We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem in the western suburbs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Water's Edge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glen Ellyn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Water's Edge
425 Fawell Blvd., Culinary and Hospitality Center at College of DuPage, Glen Ellyn, IL 60137   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Glen Ellyn
Plantation, Florida
1 review
“A hidden gem in the western suburbs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My fiancé and I travelled home recently to meet her family. It was a delightful surprise to learn that her hometown of Glen Ellyn had fostered the development of a college setting to include a school of culinary and hospitality for students. As she is a former educator, this spot was a natural stopping point for the two of us. Little did we know, however, how comfortable and peaceful a setting we would encounter. Also, the staff treated us with professionalism and warmth. We sang the praises of the Inn at Water's Edge and the Waterleaf restaurant to everyone we encountered and will continue to do so. This is an opportunity you should not less pass you by!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie F, Manager at Inn at Water's Edge, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay! We enjoyed having your company last week and hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels before returning home. We appreciate the recommendations you've been passing along and hope to see some of your friends and family in the future. Take care and thank you again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
25
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights on one of our very frequent trips to Glen Ellyn. First let me say that after living in GE for 25 years I thought I knew everywhere there is to stay, but I happened upon this perfect place on this very site and I thought it sounded wonderful. Wonderful does not even begin to describe what we found, to start with the staff was exceptional and exceedingly attentive...We were greeted by name each time we entered or exited the hotel. The room while not overly spacious was luxuriously appointed with attention paid to every detail, we slept so well each night that upon arriving home I called the hotel to find out what kind of mattress it was. But what made the biggest impression on us was the continental breakfast. The breakfast consisted of fresh fruit and juices, homemade bread, Danish, and yogurt which I will be craving for a long time to come, cereals, coffee, expresso, and the loveliest tea box with a very nice assortment.
The staff also recommended the on site resturant which we tried and it was exquisite.
To sum up our stay, from our entrance which viewed an enormous, gleaming industrial sized kitchen behind glass to a friendly conversational check out this hotel is and will remain on my top ten list.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie F, Manager at Inn at Water's Edge, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you and your husband stay with us this past week! I loved hearing all the stories of the past COD that you remember. I want to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel here on Trip Advisor. Our guests appreciate seeing past guest reviews and yours was wonderful. I'm glad you enjoyed everything and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My son and I travelled to Glen Ellyn for a baseball tournament and decided to make it a father-son weekend in the Chicago area. We were lucky enough to find the Inn on Water's Edge on Trip Advisor.

This hotel is just perfect. It is part the DuPage College's School of Hospitality. The staff are well trained and enthusiastic students. The service is absolutely excellent. The rooms are elegantly designed and very comfortable. Everything makes for a memorable, relaxing stay. Highly, highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie F, Manager at Inn at Water's Edge, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
It was such a pleasure to have you and your son stay with us this weekend. I'm happy to hear that you found us through Trip Advisor as it has been one of our main focuses lately. Although you don't have plans to visit our area in the near future I know that we will see you again soon. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
overland park
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The Inn at Water's Edge is the proverbial hidden gem. The hotel is first class all the way. Most important are the people who consistently go the extra mile to make sure all guests are completely happy. The small number of rooms gives the hotel an intimate feel. The restaurant offers fine dining and service to match. I believe the operation takes its spirit for excellence from Jamie Fredericks, Assistant Manager. She is professional, helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie F, Manager at Inn at Water's Edge, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Bruce, thank you for your candid feedback and compliments on Inn at Water's Edge! We are very lucky to host repeat guests like you and your wife. It is always a pleasure to have you stay with us when you visit your daughter! Looking forward to the next time, as always!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Me and my wife celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary. This is a great hotel to stay. From the time we check in Samantha took us to our room and showed us everything. The room is very nice. The bathroom is all marble and there was a walk in shower. the bed was very soft and the pillows were very comfotable. There was also a view of the lake from our window and it was also nice because you can open the window and let the breeze in. There was a note on the table from the manager wishing us on our anniversary and there was also champagne in our room when we arrived. Breakfast was verynice and the selection was great. I would recommend this place for couples who wants time for themselves.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie F, Manager at Inn at Water's Edge, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor! It is always special to be a part of our guests anniversary. Thank you for allowing us to share in such a special occasion; and congratulations again! I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again for your next anniversary, if not sooner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is the second time my wife and I have stayed at your hotel. We will be back again and again. The accommodations are extraordinary and the customer service is exceptional! The affordability of it all makes it a gem of a find! We have decided to make this our in-state get-away a minimum of once a month. Keep up the good work students, you are well on your way!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie F, Manager at Inn at Water's Edge, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
It is always a pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to share your comments! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwyn, Il
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We were going to a graduation party in the afternoon in Glenn Ellyn and decided to get a room for the night.It was also our 21st wedding anniversary.We saw the great reviews for the INN at Water's Edge and gave them a call.We checked in late on Saturday 6-8.Around 7:30.Samantha(the girl at the front desk) could not have been any nicer.

The room was excellent.Large comfortable bed,great pillows.The rooms overlook a pond.Very nice view.The bathroom is large,marble sink.Huge walk in shower.The manager also left us a handwritten note,congratulating us on our anniversary and gave us a bottle of Champagne to celebrate.The continental breakfast in the morning was nice.Looking forward to having an excuse to go back.This hotel was well worth the $115 we spent for a Saturday night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie F, Manager at Inn at Water's Edge, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. Congratulations again on your wedding anniversary! We appreciate you allowing us to be a part of the celebration. Looking forward to having you stay again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at Water's Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Water's Edge

Address: 425 Fawell Blvd., Culinary and Hospitality Center at College of DuPage, Glen Ellyn, IL 60137
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Glen Ellyn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Glen Ellyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Water’s Edge features six beautifully appointed, eco-friendly rooms designed for your comfort and convenience in Glen Ellyn, IL.Discover a world-class inn close to home• Luxury accommodations with walk-in marble shower, flat-screen TV, wireless Internet access and more• Floor-to-ceiling windows with beautiful waterside views • Concierge lounge• Continental breakfast daily from 7 to 10 a.m.• In-room dining service (lunch and dinner) fromWaterleaf, our signature fine dining venue• Nightly turndown service• Front desk open round-the-clock• Bell staff• Private keyed access to hotel floorRoom Service HoursLunch is available Wednesday through Friday, 11:30 a.m. to 2 p.m.; Saturday, 11:30 a.m. to 2:30 p.m.; Sunday Brunch, 11:00 a.m. to 2:30 p.m.Dinner is available Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday, 5 to 8:30 p.m.Deluxe Meeting SpaceSilverleaf is the perfect option for business events from high-tech corporate functions to more intimate business meetings.• Accommodates up to 100 guests• Variety of room setup options • Built-in LCD projector and screen for presentations• Large windows overlooking lovely landscaped grounds and pond• Menu options provided by Waterleaf, our signature fine dining venue ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Water's Edge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Inn at Water's Edge to your Saves list