We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pizano's Pizza

Pizano's Pizza
1808 N. Waukegan Road, Glenview, IL 60025
(847) 486-1777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 138 Restaurants in Glenview
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I thought this would be nicer version of Lou Malnati with the same pizza and more pasta. The menu looked nice as did the restaurant, but the food was below standard. The appetizer toasted ravioli was expensive and the edges were very hard; the thin crust pizza was just average (not as good as the take-out from Lou's); the pasta was clumpy. Overall, a big disappointment. Spent $60 for two and left wishing I got take-out from Malnati's or went to Moretti's in Edison Park. Won't be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glenview IL
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Will try again in 2 years”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Service is slow and deterrent for coming back. Tried two years ago and same issue. Oh well. Gnocchi mushy. 15 min for water.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Plaines
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The BEST thin crust pizza in the Chicago area, bar none!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This was our first trip to Pizano's in Glenview meeting there with friends. Despite a very busy Saturday night our reservation was honored immediately. The hosts are very accommodating. The server arrived within seconds to take our drink order and present menus. Bread and water arrived at the same time. The variety on the menu is dazzling but the real treat is the thin crust pizza. Tasty crispy crust, just the perfect amount of sauce, cheese and toppings and cooked just right. Not burnt and not undercooked. They know how to do it right. And, the ambience is great. Casual, lots of windows, a little noisy but the place was crowded. Prices are fair. If you love pizza you must try Pizano's. You're in for a real treat!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arlington heights, illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not as good as I expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Well, I'm probably in the minority here, but I have to give my own opinion on Pizano's. I ordered the Italian Wedding soup, and do have to say it probably has to be the worst I have ever tasted. Not to mention the fact that it took 15 minutes for someone to bring it to my table. It looked like egg drop soup and the little meatballs were burnt, tough and dry. There were only 2 little pieces of spinach in the whole bowl. Then we ordered a medium thin crust sausage and mushroom pizza. That took nearly 45 minutes to get to our table. When we complained to our waiter, he said "Oh, we've been understaffed all day." Maybe they should have called in some more staff to help out!!! Pizza was just ok, nothing special and very very salty sausage. This place is loud, loud, loud. We could not even hear our own conversation. A few people even got up and left before ordering because of the noise. And in my opinion, Pizano's is a bit pricey. We will not be going back there. Instead, we will go to the much better Lou Malnati's.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love their pizza!! Love their Pizano Chopped Salad!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Doesn't matter if it's thick or thin Pizano's pizza is DELICIOUS! Wonderful, buttery, crispy crust topped with whatever you may want on a pizza. Their chopped salad is HUGE AND it's REALLY a chopped salad!! Filled with salami, mozarella and chicken!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizano's Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Pizano's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizano's Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.