We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Fish Dishes and Salads,Otherwise Nothing Special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Johnny's Kitchen & Tap

Johnny's Kitchen & Tap
1740 Milwaukee Ave, Glenview, IL 60025-1441
847-699-9999
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Johnny's Kitchen & Tap is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 134 Restaurants in Glenview
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Euclid Ave
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good Fish Dishes and Salads,Otherwise Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I've eaten at Johnny's many times before when I return to the states to visit my mother. The fishes dishes and salads are very good. The service is always prompt and friendly. However the other dishes are quite ordinary as is the bread. I feel that it is a rather ordinary place. Nevertheless I do recommend the fish dishes as well as the salads. It can of course be quite noisy when crowded.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    22
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glenview, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Waste of Money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

I ordered a full slab rib dinner from here on St Patricks Day. I picked it up around 4:45pm. The sauce was dripping off the slab, like it had just been poured on, not baked on. Which turned out to be the case, because the ribs themselves were cold to the touch and so tough, I could barely pull the meat from the bones with a knife, never mind my teeth. The baked potato had been nuked so long it was a slimey paste. I threw the meal away.

I emailed the establishment through their website that same night and never even received the courtesy of a reply. How they get away with running a business like this is beyond me.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Plaines
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“You Must Be Kidding”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This place is one step above an old style snack shop. Predictable menu, lackluster service, bland presentation and frozen heated up tasting food. Forget about it. Many like it, many don't.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenview il
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“wedding rehearsal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I can't say enough great things about this restaurant it was out of this world.Linda was the best had everything done even had a printed menu for our guest to pick their meal choices. We brought 40 guest everything was served hot and delicious.It was Friday night and as a bonus there was live music.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love it...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Food is always good, the chicken is to die for! Live music and laid back lighting. The servers are quick and you are not waiting a long time. They serve big prtions so bring your appetite or be prepared for a leftovers box.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny's Kitchen & Tap also viewed

 

Been to Johnny's Kitchen & Tap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnny's Kitchen & Tap, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.