We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picture perfect, just far.....from everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao to your Saves list
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Santa Barbara Plantation | Porta Blancu, Nieuwpoort, Curacao (Formerly Hyatt Regency Curacao Golf Resort, Spa and Marina)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nieuwpoort
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Picture perfect, just far.....from everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My new husband (3 weeks) and I travelled here for our honeymoon. We wanted to go somewhere exclusive that most people hadn't been so we picked Curacao. We decided to go with the Hyatt because the pictures on their website of the property were gorgeous and we got a friends and family discount (which is always nice)
So when you arrive at the resort you are greeted by smiling employees and a glass of blue curacao and lemonade (yum). Check in was smooth, this hot el charged us for the full amount at check in (which was different) plus $100 a day for incidentals. The room is so pretty. It has a neutral color scheme and a balcony (ours had a view of the beach). There sre 3 restaurants on property and a few stores. My fav restaurant was the pool cafe. An employee named Ludy was wonderful. He was so friendly and accomodating. Try the Planters Punch! Medi was ok for dinner...nothing spectacular, although the breakfast buffet thete was tasty. Try the omelet. All of the restaurants and the lobby are open-aire, so the humidity can make tjings a little uncomfortable. The beach is man made and a little rocky, but the water is clear. There are 2 pools.
Tips- Bring extra $ for cabs and shuttles. This hotel is about 40 mins ($70 cab ride) from the airport and about 20 mins from town, which they offer a daily shuttle for $30 per person. They add an extra 15% charge on to all meals, which we later learned was the tip. Do we were tipping the waiters and waitresses extra because we werent sure what this was. Bring insect repellant,
the mosquitoes were ridiculous. And finally try the Gelato at Bella Italia...its delicious. Theres a. restaurant down the hill from the Hyatt called Estaba House, which offers a free shuttle and yummy food. There is no bar or club or anything near this hotel so be prepared to drink in your room. BYOB. lol

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Congratulations on your nuptials! We're thrilled you chose our hotel for your honeymoon and we're delighted you had a great time. It's great to hear you enjoyed our restaurant options. We will be sure to pass your compliment on to Ludy. We hope to welcome you back to Hyatt soon.

Chrissi R.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    701
    362
    93
    44
    20
See reviews for
319
628
29
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Curacao
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Long weekend, had a room overlooking parking place!!
Breakfast, absolutly no Hyatt standards.very limited assortment, too expensive compare to what you get.
Complain by Hyatt email/desk never had an answer.


Location nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback in regards to your recent stay at our resort. I’m disappointed to learn that your stay did not meet expectations. Your feedback will be forwarded on to the appropriate party regarding the lack of follow up to your email and the limited assortment of the breakfast items. I am pleased however that we were able to reach out to you via tripadvisor to learn more about your experience. I hope that in the future we can have the opportunity to welcome you back to Hyatt Regency Curacao so you can experience our true authentic Hyatt hospitality.

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My now-fiance and I stayed at this property for 4 nights this past September, where he proposed to me along the beach at the Hyatt Regency Curacao, which obviously made the tirp very special. Engagement notwithstanding, this hotel is something else. It's quite new, very well-kept, extremely clean, and the employees actually seem to show concern and care for the guests.

We had an ocean-view room on the second floor (1350) that was stunning. Marble everything, Hyatt signature bed, great bathroom, refrigerator, good-sized safe, nice balcony with functional furniture, iPod dock, and great sunsets on non-overcast evenings. Our room was quiet, relaxing, and the A/C was wonderful (supposedly September is the hottest month on Curacao).

The breakfast each morning at Medi was your average Caribbean hotel/resort breakfast buffet, with made-to-order omelettes and eggs, breads, cereals, fruits, yogurt, and hot items. Nothing gourmet or outstanding, but we never had any issues with food quantity or cleanliness, and we always received our coffee promptly. We also snacked a few times at Bella Italia, the gelato shop on-site, which was quite delicious and not too pricey.

This hotel is truly out-of-the-way and on towards the southern tip of the island, removed from the hustle-and-bustle of Willemstad, and a good 30-35 minute drive to the best coves and beaches: Cas Abou, Grote Knip, Porto Mari, and Playa Kalki. Although the Hyatt won't make waves for its beach (no pun intended), the beach loungers are plentiful and comfortable, and the pools (2) and pool area/snack bar are quite nice.

Okay, so if I have to choose three minor qualms (but nothing that would stop me from staying here again): beach towels were thin and no larger than the standard-issue bath towels, internet wasn't free anywhere on the property ($14.95/day or by the hour in the business center), and the hotel is very isolated (not a problem for those renting a car like we had, but could come as a shock to vacationers hoping to walk around to different places).

Curaco is a one-of-a-kind place, and the Hyatt definitely helped us to make the best of our special getaway.

Room Tip: Rooms 1349-1354 are in the last building on the property so they're quieter and they all have be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Hello volksaudinut!

Thank you for providing such a detailed review of your recent stay with us at our Hyatt Regency Curacao Golf Resort, Spa & Marina. Let us first congratulate you on your special engagement! We appreciate you sharing all aspects of your getaway with our Management team. We'll make sure that everyone from the Executive Chef in Medi to our Front Desk associates are recognized for the outstanding service provided during your visit. We welcome the opportunity to welcome you and your fiance back to our hotel.

Congratulations!

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oranjestad, Aruba
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I've been to Curacao over thrity times and The Hyatt is by far the best resort on the island. If you want to totally get away from it all, this is your best bet. The rooms and service are outstanding. I highly recommend the suites at Sea Traditions. I found the staff to be well trained, courteous and eager to please. The Pete Dye golf course is absoultely stunning and in excellent condition. Five sets of tee boxes on every hole gives high an low handicap golfers a good opportunity to enjoy the course. It's a tough test but rewarding if you play well. My wife and I played everyday and enjoyed the experience immensely. We ate dinner at SHOR restaraunt and the oysters were absolutely outstanding. The second evening we grabbed a light dinner at the sushi bar in the lobby and ended up eating too much the food was so good. Two other tidbits - the gellato ice cream at the hotel store in the lower lobber gets an A+ and if you enjoy a morning swim workout, the resort pool is ideal.

Room Tip: SPend the extra money and get a suite in Sea Traditions - well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Sealboy:

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay at our Hyatt Regency Curacao Golf Resort, Spa & Marina. It's great to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us. Your comments with regards to us being your favorite hotel, are greatly appreciated! Our employees will be recognized for the great customer service offered. Hyatt takes great pride with our associates ensuring our guests enjoy your time. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again. Your comments & referral are greatly appreciated!

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The other positive reviews describe well our experience. This is our second visit in the two years that the Hyatt Curacao has been open. Our purpose of the visit was to relax and also celebrate our anniversary. The locale is amazingly beautiful, the decor and size of the rooms perfect, the bathrooms have great soaking tubs and nice amentities. The balconies open on to the ocean and inlet and provide specacular views which are also observed from the bed if having a cup of coffee to start your day or sunsets with wine. All was meticulously clean.

The service was exceptional and the staff very friendly, including the general manager, Flor, who stopped us one evening to ask about our stay. This has never happened before in all of our travels. We ended up inviting ourselves to their group at the swim bar and had a great time. The mojitos were the best ever. The conceirge was knowledgeable, friendly, and helpful. They really make a difference in your stay. The evening open air bar/sushi in the lobby was fun and views spectacular.

We used the dive boat right on site and my husband, having just arrived from work, used the spa for the deep tissue massages that he described as amazing. He found the gym well equipped for a vaca workout.

Having been here before, we knew about the east end peacefulness and can offer a few tips. We chose to rent a car at the airport so we had easy access to the island although we did not use it often. I actually brought a compass w me as I do not have a GPS phone and we traveled wherever we wanted to go easily. It is true there are not alot of road signs and the last time I got lost alot but this time just used the compass and had no problems. Those of you w GPS will be fine.There is the El Gaucho restaurant, well reviewed, nearby that offers fine Argentian beef meals, and an incredible view and a nice setting for a special meal or simply a good dinner. Easy to find as well. There are mini-marts nearby for provisioning the room refrigerator and also a hyper market if you need lots of provisions which we did not.. By driving around we also had fun stopping at local places to have lunch. But as mentioned in other reviews, everything is available on the resort so you do not really have to go anywhere.

We requested a room at the end of the building as we wanted to be in a quiet area and near the dive boat. The beach was empty! It was wonderful and very romantic to relax on the chaises under the trees.. And there is a hammock, too. We snorkled on the ocean side of the front of the resort and saw many, many colorful reef fish and some coral.

Every one in Curacao is so friendly and this was the predominent feeling at the resort. Every staff member was great and fun to talk with.

So I would definitely recommend the Hyatt Curacao and we do plan to return in the future as it is just so beautiful, friendly and relaxing.

Room Tip: We prefer the end of the buildings for privacy, quietness, proximity to the dive boats and the less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
I am thrilled that we were able to welcome you back to our property. I appreciate you providing us with such a detailed review. I’m glad you found the staff to be very friendly and the amenities to be well appointed. It sounds like you had another great experience. Thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Curacao to celebrate your anniversary. We can’t wait to welcome you back again in the future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
502 reviews 502 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

The skinny:

Parking: plenty, huge lot
Shuttle: $70 RT from airport (40min)
$15 into town RT (30min)
Food: good
Decor: outstanding
Room size: big
Bed comfort: eh
Sheets: ok
Towels: thin, scratchy unless new (whiter ones)
Pool: 2 avail no ocean view, salt water
Pool towels: thin and scratchy
Activities: great programs all day long
Mini Mart: on site
Bonus: balconies have fans

My husband and I stayed here in September and boy was it hot! Probably 90 everyday and some trade winds for respite. This resort is gorgeous and well done. Almost all staff was polite and friendly. If you are looking solely to relax this is the place. If you need to traveling and doing a lot of things other than golf you will need to drive. This resort is far from town. There are several local restaurants that are willing to do a free pickup, just ask the concierge.

We loved the size of the room and the decor. However you can not change the AC temp, do not try on your own, have the hotel engineer do it for you. The tv does not have movies on demand. The room service that we had was really good. The bath products were ok as well. We needed more hangers and they came to us instantly.

The pool area has umbrellas and lounge chairs and some music. The pool bar waiters are not aggressive and sometimes you need to go order stuff yourself. The fish tacos are excellent. And on the weekends they open the shack on the beach and BBQ. The shrimp skewers and corn on the cob are amazing!

There are two pools. One is mainly for adults, kids usually go in the fountain one and if there are a lot of kids they will be noisy. The beach area is way less crowded, the water is cooler in the ocean and you can snorkel easily. Lots of lounge chairs available. The resort also has activities all day: crab races, volleyball, Pilates, bocce etc. they have movie night also.

I will review Medi and Shor separately.
The pizza place is so so but the gelato is terrific.if you forgot any sundries they have everything.

There are Mosquitos and they will bite at sundown! Bring off and bring after bite.

Overall a very happy stay:)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at the Hyatt from 9/19/12 through 9/25/12. The resort is beautiful & well maintained. The staff was fantastic. it is about 30 minutes from the airport so I recommend you rent a car. The island is very safe. We drove to West Punt & Casa Abou. Casa Abou is a must see!! We also enjoyed the substation at the aquarium. It is a little pricy, however, when will you have the opportunity to be at 500 ft below the sea.

We would definitely stay in Curaçao again & definitely at this Hyatt.

Room Tip: All rooms were nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We're thrilled you had a wonderful time. It's great to hear you were able to see some beautiful sights during your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Chrissi R.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao

Address: Santa Barbara Plantation | Porta Blancu, Nieuwpoort, Curacao (Formerly Hyatt Regency Curacao Golf Resort, Spa and Marina)
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Nieuwpoort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nieuwpoort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao 4.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort captures natural Caribbean charm and delivers it with an international elegance and sophistication. Just 35 miles from Aruba and served by a modern international airport, escape to paradise and embrace Curacao’s magical sea, sky and sun on 27 acres of rare natural preserve. At the same time, feel that every need is provided for, with exceptional service and refinement. Enjoy superior amenities like the Pete Dye designed golf course, a luxurious spa, resort pools with Caribbean views, an alluring white sand beach with a swimming lagoon, and sophisticated dining. Relax with the rare luxury of privacy on a secluded island within an island sequestered from the hustle and bustle of town center, and explore unlimited diving, snorkeling, boating and geo adventure right outside your door. Whether you are seeking an intimate retreat, or a lively and invigorating amenity-filled vacation, the resort creates a truly magnificent opportunity to experience the best of both worlds, and create your own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Curacao Golf Resort, Spa And Marina Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.