We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite carry-outs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Henry Yee's Kitchen

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Henry Yee's Kitchen
1822 E Belvidere Rd, Grayslake, IL 60030-2289
847-223-8338
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 62 Restaurants in Grayslake
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Chicago
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Favorite carry-outs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We get carry-outs from HYK at least once or twice a month. We especially like their Sweet and Sour Chicken - it is crispy chicken and the sauce is amber - not red. Perfectly balanced sweet and sour. Their fried rice is never greasy, and when we get it with pork or chicken there is a sufficient amount of chopped meat to be an entree, too. Beef with Broccoli - how DO they get that meat so tender? Meals are ready on time for pick-up, and we think the price is a good value, too. Worth the drive for us.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    1
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Not my kind of Chinese food.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

I'm used to good Chinese food, having been there more than once, and this is NOT it - at least from my perspective. Seems to be popular enough with locals, but I think it's perhaps a bit too Americanized. Took my six-year-old there and she couldn't eat anything but the rice. She has been raised on Chinese food and we were both sorely disappointed. On a positive note, the staff did seem friendly enough. Just not my cup of tea.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, Illinois
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“best chinese food in lakecounty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

eggrolls are to die for shrimp lobster sauce is amazing. takeout is great as it stays hot for a long time. veryquite inside,prefer takeout

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Specials”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Like many Chinese restaurants they have lunch specials with egg roll, soup and entree. For the price very good food, always had good service also.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Chinese Food - consistently delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2009

We've been ordering carry out from Henry Yee's Kitchen for almost 20 years... always great food. We especially love the egg rolls and spicy lo mein. Friendly fast service. Order is always right and ready between 20 and 30 minutes from call.

Can't rate the service IN the restaurant itself, because we never eat AT the restaurant. Looks nice enough, so it's not for any reason other than habit.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henry Yee's Kitchen also viewed

Grayslake, Lake County
 
Grayslake, Lake County
Grayslake, Lake County
 

Been to Henry Yee's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Henry Yee's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.