We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Superb Gourmet Deli” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Foodstuffs

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Foodstuffs
1454 Waukegan Rd, Glenview, IL 60025-2121
(847) 832-9999
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 138 Restaurants in Glenview
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“A Superb Gourmet Deli”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I love the salads , sandwiches , and baked goods at Foodstuffs. The quality is just superb. Everything has a fresh and homemade taste to it. The variety of items is superb. The service is also polite and very helpful. There is plenty of parking. I'll never get bored with going to Foodstuffs when I return from Kenya to visit my mother. It is amazing how they have maintained their standards after all these years. It is indeed a very special place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Quality food at a price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

You cannot go wrong with Foodstuffs...great food but you pay for it. Chicken salad and fruit salad - fresh and tender. I did have a prepackaged type of Argentine cookie with de luce ???? Not so good... in fact very dry and I spit it out. But that is not typical of Food stuff. The day I was there - very quiet... service staff at the deli counter was eager to please. The check out staff was pleasant to me but there was some problem ahead of me and I could sense the tension in the air. I got my stuff and left. OH, the English Toffee at Christmas Time cannot be beat

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
607 helpful votes 607 helpful votes
“Salads you create, sandwiches deli - better than Suzi Creamcheese!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Create a salad and it's freshly chopped per YOUR specifications, I like design your own, or choose one of their posted creations - they'll be healthy and fresh - priced right, too! I added a beef sandwich on 7 grain with cheese and mustard - a delicacy! My daughter had a turkey and cheese pannini BIG sandwich! Tables inside or outside. Friendly staff, great prices. We sat and relaxed outside watching birds, dogs and people. Relaxing time, excellent food and company. Recommended! 7 days a week, M-F to 6:30p, Sat to 6:00p, Sun to 5:30p. They CATER, too if you have a party or business, they'd make an excellent lunch!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Special Occasions & Ravinia....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

This is a specialty deli, but not a deli. Pricey picnic stuff and specialty foods. Fresh. Known for "Ravinia" baskets. Decent baked goods/breads. Similar to Convito Italiano (Plaza Del Lago) but not strictly Italian....

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moweaqua, il
1 review
“Taco Tuesday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

Wow! What a great deal and awesome tacos. Great for quick pick-up and budget friendly.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foodstuffs also viewed

 

Been to Foodstuffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foodstuffs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.