We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step back in time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ruebel Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ruebel Hotel to your Saves list
Ruebel Hotel
217 E. Main Street, Grafton, IL 62037   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grafton
Brimfield, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Step back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We weren't quite sure what to expect when we booked the Ruebel hotel in Grafton but it was only two blocks from a wedding that we were going to so we took the chance and I have to say we were pleasantly surprised. We arrived a little early but they went ahead and let us check in anyway. Walking into this hotel is like stepping back 100 years. From the front entrance, through the lobby and all the way to the room I felt like we were in a scene from an early John Wayne movie. Not to say that is was old and run down, quite the opposite. We had all the modern conveniences and it was obvious that it was very well taken care of. The room was absotlutely spotless as was the entire hotel. Each floor has its own little outside patio and the staff was extremely friendly. It is right down-town and withing walking distance of resturants, shops and about anything you could want. We stayed here simply because it was convenient and close to the wedding, however, we are now planning to go back just to stay at the Ruebel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    22
    5
    6
    8
See reviews for
10
68
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Rented 6 rooms with friends for a night. Walking distance to so many fun places. Food delicious. Owner, staff outstanding service. Friend left his wallet in bar, waitress found and returned this morning, honest young lady! Will return again! So accomadating!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My daughter and I stayed the weekend of 9/27-9/28. The staff couldn't have been more exceptable (most notably, Cyrus (not sure if that is spelled right), Dawn & Joe (who went over and above helping us find something - thank you again). Room was clean, comfortable and quiet. Food was very good. Thanks again for the great experience!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My Wife and I were looking for a nice long scenic motorcycle ride so we followed Illinois Route 100 along the Illinois river until we hit Grafton The ride was what we hoped for and the highway was full of fellow bikers We knew there were lots of bars and wineries there as well as places to eat so we called on a Thursday for a Saturday reservation. This is not a big place and we got one of the last 3 rooms It was clean and fairly quiet despite all of the motorcycles and street traffic The bar is impressive and dates back to the 1903 worldsfair There is also a deck that overlooks the river The food was good and the beer was cold! I'm planning on going back , Maybe in the Fall and I would stay here again. Also, they have free Wi-Fi which is always a plus in my book .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Nice, clean inn. Friendly staff. Great price for rooms and location. Cool bar that was from the S. Louis World's Fair in the early 1900s. Had an eerie experience...heard tapping on my hotel room door, got up to see who was there...no one. Did it a couple more times, and the same thing happened. I later asked the front desk guy is the hotel had a history of ghosts, and he said yes, especially the back part of the hotel where our room was. Thought so.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

The feeling of this hotel is just wonderful. Full of charm and comfy beds.

The location is perfect to walk to everything you would want to see with the town. Having a restaurant attached is very cinvenient as well...though the kitchen closes at 9 pm...like every other place in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed there for the weekend and had 2 different rooms because we got the last room they had . We upgraded the next night when one was available . Both room`s were Fantastic . Bed`s were very compfortable , everything is clean , Internet and dish ,and a refrigerator . The owner`s and the staff were very helpful and very nice . Just a Beautiul old hotel kept very Nostalgic . The bar at the hotel is Gorgeous and the beer was cold what more could I want ? We`ll be back when the leaves are changing . Ginger & Chris

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoKhamee, Owner at Ruebel Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We continually try to keep the nostalgia of the hotel while trying to give our customers up to date amenities for their comfort. Our standard rooms which are the cheapest are small but very nostalgic as it reminds people just how it was back then. They are very cozy and comfortable. Bigger is not always better in some instances. We greatly appreciate having customers like yourself. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ruebel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruebel Hotel

Address: 217 E. Main Street, Grafton, IL 62037
Location: United States > Illinois > Grafton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grafton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ruebel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruebel Hotel Grafton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruebel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.