I still crave it from time to time!

Breakfast was fantastich, the beach meals were fantastic, we were very happy with our stay

We never visited the Spa, so I can't comment on that.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Visited the Resort late February (2/23-3/2/13) for a week as part of a group of 5 couples. We had an absolutely fabulous time. We booked it as a Hyatt and were very concerned about the switch, but the new management bent over backward to insure us everything would be fine and we found our stay -- food, service and amenities -- to be every bit as good as if it had remained a Hyatt. Stayed in Sea Traditions area near the Golf Course and Shor. Rooms were beautiful, kept immaculate, had magnificent views of the Ocean and were very quiet. The only drawback is that they are at the beginning of the the Resort and far from the beach, pool, spa and main building. Since my wife has limited mobility we were initially concerned about this, but the problem was alleviated by the concierge and bell staff, who sent us an electric cart within 5 minutes of our requests (which we made daily) to take us wherever we needed to go and back to our room later on. Our other friends had no trouble walking, though it is about a 5 minute walk to the pool, spa, etc.

As for food, we found Shor to be the better restaurant and indeed one of the best on the Island (though it is expensive), we ate there three different nights and each meal was delicious. We also ate offsite at El Gaucho -- which was a decent reasonably priced steak house -- and at a recommended French/Swiss restaurant in Willemstad, but found the food there underwhelming and over priced. Medi had a very good breakfast buffet daily and served good dinners as well, we ate there twice. We had no bad meals at the Resort. Only nitpick is that service can be a little slow -- Island time -- so be prepared to relax and dine. Didn't eat lunch so I can't comment on Swim -- the pool grill -- or lunch elsewhere. The Italian style Gelato/general store was a refreshing stop off. It had a large selection of Gelato, frozen yogurt and water based sorbet. My group stopped there daily.

The golf course, new like the resort, was quite beautiful -- it starts by running along the shore line and then runs around the resort and contiguous community- and had a challenging layout. Only issue was the wind which was ever present. So stack up on balls if you intend to play a round.It is definitely worth doing once.

The pool was lovely and, like most reviewers found, there is no problem finding a chair or a group of them like my group had to do each day. The Pool staff learned who my group and I were early on and let us know if some had gone to the beach or elsewhere. Someone always was around to take a drink order and/or bring food. We also enjoyed the protected beach, which similarly had plenty of places to sit and lots of shade for those who can't or don't want to sit in the sun. A couple of us went snorkeling with Ocean Encounters, a friendly on site outfit, in area not too far from the resort and saw plenty of interesting fish.

All of us also made use of the Spa and found the staff very friendly and accommodating. Each treatment my wife and I had was very pleasurable. We had a couples message and I had a hot stone - the best - and a deep tissue message.

On a recommendation from the staff we arranged for transportation and went one night to the Crystal Casino in the Renaissance Hotel in town. It was about a 40 minute ride and was worth it. The cost was $40 to go and $50 to return. A decent size Casino with all the games one would expect. Not too crowded and best of all WE WON! We also rented a car one day from the onsite Hertz office with another couple and drove to town to see the sights. Car cost less than a cab ride back and forth. Definitely worth doing -- you can only bake in the sun so long.

In sum my entire group had a memorable vacation. Everyone at the Resort was warm and friendly and always ready to help answer our questions. We would recommend this Resort to anyone and we would all definitely go back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This will be a review in progress as this is my first full day at this resort. My family and I checked in yesterday evening, March 20th. After a full day of traveling to Curacao we were pleasantly greeted at the entrance to the lobby. Provided with lemonade for the children (3 &5) and something a little stronger for the adults. The lobby was beautiful and check in went fine. Only issue there was that I had requested not to be on the ground floor (back when this was a Hyatt) and we ended up on the ground floor. Small detail but annoying as we have adjoining rooms with the children in one and parents in the other- being on a higher floor gives me more piece of mind. Bottom line the hotel was full due to a large conference and we couldn't be accomodated. Anyways, moving on. The rooms were very nice and clean as were the hotel grounds.

Of course the kids, after traveling all day, really wanted to go to the beach. So, we made our way over there for a short time. Pools and Beach are really very nice. Clean, shallow, etc. Great for children. After a romp in the beach we cleaned up and headed to one of the two hotel restuarants. We ended up at Medi and were promptly informed that the conference group staying for the conference had blocked both of the restaurants at the hotel and that any other hotel guests were not allowed to use the restaurants. Our only option at the hotel was to go to the small convenience store and get a pizza. Wrong answer. There is obviously a major issue with this. As a guest of a resort hotel where amenities of said resort include the restaurants, I have an entitlment to access those restuarants. To completely close off access to any guests that are not part of that conference is inherently wrong. If the amenites that helped to sell and market the hotel are removed on a whim then there should be a reimbursement to the guest. Extremely poor management move.
In looking inside the restaurant it was no more than 60% full. There were empty tables left and right. I asked to speak with the manager. As I was waiting, the hostesses were extremely apologetic. They explained that they had to reach out and cancel reservations that people had already made for that evening and were turning way all hotel guests that were not part of this specific conference group. They said that this had also happened the night prior as well. I continued to wait for the manager and then found that the manager was very busy and couldn't come speak with me but a supervisor would be there in a moment. Many moments passed and no one came. In the meantime I have two young children that have had an extremely long day and are hungry as well. Finally one of the hostesses decided that the situation was ridiculous and went ahead and seated us. Logic prevails. We never saw a manager or the "supervisor", the restaurant stayed at no more than 60% full the entire time we were there, and we had a good meal with good service for a reasonable price.

The first full day has started off well, pool is great. Not too crowded and chairs & umbrellas were plentiful. We'll see how dinner this evening goes. If all does go well then part two of this review will be completed when I get home and the rating will be modified accordingly. Fingers crossed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Service with a smile and gracious employees! Open air Lobby and we were greeted with fresh lemonade. Rooms spacious, clean. Opted for deluxe double with view of beach. This gives easy walk down access to private beach area. Beach has sunny and shaded areas, dock outlines swimming area to protect swimmers from boats. Beach is also on inlet to Bay so no under-tow concerns. Short walk to waves crashing on Natural beach with cozy cocoon couches and chairs. Water will not disappoint... clear, shades of blue and refreshing temp.
Resort offers daily activities, I attended Pilates, rented paddle boards. We ventured on Taste of Curacao Snorkeling and had a private sailing lesson all arranged by Ocean Adventures located at beach. All instructors were attentive and safety conscious. Breakfast resort style buffet with healthy options. Shor Restaurant on property delicious! Would have eaten there again but went off property 3 nights for dinner. Indulged in couple massage, pampering at it's best and was treated to complimentary champagne for our anniversary. Only regret get 90min over the 60 min massage. Plenty of recreation options, walking, tennis and golf. Don't book if you are looking for outrageous over crowed tourist spot go to Aurba.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Here is the Resort everyone should be looking for. It is secluded behind a gated safe community.It is impeccably clean and has a beautiful atmosphere. The staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. The beaches are clean with superior lounge chairs and there is no hassle in finding chairs on the beach or by the pool at anytime of the day. Lots of people around and never a wait for service on the beach or by the pool. Always had a drink within 5 minutes or less of ordering. A short 30 minutes from town, you can find great shopping or dinning. The hotels buffet for breakfast or lunch is great and there fine dining at The Shore is nothing less than fantastic. A great place to call your haven and just a short ride into town to break things up with shopping or dining. Golf coarse is exceptional. The beds are super plush and an in room safe for securing your valuables. Roll open wooden doors to your balcony for a great view.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

5 great nights here. Wonderful golf course for an island course. Premier water view room was a little small but well furnished. Had to ask for robes which was a bit odd. But all the service people throughout the facility worked hard to make our stay comfortable. Food on property was very good. Not gourmet but very well prepared and presented. Pool servants remembered my name and made me feel like a king. We would return if we ever get back there.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao

Address: Santa Barbara Plantation | Porta Blancu, Nieuwpoort, Curacao (Formerly Hyatt Regency Curacao Golf Resort, Spa and Marina)
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Nieuwpoort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nieuwpoort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao 4.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort captures natural Caribbean charm and delivers it with an international elegance and sophistication. Just 35 miles from Aruba and served by a modern international airport, escape to paradise and embrace Curacao’s magical sea, sky and sun on 27 acres of rare natural preserve. At the same time, feel that every need is provided for, with exceptional service and refinement. Enjoy superior amenities like the Pete Dye designed golf course, a luxurious spa, resort pools with Caribbean views, an alluring white sand beach with a swimming lagoon, and sophisticated dining. Relax with the rare luxury of privacy on a secluded island within an island sequestered from the hustle and bustle of town center, and explore unlimited diving, snorkeling, boating and geo adventure right outside your door. Whether you are seeking an intimate retreat, or a lively and invigorating amenity-filled vacation, the resort creates a truly magnificent opportunity to experience the best of both worlds, and create your own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Booking.com, Escapio, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Curacao Golf Resort, Spa And Marina Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.