We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ok stopover” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Gilman

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Gilman to your Saves list
Motel 6 Gilman
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   834 US Hwy 24 W, Gilman, IL 60938 (Formerly Travel Inn Gilman)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Gilman
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An ok stopover”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

We have not stayed in a budget motel since we were in our twenties and, although that was many years ago, memories of noisy neighbors, marginal beds, and minimal sleep are still fresh in my mind. But those are the only offerings at the I 57 exit at Gilman and we were too tired to move on.

The room was spartan, basically a bed, fridge, microwave, flat screen tv (true HD including HBO) and a linoleum tile floor with a wood grain pattern. We could hear faint murmuring and tv noises from the room next door, but, since this is clearly a stopover for weary travelers, everyone went to bed early and the night was reasonably quiet. The room was immaculate, the bed comfortable, the staff friendly. Early morning coffee is available at the McDonald's across the parking lot.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    4
    4
    5
    4
See reviews for
5
5
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Very nice modern rooms,very clean and affordable! i will definitely be back! Close to McDonalds and dairy queen. The only thing is the pillows are flat. and to all my trucker friends there is truck parking.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chaseburg
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

It smelled clean, looked clean...but found a stain(blood?) on the sheets. That made me nervous to pull the bedspread up to my face. But everything looked clean, no dirt in the corners or along the wall and the bathroom and shower looked good. But the bag in the garbage can was not. I wanted a clean bag and was going to use it, it was a used bag! Cutting corners like that, not good. English is their second language, I had made a comment about the snowblower that was in the lobby could be put away 'cause it was mid June. She responded by talking about the blowing winds of Chicago. Everything gets an average rating cause you get what you pay for. Service gets an excellent "cause she was a very nice lady and in the morning she was still working and still in a great mood.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

Furniture is new, but cracks in walls & surfaces have been painted over but not repaired. Pipes and toilet are old; fan and light controls are old. Bedspreads are stained and have burn holes. A space is cut into the bathroom counter for Kleenex, but there is no holder. The wastebasket contained refuse and an old pair of socks!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

I had a great stay at this location, which for some reason wasn't on my Motel 6 app, but it was there when I needed it as I had to get a few hours of sleep on my way to Memphis. The room is in the new style of Motel 6 renovations, with the faux hardwood floors and different color scheme...but this one went a step further and had a cool booth-type seat where you could watch tv and work on paperwork or your laptop. Very clean & tidy and the night lady was very friendly, putting up with me accidentally getting my 48 foot trailer stuck in the back lot. There is NO truck parking behind the building, by the way...so any truckers reading this should use the Dairy Queen parking lot that I ended up using. The shower was hot and forceful, which is somewhat of a rarity at Motel 6 so I was very pleased. Soft water, so be aware.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, NY
Level Contributor
77 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

The staff is extremely rude. Mattress has plastic underneath and sheets slide around on it when you sleep. The desk clerk threatened to throw me out if I complained. Motel 6 needs to revoke the franchise of this motel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McFarland, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
81 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

This was a tale of two nights. First night gets a 1 star, the second gets a 3 star. First night they were fairly full and even though we reserved this place almost 2 months in advance, we were given one of the last rooms available in the second outlying building.

First thing that stood out was the weird design. Some kind of fake hardwood floors instead of carpet. Don't most every motel now a days have a carpeted room? Then not much for furniture, just a little booth and a few bookshelves. No alarm clock or dresser or anything. Bed was just a mattress, no spring set. No towel rack, just little cubby holes for the towels to be stuffed in. Bathroom was small and shower head was about to fall out of the wall.

Worst of all, blood stains on the shower curtains and spots around the bathroom. Eck. Didn't notice the extent at first until we went to take a shower the next morning. We already had two nights booked and spoke with the apparent owner at the desk. They were very friendly but it seemed odd as they said "I told the staff to clean that room better, I guess I should have inspected it first" So they knew about the blood stains all over the room and still rented it out?

Anyways, the second night they gave us a new room in the main building and it was much better. Still the strange floors and odd design, but a bigger and most importantly cleaner bathroom. Had a desk too. Only problem was I couldn't connect to their supposed wi-fi at all, they gave me a password but no matter what it wouldn't allow me on. Oh well.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gilman
11.9 mi away
Super 8 Watseka
Super 8 Watseka
#1 of 1 in Watseka
4.0 of 5 stars 123 reviews
22.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kankakee
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Gilman, Il
Super 8 Gilman, Il
#1 of 3 in Gilman
4.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Budget Host Inn Gilman
Budget Host Inn Gilman
#3 of 3 in Gilman
3.5 of 5 stars 7 reviews
22.9 mi away
Paxton Inn Motel
Paxton Inn Motel
#1 of 1 in Paxton
3.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Gilman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Gilman

Address: 834 US Hwy 24 W, Gilman, IL 60938 (Formerly Travel Inn Gilman)
Location: United States > Illinois > Gilman
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Gilman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Gilman 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Motel-6, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Motel 6 Gilman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Gilman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.