We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, family atmosphere, unpretentious, great food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Barone's Family Style Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Barone's Family Style Restaurant
475 Pennsylvania Ave, Glen Ellyn, IL 60137-4441
(630) 858-0555
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 82 Restaurants in Glen Ellyn
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Friendly, family atmosphere, unpretentious, great food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

A regular of this restaurant. The food, atmosphere, and service always geat. Nothing "fancy", just good food and friendly atmosphere!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    15
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great thin crust pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I have been enyoying Barone's of Glen Elly for 14 years. This was once part of a small family held chain of local pizzerias (their was another in nearby Lisle, but subsequent owners with poor business acumen led to closure).
Beer and wine offered but no hard liquor and they are not open for lunch. If adventurous, would recommend the Pepperoncini Pizza...spicy and tasty.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Best deep dish in Chicago!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Love their pizza. Anyone who visits from out of town insists that we take them here! Very nice dining area inside does not match outside of building.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Popular & crowded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

An excellent choice for families. Kids are kept occupied with crayons, games & toys - we had to wait 45 minutes for a pan pizza and the kids were too busy to get restless. Lucky we got there before 6PM on a Friday; they were packed when we left. Service was great and the pizza was so good that I couldn't believe I have known about this restaurant for years but this was our first visit. I want to go back and try the thin crust and also the stuffed pizza!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Pizza plus a wide variety of Italian dishes.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Normally our family goes to Barone's for Pizza. They put all the ingredients on the Pizza then cover it all with Cheese. They serve great Italian bread and also have great mussels in marinara sauce. Children love the place because they have a playroom with several electronic games. Great service and free parking in their own lot. Beer and wine at reasonable prices.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barone's Family Style Restaurant also viewed

Glen Ellyn, DuPage County
Glen Ellyn, DuPage County
 
Glen Ellyn, DuPage County
Glen Ellyn, DuPage County
 

Been to Barone's Family Style Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barone's Family Style Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.