We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid the Restaurant at Pere Marquette Lodge” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pere Marquette Lodge and Conference Center

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grafton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pere Marquette Lodge and Conference Center
13653 Lodge Blvd., Grafton, IL 62037   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Grafton
St. Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Avoid the Restaurant at Pere Marquette Lodge”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

My husband and I ate dinner on a quiet Friday night in April. I say quiet because we were one of three occupied tables in the restaurant. Despite the fact virtually no one was there, the service was terrible. We waited forever to get our drinks, even though we ordered a beer and a glass of wine. Then, the waitress just completely forgot about our appetizer. It became obvious that it wasn't coming when my caesar salad arrived (average at best--very watery dressing). I had the fried walleye, which was actually good. My husband ordered the catfish, which he described as "flavorless." Equally problematic was the atmosphere. Even though we were there for dinner, the lights were glaring and the muzak was on way, way too loud. I usually don't even notice background music, but this actually interfered with the meal. Finally, despite the fact we ate dinner at 7:30, there was a waitress who set up jelly, jam and coffee cups for breakfast service the next morning (presumably). This made you feel as if you were had sat down in the middle of a caterer setting up for an event. If you are looking for finer dining in Grafton, go to the Mississippi Half Step, which is in the heart of town and a better meal in every respect.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    50
    13
    10
    6
See reviews for
32
58
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, Illinois
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We had a great time staying in the lodge at pere marquette state park. So much to do at this park. Our room was spacious equipped with this basics including two comfy beds. The huge Great Room was a highlight we won't soon forget. Its rustic feel was just what we needed to spend quality time with family - food and games. The trails above the lodge are a must and should not be considered trivial for those in the 'it's been awhile' category.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Illinois
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

this was the 2nd stay for my wife and I at one of the cabins at Pere Marquette State Park - since our last visit, the furnishings in the cabin have been upgraded... a very welcome change - our cabin even included bunk beds - cabin was clean, bathroom smelled a little musty - desk staff were very friendly - pool/whirlpool area was clean and well-maintained, although we did have to walk all the way up to the front desk to get towels - breakfast at the Lodge's restaurant was delicious and cooked perfectly - only complaint was that the electric lock on the first cabin assigned to us was inoperable, meaning we had a long walk back to the front desk (a different cabin was then assigned to us)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near St. Louis (IL)
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Just got back from a couple days of celebrating our son's 30th birthday. We stayed in one of the cabins. The only problems we had was that the bathroom was a little small & the shower didn't work, but the person I talked to at the desk (Ashley)was very friendly & assured us it would be fixed. Beds are comfy & we had a relaxing time.
We didn't eat at the restaurant; it's a little pricey, but we have a favorite place to eat in Brussels, which is across the river.

The lodge is beautiful, handicapped accessible, pool is accessible & bigger than most pools in places we've been. Very nice hot tub.
The great room in the lodge has a very nice fireplace, board games & puzzles, and a giant chess board on the floor.

Room Tip: Some of the cottages have a fireplace & a table for dining, but you have to request it. There a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, IL
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a weekend at Pere Marquette Lodge. We stayed in one of the cabins and we just loved it. All of the furniture was brand new. It was the most comfortable hotel bed we've ever slept in. There was a separate living room and bedroom which was very nice. The great room in the lodge was beautiful. There was a fireplace that went all the way to the cathedral ceiling. There was a huge chess set on the floor with 2-3 foot high chess pieces and several box games for children or the entire family to play. There was a very nice casual restaurant that's open for breakfast, lunch and dinner with a very wide selection. There is also a breakfast buffet. There is a heated indoor pool, dry sauna, jaccuzzi, and exercise room. There is also a wine tasting room. There's a visitor center with interesting wildlife exhibits and videos. There is a scenic drive through the park with pullouts and hiking trails. The lodge overlooks the Mississippi River. If you're lucky you may even spot a bald eagle. Everyone was very pleasant. We plan on returning.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. louis
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We ate at the restaurant during a short driving trip to see the sights. It was refreshing to see they offered a vegetarian mushroom sandwich, although it was slightly pricey. The food was delivered quickly but my husband's soup was forgotten until we reminded the waitress and she caught herself forgetting to exchange the fries for slaw. The challenges were quickly fixed. Overall, my husband's salad looked great but the mushroom sandwich was basically a mushroom/dressing sandwich that was average in flavor.

Coffee was slow to be refilled and dirty dishes were left on the table for our final cup of coffee. While the food was served quickly on this busy Sunday in Eagle-viewing season, the overall combination of "okay" service, "okay" food in a lovely decorated restaurant made for an average meal.

If you are in the area and desire to eat something other than fried fish or at the bar-styled eateries in Grafton in winter, the Pere Marquette Lodge is solid choice for substance but may not be an ideal experience for those dreaming of something more.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

For our anniversary and husband's birthday we returned to the beautiful Pere Marquette Lodge. Our first contact was lovely Rose at the front desk, who greeted us warmly with the smile of an angel. Our spacious room was clean and the bed so comfortable, you felt as if you were sinking in a big cloud. Supper in the goregous dinning room in front of the immense fireplace, was great and our waitress, Crystal was so attentive and friendly. My husband enjoyed the succulent fried chicken and I ordered the French onion soup, that is like a first kiss; UNFORGETTABLE. We had such a great time, and I got some beautiful gifts at the craft fair. Our last meal was breakfast and our waitress Amy was a delight. She was so much fun, and we really enjoyed her gift of laughter to us. We hated to leave but before we left,we made reservations for next year with a gracious and beautiful Raynae at the front desk. We thank them all for making us feel so special and we highly recommend this beautiful place and wonderful staff. Carol and Jerry.....Decatur Il.

Room Tip: Our room was on second floor, but they are all beautiful accommodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pere Marquette Lodge and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pere Marquette Lodge and Conference Center

Address: 13653 Lodge Blvd., Grafton, IL 62037
Location: United States > Illinois > Grafton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Grafton
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thanks for visiting. Pere Marquette was built in the 1930's by the Civil Conservation Corps. The lodge is nestled withing the confines of the 8000 acre Pere Marquette State Park.The lodge has fifty guest rooms within the main building, some with park views and some with views of the Illinois river. The cabins sit 100 feet from the main building and contain 22 cabin rooms. All of the rooms have been updated with new beds, furniture and 32" tvs.The lodge also has a full service dining room open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and a wine tasting room.Hiking, biking, nature, kayaking, tennis, volleyball, horseback riding, boating, Raging Rivers Waterpark, shopping, 45 minutes to downtown St. Louis ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pere Marquette Hotel Grafton
Pere Marquette Lodge And Conference Center Grafton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pere Marquette Lodge and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pere Marquette Lodge and Conference Center to your Saves list