We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly Disappointed....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Platform One-Romiley

Platform One-Romiley
Stockport Road, Romiley SK6 4BN, England
+(44)161 406 8686
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 11 Restaurants in Romiley
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Slightly Disappointed....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Went to Platform One on Saturday and although the Staff were great, both meals ordered were disappointing. I ordered the Fish and my Husband ordered the Steak, medium rare. We waited quite a while for the meal to be served and were also left a while with empty glasses. I dont have an issue with waiting however the restaurant wasn't busy, no large groups and we hadn't ordered a starter. When the Steak came it looked fine but was overdone, no pinkness to the meat, the fish was also overdone and quite dry. I am not sure if there was an issue in the kitchen as it seems we were waiting a long time. I would have told the waitress however I will be honest and say I was hungry and didnt want to wait if they offered to re do it (!!) as by this point it was 21.30pm. I will try it again to give it the benefit of the doubt as everywhere has an 'off' moment.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    20
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockport
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“One of the Best Bistro's for Miles around!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I have eaten with friends and family at Platform One on many occasions since they opened and have also attended one or two private functions here. The food is top quality with a wide and varied menu choice and moreover, great atmosphere and great value for money. The sunday roast is second to none and as close to home as you can get! The Landlady pays great attention to detail as far as quality, presentation and service goes and they have a fantastic selection of quality wines, spirits and guest beers. We have struggled to get a table sometimes so "hint", to avoid disappointment, book in advance! The function room/restaurant upstairs is a great place to have a "doo" - It has it's own bar and dedicated staff. Also, If you like live music, they have some great live bands/singers on occasions and themed music/dining evenings so it's worth keeping an eye on their dedicated website. It's a really great place to go and they cater for all here, No hesitation at all in recommending Platform One!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best place around! Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

What a brilliant bar/restaraunt this is. I have been a few times since my first visit and everytime it has been just as good as the time before.

The food is excellent and very good value for money. All the dishes i have had have been presented exceptionally and taste great. The service has always been A1 too, the staff are friendly, quick to check on you , and provide a really good level of service for such a nice restaraunt.

The decor and facilities of the place are really nice, they are modern and tasteful. It genuinely does have a "homely" atmosphere and is one of the reasons I have returned since.

Aside from the eatery, there is also a bar downstairs that has a wide range of real ales, lagers, ciders, wine and shorts. The seating areas a comfy and the "snug" is tucked away which feels a lot more intimate when out with someone special or a group of friends.

I could go on and on, but this place really is something you need to try for yourself. I haven't been disappointed yet and don't know anyone that I have recommended too either. Can't wait for my next visit, summer time in the outdoor area will add an extra spark that other pubs just don't have in the area. At least not to such a high standard. Brilliant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch, good value but service a little slow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Treated to lunch here by friends this was our first visit to Platform One and we were very pleasantly surprised having heard a variety of differing reports. We chose from the three course senior citizens menu. All the courses were beautifully presented and the portions not too large. As you get older it is easy to become over-faced in some pubs and restaurants. The main course was hot and fresh with just 'cooked-right' vegetables. We were looked after well and only the long delay between the main and sweet course prevented me from giving an 'excellent' review.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Platform 1Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Had an excellent lunch with a friend to-day Very friendly and helpful staff Good value Will visit again

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Platform One-Romiley also viewed

Romiley, Greater Manchester
Romiley, Greater Manchester
 
Romiley, Greater Manchester
Romiley, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Platform One-Romiley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Platform One-Romiley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.