We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and nice craft beers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stockholm's

Stockholm's
306 W State St, Geneva, IL 60134-2103
630-208-7070
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 126 Restaurants in Geneva
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Geneva, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good food and nice craft beers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Good food selection of burgers, salads and entrees. Beers are crafted in house, and can be blended. The suggestions and descriptions of the beers are very helpful. Good staff at tables and behind the bar. A TV, good location and patio area make it a favorite with the locals. Some cool old-time photos of Geneva's past.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    39
    16
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Illinois
Top Contributor
330 reviews 330 reviews
276 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“An old standby that stands the test of time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Stockholms is always very good. The food is very fresh and delicious. They use local vendors/meat market, etc. The service is excellent, friendly and helpful. I had a portabello sandwich and my husband had a bratwurst burger. Both were excellent! Portion size is very good, too. They have a good selection of craft beers, as well. They have a small outdoor area which is fun. But the place needs to be larger. During peak hours, there is an extremely long wait.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Service with a Smile”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I must say the service at Stockholm's was very friendly. The manager came over to check on how things were and that is something I always appreciate. I had the pulled lamb sandwich. The lamb was good but it didn't have as much flavor as I expected and there was not enough meat to justify that large piece of bread so I just took off one side and ate it open faced. The beer was great. In general, I'd say it was an average meal in a place with great beer selections and a fun atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A nice little bar/restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

A cute little bar / restaurant in downtown Geneva Illinois. Service was good, friendly, and the manager even stopped by our table to ask how things were. The atmosphere inside is rustic and dark. They do have a patio in the back and I wish we would have eaten back there instead of inside. I ordered the portabello mushroom sandwich and it was phenomenal. Two others at my table ordered the brat burger and they thought it was just ok. Another at my table ordered a wrap and didn't care for it. They have a small selection of beers that they must make off site because I didn't see anywhere that they would be able to make it there- it's pretty small. Would I go back? Probably not but that portobello sandwich is tempting. It was grilled perfectly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great casual place with amazing food and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We headed out at dark for something to eat while strolling Geneva and came upon Stockholm's. Had a great salad and cold drinks and were treated like locals, which is always fun. Will return next trip.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stockholm's also viewed

 

Been to Stockholm's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stockholm's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.