We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Italian Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marinella Italian Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Marinella Italian Restaurant
548 Duane St, Glen Ellyn, IL 60137-4676
630-469-7277
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 82 Restaurants in Glen Ellyn
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Glen Ellyn
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Favorite Italian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is my "Go To" place for any event when the restaurant choice is mine. My family always knows where to take me for my birthday! Enjoyed a Father's Day dinner at Marinella last week. Ate on their outdoor patio and had a delicious meal in a relaxing atmosphere. Their wine list is very good and reasonably priced. My wife and I both chose linguini with calamari and it was prepared perfectly. Although we love their pastas, we have also been very pleased with seafood and chicken dishes at Marinella. Joe is an excellent host and also hosts private parties. I give my strongest recommendation.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glen Ellyn
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We often eat at Marinella's (Glen Ellyn, Illinois) and never tire of the food, drink, and great hosts (Joe and his family). i'm very particular about my Italian food and find Marinella's outstanding in quality and taste!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pizza, Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I'm a pizza junkie and I love their homemade pizza. Fresh homemade dough. It's a great local spot. The Italian food is fresh and enjoyable. The rotolo is very good. Outdoor seating in the spring, summer and fall is nice.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ell
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Family dining in a comfortable atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

No need to dress it up. Marinella's is a comfortable family-owned restaurant with consistently good food and service. Good wine selection. Our favorite is to dine in the outdoor patio area in the summer and fall months. In the Christmas season, the family creates a huge enclosed nativity scene in an enclosed area that can be viewed on the patio by diners who wish to go outside for a look. The kids really enjoy it.

Pasta is the specialty and the pizza is good too. The dinner salad is a bit uninspiring, but the bread is always warm and fresh.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Family owned and operated restaurant for over 35 years in Glen Ellyn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This restaurant has been serving our family for thirtyfive years in Glen Ellyn. They have good prices, and good pasta as well as chicken and veal dishes. Want a simple dessert, ask for a tray of cookies or a serving of gelato, which are available, but not on the menu.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marinella Italian Restaurant also viewed

Glen Ellyn, DuPage County
Glen Ellyn, DuPage County
 
Glen Ellyn, DuPage County
Glen Ellyn, DuPage County
 

Been to Marinella Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marinella Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.