We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calling it a [--] would be insult to [--]” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Budgetel Hotel Glen Ellyn

Save Saved
You added Budgetel Hotel Glen Ellyn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Budgetel Hotel Glen Ellyn
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   675 Roosevelt Road, Glen Ellyn, IL 60137   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Glen Ellyn
Lake Zurich
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Calling it a [--] would be insult to [--]”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

If only there were a 'zero' rating here. Hotwire booked this hotel for two nights, only made it ONE.

Garbage on the doorstep, garbage in the urine soaked hallway carpet. Accented by shirtless men with gang tattoos as extended stay residents. In the non smoking room, cigarette burns on virtually every surface.

I booked the stay on hotwire. Shame on them. I am not a picky traveler, pillow, shower and internet is all I need--but this place is still somehow unacceptable. I paid $44 a night--dear god what is their normal rate?? What a scam.

This place is just one fire away from being a nicer hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
budgetelinnge, Manager at Budgetel Hotel Glen Ellyn, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
WE are sorry for all the problems you had at the time of your stay in our hotel. We would like to make sure that what rooms you got we will make sure to take care of the situation for our future guest. We have been in process of removing all the carpets and having tiles in hallways.
We are sorry but we do have some guest that come from outside for some construction work and we cannot stop people with shirtless in the property.

we would like you to come back and give us a second chance and we will make sure to give you a room for 50% discount.
Hope to see you again.

thank you
amer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    1
    3
    29
See reviews for
7
9
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Avoid this place like the plague. It's disgusting and we found bedbugs. The customer service is a joke. They could care less that we found bed bugs. The carpet is disgusting and you can't breath because of the smell of mildew. Avoid this place like the plague.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glen Ellyn hotels

Saint Martin, FWI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Not as bad, but worse! I booked through Hotwire, and I will be hard-pressed to ever forgive them for sending me blindly to a place such as this! They promised a 2 Star, and this was simply not fit for human habitation. Hotwire should be ashamed. How can I evert trust them in the future after THEY put me and my wife in this disaster. We neeed a good wash after leaving, and it will take some doing to get the stink of that awlful night off our bodies and luggage.

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I an not very picky about hotels since I know I will only be using the room to sleep and shower. This one takes the cake! The absolute worst I have seen. The whole hotels stinks and you will notice your shoes sticking to the carpets in the hallway and in the room because they have never been cleaned. The bathroom looked barely cleaned with only one towel and washcloth and the shower curtain was so disgusting, I refused to shower in our room and waited til visiting family to use theirs. The furniture was rotting, the closet was missing a door, the dresser was missing a drawer. It lists itself as having a pool but when we put a hand in the water to check it, the water was very slimy feeling. The continental breakfast consisted of cold coffee, room temp. milk, cornflakes , rotten bananas, and stale bread. We checked in at three o'clock and paid cash, they still charged my credit card and I'm still fighting to have it reversed a week later

Room Tip: Skip this one and get your money's worth somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan Center, Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Now I know the meaning of "Hotel room from H..." & this is it..The "receptionist" is wearing an old sleeveless shirt that looks like she juz got out of bed& went straight to work,LOL..Her tattoos were showing..She's so unproffessional,a big B....& so disgusting..All of the staff there are rude,lazy& so nasty!!!The whole place smells,the room is dirty,the sheets,the comforter&the carpets are so nasty,the bathtub have stains on it,the towels omg!forget about it!!! The pool what a joke! Worst Hotel Ever!!!Talk about false advertising"continental breakfast" are you kidding me, the coffee is so bad,the bread looks stale&the bananas are rotten that's all they offer,there's no HBO it has lesser channels than basic cable,LOL..You cn hear everything that's happening in the hallway..So scary..To sum it all up this is the place where you want to do illegal things or hiding from something& you will never be caught,LOL!!!Seriously don't stay here even if you want to save some money,it's not worth it!!! It will ruin your whole trip to chicago...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

STAY AWAY FROM THIS HORRIBLE PLACE. What a horrible,disgusting, truly terrible place. There were bed bugs and when we complained they accused us of lying and trying to get a free room. They wouldn't apologise or refund us. This place should be shut down. The staff are horrible, the rooms are horrible and management obviously has no standards.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Get the idea when the Guest Service employees and manager says they would "Never stay here!"

We didn't stay even after 2 room changes in an hour. Definitely a "by the hour" place for pros.

Enough said.

Room Tip: stay away!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Budgetel Hotel Glen Ellyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budgetel Hotel Glen Ellyn

Address: 675 Roosevelt Road, Glen Ellyn, IL 60137
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Glen Ellyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Glen Ellyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Budgetel Hotel Glen Ellyn 1.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 Story interior corridor property. I-355, Roosevelt Road exit. Shell Gas and diesel nearby. Restaurants nearby. Metro nearby. FREE parking, HSIA and guest breakfast. Near college of dupage and Wheaton college. Near Odeum Sports and Expo Center, and the National University of Health Science. Indoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Budgetel Hotel Glen Ellyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budgetel Hotel Glen Ellyn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.