We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“College dorm this is not” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Water's Edge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glen Ellyn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Water's Edge
Save
You added Inn at Water's Edge to your Saves list
425 Fawell Blvd., Culinary and Hospitality Center at College of DuPage, Glen Ellyn, IL 60137   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Glen Ellyn
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“College dorm this is not”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

While I did not spend the night at the Water's Edge, I did book the room for my brother-in-law who was visiting us in Glen Ellyn; I did have opportunity to have a detailed visit of the rooms. Judging by the undiluted enthusiasm expressed by him during his visit, I am happy to give maximum stars for this property. If you are able to get the employee rate, that represents an outstanding value. Should you get the Saturday night brunch package with the adjoining Waterleaf, that also seems like a great value too. The biggest challenge facing a visitor might be finding the entrance on the college campus; it is somewhat obscure nestling near the currently under-construction arts center.

The room is large and lavishly appointed, tastefully decorated and quiet, while affording a pleasant view over the water. Unlimited espresso is on tap courtesy of a Lavazza machine in the hallway, where breakfast is also provided of a morning. The walk-in shower is perhaps the highlight.

Anti-tax critics might question the use of the taxpayers' money in the construction and running of this "laboratory for students" but, that aside, it makes for a great place to stay where options are few and far between.

Room Tip: All six rooms face the same direction so they are essentially all alike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie F, Manager at Inn at Water's Edge, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to give such a detailed review of our hotel. Thank you for bringing up your challenge in finding our hotel. We continue to work with the college on additional signage for the hotel. I hope that you have an opportunity to stay with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
28
7
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Our stay at the Inn at Water's Edge October 14-16 was absolutely lovely and so inviting for any guest. What a great find!!! Very comfortable room, impressive bathroom, delicious food and the staff were extremely helpful & welcoming. We would definitely go back in the future and recommend to family and friends. Thank you so much!!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie F, Manager at Inn at Water's Edge, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your willingness to refer your friends and family and would love the opportunity to have them stay with us. We hope to see you and your husband again in the future! Thank you for choosing Inn at Water's Edge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeeland, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Wonderful hotel in a very quiet area. Very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Extremely clean and well laid out room. The bathroom is large and very functional. Comfortable bed. Will definitely be back in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie F, Manager at Inn at Water's Edge, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us this weekend! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to do a review. We hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The view was pretty and the staff was friendly. The room was generally nice, but some aspects seemed to be designed more to look nice than for practical use. In particular, I found the desk wasn't deep enough and not well enough lit to do serious work.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie F, Manager at Inn at Water's Edge, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us! I appreciate your comments on the lighting and design of our rooms. This will allow us to make changes and improve our guest experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

What a wonderful stay on a week night. The room and bathroom are everything you want it to be. Clean, quiet, luxurious, comfortable. The breakfast was great too - coffee, fresh fruit and pastries. What a gem!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie F, Manager at Inn at Water's Edge, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! I appreciate your genuine feedback and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

This is a great place in every way. Room was large, CLEAN, quiet, comfy beds, classy and has everything you need for a great nights stay. The breakfast was nice and had enough of everything to get you going in the morning.

We've stayed at a lot of hotels during our travels, and the Inn at Water's Edge holds its own against any hotel brand out there. We would stay here again in a heart beat.

Well done Water's Edge!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie F, Manager at Inn at Water's Edge, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! It was a pleasure to have you with us and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

chose this place based on existing reviews... i second all the praises!
clean, nicely furnished, nice water view, friendly staff (either paid professional or dupage students in training). very nice restaurant too (mon, tue it is operated by the students and their instructors), other days its leased out to a professional group. i enjoyed both meals. expect some minor "learning curves" from students in training, but none that interfere with the visit; if anything - made it charmier.
minor issues: (a) no refrigerator/micro in the rooms (but they will allow you to use a centrally located one). (b) took me a while to find the place within the collage. (apparently most students don't know about "Inn at Water's Edge", but they DO know the "Culinary and Hospitality Center", so ask for the later if lost.
highly recommended!

Room Tip: there are only 6 rooms; all with the same lake view. so i don't think you can go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie F, Manager at Inn at Water's Edge, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay this week. You pointed out two issues that we will certainly address. Although we offer our kitchen refrigerator to our hotel guests, I agree that one in our rooms would be a nicer touch. Additionally, locating our hotel can be challenging. I will work with my team to address this further. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and want to thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Water's Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Water's Edge

Address: 425 Fawell Blvd., Culinary and Hospitality Center at College of DuPage, Glen Ellyn, IL 60137
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Glen Ellyn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Glen Ellyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Water’s Edge features six beautifully appointed, eco-friendly rooms designed for your comfort and convenience in Glen Ellyn, IL.Discover a world-class inn close to home• Luxury accommodations with walk-in marble shower, flat-screen TV, wireless Internet access and more• Floor-to-ceiling windows with beautiful waterside views • Concierge lounge• Continental breakfast daily from 7 to 10 a.m.• In-room dining service (lunch and dinner) fromWaterleaf, our signature fine dining venue• Nightly turndown service• Front desk open round-the-clock• Bell staff• Private keyed access to hotel floorRoom Service HoursLunch is available Wednesday through Friday, 11:30 a.m. to 2 p.m.; Saturday, 11:30 a.m. to 2:30 p.m.; Sunday Brunch, 11:00 a.m. to 2:30 p.m.Dinner is available Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday, 5 to 8:30 p.m.Deluxe Meeting SpaceSilverleaf is the perfect option for business events from high-tech corporate functions to more intimate business meetings.• Accommodates up to 100 guests• Variety of room setup options • Built-in LCD projector and screen for presentations• Large windows overlooking lovely landscaped grounds and pond• Menu options provided by Waterleaf, our signature fine dining venue ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Water's Edge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.