We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Water's Edge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glen Ellyn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Inn at Water's Edge
Save Saved
You added Inn at Water's Edge to your Saves list
425 Fawell Blvd., Culinary and Hospitality Center at College of DuPage, Glen Ellyn, IL 60137   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Glen Ellyn
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

This is a great place in every way. Room was large, CLEAN, quiet, comfy beds, classy and has everything you need for a great nights stay. The breakfast was nice and had enough of everything to get you going in the morning.

We've stayed at a lot of hotels during our travels, and the Inn at Water's Edge holds its own against any hotel brand out there. We would stay here again in a heart beat.

Well done Water's Edge!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie F, Manager at Inn at Water's Edge, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! It was a pleasure to have you with us and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
27
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

chose this place based on existing reviews... i second all the praises!
clean, nicely furnished, nice water view, friendly staff (either paid professional or dupage students in training). very nice restaurant too (mon, tue it is operated by the students and their instructors), other days its leased out to a professional group. i enjoyed both meals. expect some minor "learning curves" from students in training, but none that interfere with the visit; if anything - made it charmier.
minor issues: (a) no refrigerator/micro in the rooms (but they will allow you to use a centrally located one). (b) took me a while to find the place within the collage. (apparently most students don't know about "Inn at Water's Edge", but they DO know the "Culinary and Hospitality Center", so ask for the later if lost.
highly recommended!

Room Tip: there are only 6 rooms; all with the same lake view. so i don't think you can go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie F, Manager at Inn at Water's Edge, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay this week. You pointed out two issues that we will certainly address. Although we offer our kitchen refrigerator to our hotel guests, I agree that one in our rooms would be a nicer touch. Additionally, locating our hotel can be challenging. I will work with my team to address this further. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and want to thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The Inn at Waters Edge is an amazing 8 room boutique hotel housed and ran by the College of DuPage hospitality program. The LEED certified building is amazing and the students do a great job of providing over the top hospitality. I would highly recommend a stay here if you are in the suburbs of Chicago.

Room Tip: All rooms have a lake side view. Free espresso in the lobby!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie F, Manager at Inn at Water's Edge, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
It was such a pleasure to have you stay this week while working with the culinary instructors. Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to review your stay! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We heard about the wonderful dining and excellent hotel at the Inn at Water's Edge located at the College of DuPage in Glen Ellyn, Illinois, and decided to stay overnight. Our friends who recommended the Inn were planning on an overnight visit so we decided to join them and they have nothing but high praise for the establishment. The service provide by the hotel and restaurant staff is exceptional. My wife and I had returned from Paris, France the previous day and the quality of food and service was equal to the finest restaurants in Paris! The food was well prepared and the Inn offers a variety of selections plus a few off-menu specials. After dinner we moved to a patio area overlooking a pond with a fountain enjoying after dinner drinks. The rooms are very well appointed with upscale furnishings and fixtures, tile floors and walls in the bathrooms, a flat screen television (with 300+ channels), a work space, plus complimentary breakfast each morning. We will be revisiting the Inn at Water's Edge soon, and I would recommend it with my highest praise!

Room Tip: The Inn at Water's Edge has only 6 to 10 rooms, but you can choose a Queen size bed with a sofa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie F, Manager at Inn at Water's Edge, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always nice to hear our guest comments especially when we're compared to Paris! Thank you for such praises! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My fiancé and I travelled home recently to meet her family. It was a delightful surprise to learn that her hometown of Glen Ellyn had fostered the development of a college setting to include a school of culinary and hospitality for students. As she is a former educator, this spot was a natural stopping point for the two of us. Little did we know, however, how comfortable and peaceful a setting we would encounter. Also, the staff treated us with professionalism and warmth. We sang the praises of the Inn at Water's Edge and the Waterleaf restaurant to everyone we encountered and will continue to do so. This is an opportunity you should not less pass you by!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie F, Manager at Inn at Water's Edge, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay! We enjoyed having your company last week and hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels before returning home. We appreciate the recommendations you've been passing along and hope to see some of your friends and family in the future. Take care and thank you again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights on one of our very frequent trips to Glen Ellyn. First let me say that after living in GE for 25 years I thought I knew everywhere there is to stay, but I happened upon this perfect place on this very site and I thought it sounded wonderful. Wonderful does not even begin to describe what we found, to start with the staff was exceptional and exceedingly attentive...We were greeted by name each time we entered or exited the hotel. The room while not overly spacious was luxuriously appointed with attention paid to every detail, we slept so well each night that upon arriving home I called the hotel to find out what kind of mattress it was. But what made the biggest impression on us was the continental breakfast. The breakfast consisted of fresh fruit and juices, homemade bread, Danish, and yogurt which I will be craving for a long time to come, cereals, coffee, expresso, and the loveliest tea box with a very nice assortment.
The staff also recommended the on site resturant which we tried and it was exquisite.
To sum up our stay, from our entrance which viewed an enormous, gleaming industrial sized kitchen behind glass to a friendly conversational check out this hotel is and will remain on my top ten list.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie F, Manager at Inn at Water's Edge, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you and your husband stay with us this past week! I loved hearing all the stories of the past COD that you remember. I want to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel here on Trip Advisor. Our guests appreciate seeing past guest reviews and yours was wonderful. I'm glad you enjoyed everything and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My son and I travelled to Glen Ellyn for a baseball tournament and decided to make it a father-son weekend in the Chicago area. We were lucky enough to find the Inn on Water's Edge on Trip Advisor.

This hotel is just perfect. It is part the DuPage College's School of Hospitality. The staff are well trained and enthusiastic students. The service is absolutely excellent. The rooms are elegantly designed and very comfortable. Everything makes for a memorable, relaxing stay. Highly, highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie F, Manager at Inn at Water's Edge, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
It was such a pleasure to have you and your son stay with us this weekend. I'm happy to hear that you found us through Trip Advisor as it has been one of our main focuses lately. Although you don't have plans to visit our area in the near future I know that we will see you again soon. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Water's Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Water's Edge

Address: 425 Fawell Blvd., Culinary and Hospitality Center at College of DuPage, Glen Ellyn, IL 60137
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Glen Ellyn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Glen Ellyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Water’s Edge features six beautifully appointed, eco-friendly rooms designed for your comfort and convenience in Glen Ellyn, IL.Discover a world-class inn close to home• Luxury accommodations with walk-in marble shower, flat-screen TV, wireless Internet access and more• Floor-to-ceiling windows with beautiful waterside views • Concierge lounge• Continental breakfast daily from 7 to 10 a.m.• In-room dining service (lunch and dinner) fromWaterleaf, our signature fine dining venue• Nightly turndown service• Front desk open round-the-clock• Bell staff• Private keyed access to hotel floorRoom Service HoursLunch is available Wednesday through Friday, 11:30 a.m. to 2 p.m.; Saturday, 11:30 a.m. to 2:30 p.m.; Sunday Brunch, 11:00 a.m. to 2:30 p.m.Dinner is available Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday, 5 to 8:30 p.m.Deluxe Meeting SpaceSilverleaf is the perfect option for business events from high-tech corporate functions to more intimate business meetings.• Accommodates up to 100 guests• Variety of room setup options • Built-in LCD projector and screen for presentations• Large windows overlooking lovely landscaped grounds and pond• Menu options provided by Waterleaf, our signature fine dining venue ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Water's Edge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.