We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and Clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Chicago North- Glenview

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Chicago North- Glenview to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Motel 6 Chicago North- Glenview
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1535 Milwaukee Avenue, Glenview, IL 60025   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Glenview
Alameda, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cheap and Clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had an athletic competition at North Western University and wanted a clean and as cheap as I could locate place to sleep in for three days. This Motel 6 fit the bill. Recently redone it still had stickers on the toilet fixtures - I suppose they will weather off. NO BEDBUGS. I checked the bedbug registry before making reservations and personal examination once I was there. Of course YMMV. The beds were reasonable, i.e. not so soft or beaten down that I had back issues. Floors very clean and staff was extremely courteous and helpful even as I arrived at 1AM. Note I did call ahead and tell them so. North Western Univ is about 20 minutes away but a straight shot down Lake Ave and through some of the nicest neighborhoods in the area. So unless you want walking distance this was about as good as you'll get. There are several chain restaurants in the area, TGIF, Wendy's, dunkin doughnuts (free wifi), and several non-chain but very good local eateries including a breakfast lunch place across Milwaukee Ave which also has free wifi. I gave the motel a high rating for being more or less at the top of what it is, a low end motel. Clean and absolutely no frills. ONE COMPLAINT, they charge for wifi. Only $3/24 hours but it the sort of thing that irks.

Room Tip: Tips, layout has basically three sides, one next to a Freeway (not preferred), one on Milwaukee Ave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    2
    1
    5
See reviews for
3
9
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
crestone
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

My daughter called from here in Colorado to book a room for 4 nights. You would think that was a simple thing... I sat right here with her while she made the resevation with the phone on speaker. The man on the phone quoted her a price for her stay. He stated that it would be 142.00 with a dog.. 102.00 without. "Wow" said my daughter "really? thats a great price" "So" she said ""142.00 with the dog and 102.00 with out"... he said "yes"...they went over the nights she would be there and when she would check in and out etc..the price is great. He has repeated it several times as they confirmed things and so ofcourse she books the room. My daughter arrived there this evening to check in. She is tired. She just drove from Colorado. . she fills out the paper work,shows her i.d. etc. and gives them her card. They ran it for 244.88. "WAIT" she says. "I was quoted such n such." The girl at the front desk basically says too bad...."Thats what we charge" ...Well not according to the guy on the phone. I heard what he said myself and she would not have booked the room. We would have looked further. Granted we may have come back but she also would have budgeted for it. I called the front desk and asked when a manager would be in. I am mad. Really hoping they make this right. I'll let you know.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Stayed for one night only after seeing other TripAdvisor reviews. I was a bit sceptical about all the positive comments for a $55 hotel because we recently had an unpleasant stay in a 'budget' hotel so, I asked to see a room before we paid.

The room was spotless it had recently been refurbished, new laminate floor, new furnishings etc, so we booked in. We were given free wi fi , the desk clerk was very helpful and all the staff we spoke to were very pleasant. Coffee only provided in the morning

Hotel within walking distance of several restaurants and on the edge of a nice residential area. The hotel is situated very close to the Interstate we asked for a quiet room and were given one

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at this property many times over the years. Initially it was a close local to a customer I visit. Since the remodel , I would consider this motel the best value on the North Shore. Nothing fancy, very clean, great localion and the staff almost always more than helpful. I would suggest that you avoid the rooms closest to I 294.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Stayed a little longer than I normally do in hotels for business. This Motel 6 is one of the newer remodeled versions with the retro feel. No issues or problems with hotel. You must pay nightly for wifi which is a little annoying to walk to the office every night when you wish to renew. Staff was friendly. Comfortable beds. Amazing choices of places to eat within walking distance, especially if you enjoy any of the different asian cuisines. I would recommend

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back of the hotel have better parking and quicker/ more private access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

I am surprised at the most recent reviews! My husband family lives in Chicago so we go there quite a bit to visit. Whenever we do, we stay at this Motel and we have never been disappointed! It has always been spotless and quiet. The staff is very helpful and they did a great job remodeling the place! I personally would of chose a different color scheme but that is just opinion :) We have never had a complaint!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

Staying here was ok for one night. They claim it was a Non smoking hotel, but my room Stank like nasty cigs. If you happen to get a room on the side with the high way. Good luck sleeping with the window open. There is a nice TGIF Fridays in walking distance good food and drinks. The front desk was hard to understand, but were very nice. There are no Shampoo's in the bathroom, I just happen to forget mine, or any books around telling you what is around the hotel to do. Also the walls are extermly thin...You can hear a lot of different things. The Wifi is also not free.... Hope this helps

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Motel 6 Chicago North- Glenview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Chicago North- Glenview

Also Known As:
Motel 6 Chicago North- Glenview Hotel Glenview
Motel 6 Chicago North- Glenview Hotel
Motel 6 Glenview
Motel Six Glenview
Glenview Motel 6
Glenview Motel Six
Address: 1535 Milwaukee Avenue, Glenview, IL 60025
Location: United States > Illinois > Glenview
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Glenview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Chicago North- Glenview 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Chicago North Glenview is located off I-294 near Palwaukee Municipal Airport, Town & Country Mall, Allstate Arena, Arlington Park, and of course dining. All guest rooms have a modern look and Wi-Fi available $2.99 Per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Motel 6 Chicago North- Glenview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Chicago North- Glenview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.