We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple pleasant experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Louis / Granite City KOA

St Louis / Granite City KOA
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Granite City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St Louis / Granite City KOA
3157 West Chain of Rocks Road, Granite City, IL 62040   |  
Hotel amenities
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simple pleasant experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Was a bit skeptical about staying here after reading the dismal reviews,but we decided to check out the location before making our decision. The staff that checked us in was very friendly and helpful. The location is in an industrial area, but once inside the campground it was not an issue. Never heard a train horn in three days camping here. The entrance and office area was nicely landscaped and well cared for. The pool was immaculate as it was new last year. The playground was okay, not the best i have seen, but was just fine with our kids. The jumping pillow was in a fenced shady area which made supervising little jumpers more pleasant for the adults.
We have a fifth wheel. Sites were situated very close to one another, but we had room enough for what we wanted to do. Each site has a picnic table. All sites and roads are gravel but are well maintained.
The store was well stocked and when they did not have the coffee filters i needed, they gave me a few of their own for free. Very nice of them!!

Overall, this might not be a flashy fancy KOA, but in my opinion it is very undeserving of some of the low reviews it has received.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    8
    9
    6
    12
See reviews for
21
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Millville, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Our trip here was horrible. The Owners were very rude and bathrooms were a disgrace. Then before leaving they charged our credit card twice and our bank had to call and fight with them. I would not recommend this campground

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
collinsville
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

People were nice and very helpful. Campground was clean but wet. Boy did they get the rain!

We stayed in a motorhome. No trouble at all. The area outside may look ruff but in the camp its great.

Kids loved the jump pillow. They just installed cable. This place is very close to the St Louis attractions and they have directions to most. We will be back. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorhead, MN
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed here after an evening in St. Louis previous to another morning in the city. We arrived at the KOA before sundown and the office was already closed. Inconvenient as we thought we had until sunset to check-in. The tent sites were self-choice so we just parked and set up our tent in the dusk. The bathrooms were dated and not as clean as expected from a KOA. The trains were pretty loud overnight which was unexpected. In the morning, we headed back to St. Louis as soon as we could get out of there as it was much more uninviting than we expected. We wouldn’t stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Mixed our reservation up with another family! And lady acted like it was our fault! Shower pressure was way too strong. In a really rough neighborhood too which always makes me weary camping. There was a shooting while we were there at a store down the road.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I've read the other reviews of this campground and noticed that they are a year or more old. I've recently stayed at this facility and found it to be very satisfactory. I tent camp. The rest rooms have been very clean and the pool couldn't be better. The campground is in an industrial setting but once you are inside you don't really notice it. I've always felt safe there, and I see children walking around using the pool and playground. There are train tracks nearby but that really hasn't been an issue.
This camp is definitely not in a wilderness setting but if you are looking for a place to stay while you explore the St. Louis area it works just fine. It's a good alternative to a motel room.

Room Tip: I tent camp so cabins or rooms aren't an issue with me. They let you pitch your tent under the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Kisco, NY
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Spent 1 night tent camping while travelling to Colorado, Not much available for tent camping and had a choice of a site with a large beehive about 20 feet up in the tree or a group area. I picked the bee hive since it was closer to the bathrooms. The bees didn't bother us at all. Staff was very friendly and area was quiet, would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Still looking for a hotel?
Also consider these accommodations in or near Granite City
Casino Queen Hotel and RV Park 4.0 of 5 stars 122 reviews Apple Valley Motel 3.0 of 5 stars 6 reviews
Show Prices
View all 6 hotels in Granite City, ranked by popularity

Been to St Louis / Granite City KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Louis / Granite City KOA

Address: 3157 West Chain of Rocks Road, Granite City, IL 62040
Location: United States > Illinois > Granite City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Granite City
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the closest KOA to St. Louis attractions! Set up camp on Old Route 66, just 12 miles from downtown. See the soaring Gateway Arch. Walk or bike across the Historic Route 66 Chain of Rocks Bridge. Whether you want to cheer on a pro team, shop until you drop or try your luck at casinos, St. Louis has it all! Visit Cahokia Mounds and Lewis and Clark state historic sites, the Missouri Botanical Garden and the unique City Museum. At the campground, you can swim, romp on the playground or play horseshoes. Kids love the free Jumping Pillow. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Louis / Granite City KOA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added St Louis / Granite City KOA to your Saves list