We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room but double beds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Host Inn Gilman

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Budget Host Inn Gilman to your Saves list
Budget Host Inn Gilman
723 South Crescent Street, Exit 283 on Rts 24 & 45, Gilman, IL 60938   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Gilman
Maricopa, Arizona
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice room but double beds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We got in late to Gilman and like to try Mom and Pop type motels. We were told of this one. We were given a room in the back. The room was big and clean with everything we needed.......except a queen size bed. They didn't tell us it had two double beds. Made for a very cozy night sleep. They had a simple complementary breakfast and it was off the freeway and highway so it was quite. Make sure you know what size bed you are getting. There are two restaurants in Gilman, a Denny's at the Loves station and another restaurant at the truck stop in town. Both were closed. That left McDonalds and Burger King. Neither a good choice at 1030pm.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
2
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MISSOURI
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel to stop and sleep for 1 night. Our room was spacious, but was not very clean. The room had a king-size bed, had the jacuzzi next to the bed, and had a separate bathroom. Bed was bouncy and seemed to have an old mattress. There was dust everywhere and floors seemed they have not been vacuumed in awhile. One good thing about the room was it had a huge jacuzzi tub. We bought bleach from the Dollar Store across the street and drenched that sucker with bleach and hot water before using it. We very much enjoyed it. The owners were very friendly and accomodating. This motel even had free wifi which was a plus for us. Value was great! Overall, the motel served the purpose for a good place to rest for the night before we continued on our journey for a 5-state road trip.

Room Tip: Clean the jacuzzi tub before using it. I suggest buying bleach and clean it as soon as you get ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The location is not so inviting, you would not expect to find a clean room, warm and nice decorated! We had a big surprised having a gas stove in room! Heavenly!!!! I hate AC heat! So, if you are in area, don't avoid this simple motel from outside but so cozy from inside!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

The service experience at this Motel was very good.
The Rooms were neat and clean , " Recently Renew, from carpet to walls paint and new beds"
The Location was perfect for me, a little away from the city noise but a few minutes away for what I need, Other cities or tows.
Internet and Cable included.
And the best was the low price.

Oscar E

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ill
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2008

this hotel seemed ok from the road. Nice older lady at front desk..But there was a odor from the 200 pound dog that was unbearable. The room where so 70's . i felt like Dolemite was filmed there. At 50 dollars a night with no working a/c but a box fan.
i had a lot of guys stay there and after this we will take business to the other motels. WIFI need to be reset and the lady wouldn't even do that so pay a lil extra to get what u need

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gilman hotels

Fort Wayne, Indiana
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2006

I have stayed at the Budget Host many times. The owner is friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and comfortable. "My" room has a refrigerator and microwave. Not all do, so ask.

Both smoking and non-smoking rooms available with a non-smoking building on the premises. You will not find luxury perks here, but you will be comfortable in this older motel with rooms that are larger than newer hotels in the same classificiation. The separate, newer, non-smoking building at the rear has accessibility, but the main building would not accomodate wheelchairs. The owner told me that by July 2006, she hopes to have a wireless network up and running because she must to stay up with the other two motels in town.

Parking is at the door of each room. You are near restaurants and fast food, from two truck stop restaurants to Dairy Queen, Marco's Pizza and others in downtown Gilman which I've not been to.

The only disadvantage is having to use your car to go pretty much anywhere. Highway 24 and 45 run together in front of the motel, so walking can be dangerous. Also, due to its location near a grain elevator (think tall building in terms of the prairie), cell phones do not work well at this location. Bring a phone card.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Budget Host Inn Gilman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Inn Gilman

Address: 723 South Crescent Street, Exit 283 on Rts 24 & 45, Gilman, IL 60938
Location: United States > Illinois > Gilman
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Gilman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Budget Host Inn Gilman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Host Inn Gilman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.